We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've ever stayed in at this price point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best hotel I've ever stayed in at this price point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel deserves its #1 rating on TripAdvisor. It feels sort of like a Four Seasons but without the price. The rooms are big and bright and well-appointed. The whole place has a comfortable vibe--smells good, sounds good, feels good. The staff could not be more friendly, knowledgable, and helpful. The location and views of Fenway are fun. My only complaint would be that breakfast in the restaurant downstairs was slow, not great, and overpriced. But there are plenty of places in the near area where you could go to remedy that (in fact the doorman cheerfully pointed me and my son to the nearest Dunkin Donuts).

Room Tip: Go for the Fenway view, totally cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear DCBiztraveler,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your breakfast in Eastern Standard. We hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,408
    448
    86
    40
    14
See reviews for
936
865
148
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I recently stayed there for a night, and we really enjoyed it. We stayed over only quickly as we were transiting from Boston to another destination so I don't have a long stay experience but it was faultless. Room was really massive, very clean with all needed amenities, ipod dock, fridge etc. Bathroom was huge too - with a bath. I don't know Boston very well but it seems pretty central and a good base for visits. Staff was perfect, very helpful.
I also highly recommend the Oyster restaurant downstairs which was absolutely delicious!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear ZoeGi,

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your short stay with us and had a chance to dine at Island Creek Oyster Bar. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is our second visit to Hotel Commonwealth and will definitely not be the last. We have stayed both times to see our son play in the MIT Volleyball tournament, an easy walk across the river. Our 3 night trip was once again made especially terrific by the Hotel Commonwealth and its fantastic staff. Perfectly located, we can catch the T anywhere we need to go or walk to many bars, restaurants, shops, and even the symphony hall close by. Staff is so very helpful and friendly at every level and we really feel welcomed. We ended up in a Junior Suite which was perfect for our stay. The only disappointment was we couldn't stay long enough to see the Red Sox opener! Next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear 682ChrisA682,

Thank you for posting a review, I hope the volleyball tournament went well. I am happy that you enjoyed our staff and location. We are very fortunate to be located in Kenmore square and have such easy access to the rest of the city. We hope to see you this summer when the Red Sox are back in town!

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been staying at the Hotel Commonwealth for years. I attend every Opening Day at nearby Fenway Park and usually come to Boston for one of the subsequent series against the Yankees. I'm flying home from today's Red Sox win versus the Orioles and checked-out the hotel's Trip Advisor write-up and am delighted to see its stellar rating. I wholeheartedly agree. As I said last night walking up to the check-in desk: "I'm back in the happiest place on Earth." This is among the country's best-run hotels. Everything is crisp, professional, perfect. Little details: abundant AC outlets, ice already in the room, well-appointed bathrooms, and, of course, a great location on Commonwealth Avenue.

Room Tip: Whatever you need is nearby - Starbucks, frozen yogurt, pub, restaurant, T stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear California_Linzo,

We are thrilled to be a part of your opening day tradition! Thank you for your kind review about our rooms. We look forward to seeing you when the Yankees come to town! We will do our best to arrange for a Red Sox victory.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just spent the weekend with my wife and two sons at the Hotel Commonwealth. Wound up getting a junior suite where my older son slept on a pull out couch and younger one on a roll away bed. Still left plenty of room for my wife and I. Staff was super courteous and genuine in their desire to have us enjoy our stay. Every bit the equal of the Mandarin and the Four Seasons, our prior hotels in Boston. Eastern Standard restaurant attached to the hotel was a great choice for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Valet parking was a breeze even though we came and went several times a day in our car. Large bathrooms, nice fitness center...what can I say ? We'll be back !

Room Tip: Jr. suites facing Comm Ave are really big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear dtj740,

I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed our Commonwealth Junior Suite. They are great rooms and allow plenty of room to relax. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We pride ourselves on the level of service we are able to provide. We look forward to seeing your family again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we stayed at the hotel commonwealth for 3 nights last week (used a jetsetter deal). the location of the hotel is great, right next to the kenmore green line stop and near a bus stop. the 2 restaurants in the hotel are top rated (island oyster house and eastern standard), and there are many places to eat across the street and down the street from the hotel as it's on the edge of the boston university campus. the area felt safe to walk around at night. my only issues were that there is no coffee maker in the room and that our neighbors were extremely loud (i know not the hotels fault). but be advised that the walls are thin and you will hear a lot from your neighbors, especially if there is a defiant teenager in there who feels like yelling f-bombs is her only way to communicate...the loudness might be because the rooms were technically adjoining and so there was a door in between, so maybe sounds came through the doors and not just the wall. dont worry the door locks securely from each side so its not an issue for safety or anything. we ate at both restaurants (which i will review separately) and had a good experience at both. the staff was always very friendly and helpful, and the room was huge! we had a fenway room so we saw the back of fenway park out of our window. we had a comfy king bed with a couch, armchair, and desk with 2 chairs, so plenty of room to spread out and relax while we were in the room. i would recommend this hotel for its location and our overall experience was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Jamoroco,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location! Kenmore square is perfect for exploring the city. We do offer complimentary Keurig coffee makers upon request. Please contact me at your convenience and I can add this note to your profile. I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I always enjoy staying at the Hotel Commonwealth. Great location, excellent staff, and Eastern Standard is never a disappointing. The hotel is clean and the rooms are well appointed. My first choice when visiting Boston!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Andrew C,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Hotel Commonwealth. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.