We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Save Saved
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Stay Longer Promo
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great location right around the corner from Fenway and just a few steps from the T. The staff is very helpful and goes above and beyond even before you arrive. They had strawberries and champagne waiting on us upon arrival for our anniversary. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Bill G,

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we were able to make your anniversary unique and memorable. We hope to see you again next year.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,136
    378
    66
    32
    10
See reviews for
828
758
135
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

From the moment of arrival the Commonwealth is a spectacular experience! Our second stay here and we will be back again next week. My wife won't stay anywhere else. I was in hotel management for 15 years and consider it a privilege to enjoy the warm staff with beautiful rooms in a great location. Thanks again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear DMJftlaud,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay and your kind words about our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Close to Fenway and the T which is very convenient. The two restaurants on site are both excellent. The rooms are clean and very quiet with well-appointed bathrooms. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Suites with a curtain for a "divider" are ideal if you want to separate the sleeping area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear springer01,

Thank you very much for providing us with feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very fortunate to have two great restaurants attached to the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

While looking for somewhere to stay in Boston, this hotel caught my eye as the number one hotel in Boston, then when I saw it's proximity to Fenway I thought "Sold"! As we had tickets to a couple of Sox games and it was something we were really looking forward to, I thought the very expensive rates would be worth it. Yes, location to Fenway is superb and the view overlooking the ballpark are unbeatable. Other than that it is a nice hotel with a couple of great restaurants underneath, but Number One? The standard of our Fenway Room overlooking the stadium was pretty ordinary, but the real problem was the very loud noise coming from the vent. We thought it was the air conditioning and turned it off, but no. It was so loud I had to use earplugs and the bed was vibrating. At 12:30am I called the front desk who very kindly relocated us to another room facing the Square. Thank goodness it was much quieter and we stayed there for the remainder of our 4 day stay. Unfortunately we also had housekeeping knock on our door at 8:30am the next morning waking us up after our disturbed night, then the following night another knock on the door at 10:30pm waking us up again for a sofa bed turndown that we had not requested, wrong room apparently?

The staff from the Concierge to the front desk to room service are fantastic, 5 stars for sure! In my opinion though, the hotel itself is OK but certainly not worth $450 a night which is what we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear jc2626,

Thank you very much for your feedback and positive remarks about our service. I hope you had a great time at the Red Sox game. I do however apologize about the opportunities you experienced while you were here. I can assure you that the issues have been addressed. I would love to discuss your stay further. Please contact me at your earliest convenience. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Hotel Commonwealth is first class - and a gorgeous setting for wedding photos. The staff is wonderful, we have been staying here for 10 years, and they have never disappointed us!
The rooms are beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear MagNoodles,

Thank you very much for your continued loyalty. I am thrilled you enjoyed the wedding. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our first time traveling to Boston and we were very happy with our choice of hotels. My husband was working and I tagged along to check out Boston. This hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The bed was comfy and we slept very well. I only made it to the gym once during this 5 day trip but it was nice and clean with plenty of equipment to get your sweat on. The T was right next to the hotel which made getting around and sightseeing easy and enjoyable. We ate at the restaurant on site and the food was good but our favorite food in Boston was in the North Side at an Italian restaurant with dessert at Mikes Pastry. We had drinks at the hotel bar one evening and they were very good. The staff in the bar were very attentive and the drinks were yummy. (Try the Wild Redhead - It had clove in it and was different and tasty) We will definitely stay here again, and next time I want to tour Fenway which is just a quick walk from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Shellie7713,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to Boston. We hope it will not be your last. The North End is certainly a must when you visit Boston. I’m thrilled you were able to enjoy Hawthorne as well. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights last month and were really impressed. Our room was well appointed with lots of space, comfortable beds and a roomy bathroom. The whole hotel is well maintained.There is a good restaurant attached which served a cooked to order breakfast. We had dinner here one night and that was good too.
All the staff were friendly and professional.
If we were in Boston again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear HamishLondon,

Thank you for your review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and our accompanying restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#2 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.