We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, service, room quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent location, service, room quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I spent 5 nights in this incredible hotel and every night was better than the previous. Great first impression from welcoming staff and fast check-in, super efficient and all smiles. The room was massive and of the best quality and so was the bed. I was served dinner at the room 2 of the nights, food was excellent too.
It was a business trip so location couldn't be better with the T station being 2 meters away (literally).
Definitely top choice for my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear eltrip,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Commonwealth. I am happy that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,437
    454
    86
    39
    14
See reviews for
950
875
149
603
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at Hotel Commonwealth. My son and I went to visit Boston University, which is walking distance form the hotel. Everything was very nice. Very friendly staff. Asked for a mini-fridge and one was brought up immediately. They helped us with reservations for dinner. Subway was right there, which we used to get to the waterfront and visit Quincy Market and the aquarium. Beds were super comfortable and room was quite spacious. We had a Fenway Room which directly overlooked the stadium. I suppose my only negative was the shower. I found it hard to monitor the water temp. I'd get it right where I wanted it, warm, and then it would change to either burning or freezing. With that said, the rates were good (for Boston) and there were restaurants in walking distance, subway right there, made it a great place to stay. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Rona0103,

I hope you and your son enjoyed Boston University. Boston is a great city to go to college. I apologize about the issue with your shower. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so we are able to resolve this issue. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We decided on the Commmonwealth based on the TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. It was our first time in Boston and the location of the Commonwealth is excellent for access for everything you want to do in Boston.
The rooms are large and comfortable, we couldnt hear any traffic noise and they are well appointed. The restaurants downstairs are great, although you need to book as they are very popular.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Andrew M,

I hope you enjoyed your first trip to Boston! Thank you for your review about our location and our rooms. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The room was spacious and beautiful. I appreciated the 2 large easy chairs since most have only one. We only stayed one night but bedside tables and in room coffee would have made it worth the price.
Why do I have to keep writing to reach 200 characters this is a silly requirement. How about an ongoing word count?

Room Tip: Did not use pool or spa. You need an N/A on your rating scale
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Alice G,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do offer complimentary Keurig coffee makers upon request. Please contact me at your earliest convenience and I can add this note to your profile.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Art $350 a night and looking at some photos I really thought the room would be larger. The hotel is in an excellent location, very close to Fenway, restaurants, shopping, etc. The room itself didn't have the greatest amenities either. No bottled water, no in room bar, and unimpressive sheets. I don't plan on staying at again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear knealagent,

I apologize that the size of your guest room did not meet your expectations. We do offer complimentary bottled water at the front desk. Please contact me at your earliest convenience, as I would love to discuss your stay further. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Well located, with subway litterally underneath it, spacious room and friednly service.. Also good internet speed !! also close to Fenway Stadium ! Also the best clam chowder restaurant in the city is in the corner..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear djalmabritto,

Thank you very much for your review and kind words about our staff. I am thrilled you were able to enjoy Island Creek Oyster bar as well. We hope you will stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The folks at the front desk were amazing! Helpful in everyway. Room service was quick and staff very polite. The hotel is in prime location for visiting BU and and shopping on Newbury and Boylston. Easiest place in town to get a taxi, beautiful lobby and great restuarants.

Room Tip: My room was quiet even though it was close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear JoAnne S,

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and our location. We are very proud of the level of service our staff is able to provide to all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.