We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Save Saved
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Stay Longer Promo
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Boston
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth for 5 days in July 2013 and it was incredible. From the staff, to the location, to the food, and hospitality, nothing was overlooked or done sub par. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite upon arrival and our requests for a high floor and early check in were fulfilled. The location right by the T was great and convenient and there were a ton of restaurants to choose from. You must check out The Hawthorne, Eastern Standard, and the Island Creek Oyster Bar which are all attached to the hotel. AMAZING FOOD AND COCKTAILS. We can not wait to visit again and we will definitely be staying here at The Commonwealth.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor facing Commonwealth Ave and we will definitely request this side again. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Justin D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am thrilled that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have three great restaurants attached to the hotel and I am glad you were able to dine in all of them. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,135
    376
    66
    31
    10
See reviews for
826
757
135
524
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This classy hotel has wonderful service and staff. We got a great deal on a gorgeous suite, where we could watch the July 4th fireworks - although we could not open up the windows, it still was very cool after a tiring day of touring to relax in our room.

We arrived in a rental car which we needed to return to a downtown Boston location, and the Valets were very helpful and allowed us to leave the car in place, and get settled in to the hotel so we could take our time returning the car. The staff was always very good, and we really were thankful for Nick the concierge for steering us to some great restaurants each night. It's the small things we notice, and doorman, bellman, front desk staff that greet the guests really go a long way for travelers. I will add this hotel to a short we have kept of "service oriented" hotels in our travels - ones not found often in the US unfortunately.

The suite was exceptional with 14+ ceilings, and large expansive windows, which reminded us of grand hotels of the past. My wife loved the pillows, and bed, as I found the bed a bit soft, but while traveling, a bed is a crap shoot for me. My only "room" complaint with these large suites can be the heating/cooling controls, and again the staff sent someone to reset the control for us after we tried to adjust it! Nice coffee maker in the room, Kuerig style, and mini bar was stocked well, and moreover not insanely priced! We enjoyed a half bottle of champagne while watching the fireworks for the same price one pays for a glass in a bar.

The hotel location is not close to the "historical" central area of Boston, and that is the only issue we had with our choice of locations. We are "walkers", and I like to get my walking miles in as part of the day, but it was sweltering hot the week we were in Boston, and so we would have walked to our destinations more often. The walk in the area was very nice along Commonwealth Blvd and the Back Bay areas, and the bars around Fenway are cool as well. Although there is not a cafe and restaurant that is hotel badged, there are two eating establishments that you can have billed to your room.

Pros:
- STAFF, STAFF, STAFF!
- Impeccably clean.
- Value.
- Historical feel.

Cons:
- Neighborhood becomes very crowded on ball game nights.

We have a short list of hotels that have staff and service at the higher end (Hotel Georgia in Vancouver, most Canada based Fairmont properties, Avia in Napa), and this hotel will be added to that list.

Room Tip: Ask about upgrades to suites, it may work out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear David T,

Thank you for such a detailed review of your stay with us. Guest satisfaction and service is something that we take very seriously and we are thrilled to be on your list of "service oriented" hotels. We truly appreciate your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poconos
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed in what are considered the finest hotels in Boston downtown, Beacon Hill and Back Bay. I've stayed at the Long Wharf Marriott, Back Bay Hilton, The Colonnade, Omni Parker House and more. I am done looking. The Hotel Commonwealth met and exceeded all of my needs. The staff at every stage of our stay was top notch; from reservations to valets. The location is perfect: walking distance to Fenway, T stop at the hotel (underneath but could not hear or feel it) surrounded by BU etc, more restaurants than you can try, Newberry Street shopping a few blocks away, easy on and off route into city....! The room was spacious and comfortable. Great lounging chairs and ottoman, huge desk area, awesome beds, ....! The bathroom was HUGE. My only two complaints are that there was no hook(s) on the bath door and no fan in the bathroom so mirrors were always fogged, etc. Two phenomenal restaurants downstairs, a make your own frozen yogurt bar, Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts...all in same block. Unbelievably fast elevators (4)! Never waited for an elevator once. Pressed button and doors opened...kind of spooky. Valet takes away your car with ease. Brings it back with even greater ease. I wish I could give this hotel six stars.

Room Tip: Stayed in 212 with view of Fenway...very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear jaxma98,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. Kenmore square is a great place to be, especially during the Red Sox season. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Impeccable location and the rooms were stunning. My only complaint was that we requested late checkout and the front desk staff were absolutely rigid and declined (even though we had spent 4 nights and a ton of money there) even though we just wanted an extra hour. My husband had to fight with them and finally a manager agreed. A little ridiculous, especially since they admitted they had nobody booked in the room right after us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear themuffins,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologize that you weren’t granted a late check out right away, but I am glad we were able to accommodate you. We hope to see you again.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The helpful Nick,the knowledgeable and friendly Sam, the room itself, its location, all made Hotel Commonwealth a special treat for us. While we don't often splurge on a hotel of this caliber, we are quite happy we did this time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear bdemmerson,

We are very fortunate to have Nick and Sam as part of our team. They do an excellent job. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivoryton, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The staff are first rate and anticipate your every need. Location is very convenient for access to transportation and walking distance from many points of interest. Fenway is just around the corner. Both restaurants on site were excellent - Eastern Standard dinners were perfectly plated and the waitstaff impeccable. Dog friendly. We have made Hotel Commonwealth our "GoTo" stop ion Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for the Fenway view rooms - outstanding view of the Classic Ballpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Keith P,

We are honored to be your “GoTo” hotel when coming to Boston. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth on July 4th..We arrived around 12 noon..Having tickets to the Red Sox at 1:30PM, we were pleased to find that we were allowed to checkin early..We were greeted by the most personable valet that I have ever encountered..He had our car taken.. and we checked in with the friendliest front desk staff. They were so kind to offer us bottled water (it was so hot that day). We were given an upgrade to a suite (trip advisor coupon)..What a room!! It was beautiful..We were facing Commenwealth Ave..Never heard a peep from the crowd or the traffic..The bed and the ac were so comfortable. Towels and linens were so great. After the game..we came back to the hotel and while passing the valet and the front desk, we were always treated with a warm welcome back..I wish we could have stayed longer..Congrats to the hotel staff and management for this outstanding service..This is our second stay here and we will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Mowalls,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your 4th of July stay. I am thrilled you enjoyed the upgrade into our Commonwealth Junior Suite. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#2 Family Hotel in Boston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.