We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a great hotel in Kenmore Square. Two excellent restaurants and just feet from the Boston transit system. A short walk to Fenway Park. The service at the hotel, as well as the quality of the rooms is among the best in Boston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear GREG4723,

I am happy that you enjoyed the service here at the Hotel Commonwealth. We believe friendly and personalized service is what sets us apart. We hope you will stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,175
    389
    70
    35
    10
See reviews for
839
781
137
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at Hotel Commonwealth and we will definitely visit again. The people were so helpful and nice, the hotel was clean, and the beds were comfortable. Everything about our stay was fun and easy (and we were travelling with kids). Totally recommend it!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear VtSmiths,

Thank you for providing us with feedback, we appreciate your kind review. We look forward to serving you again.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

All the rave reviews are true!! I picked Hotel Commonwealth because of the glowing Tripadvisor reviews. My expectations were pretty high and I have to say I was still impressed. The doorman was so incredibly friendly he felt like an old friend. Front desk staff were super friendly as well. And I got personal emails both before arriving and after departing from the hotel staff. Service is just simply excellent. The rooms were large and very comfortable with every amenity expected from a 5 star hotel. Room had view of Fenway Park. I love the location of the hotel because it is very central to all parts of the city. Attention to detail is phenomenal and nothing is overlooked at this hotel. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Dan S,

I am happy to hear that your stay lived up to your expectations! We are fortunate to have a great front office team that allows us to provide exceptional service to each and everyone of our guests. We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a wonderful experience. Relaxing and luxurious, it was just what we needed after a busy 5 days sightseeing in New York. The rooms have everything you can possible imagine needing. The staff were exceptional, our room was amazing and the in Hotel restaurants are excellent too. It was convenient for Kenmore and made it so easy to travel into the City, so don't worry about it being out of the City Centre. So all in all highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear PJKent,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am glad that you were able to relax after a trip in New York City. That can definitely be hectic! We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Commonwealth. The staff was attentive, and gracious. Our room was immaculate, and it was clear the staff cared about the details. The location is wonderful, right in the vicinity of some great restaurants, and also close to the T for travel around the city. I would recommend this location highly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear JRL224,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Attention to detail is very important to us and allows us to provide a personalized experience for every guest. We hope you will return again soon.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to the Bedtime Stories Event at the Hotel Commonwealth with our young children. My husband and I were greeted with glasses of champagne and our kids were given backpacks of goodies which they continue to play with. The room was beautiful and the staff was very kind. We had room service for dinner and the food was delicious. The evening events and pancake breakfast the next morning for the whole family were fun and memorable. We look forward to going again next year!

Room Tip: My kids loved looking down on Kenmore Square. The room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear k s,

Thank you for your review about our Bedtime Stories event. It is a wonderful event that we are able to have every year. I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed it and plan on returning next year. We look forward to seeing you.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed for two nights here recently and from the moment I pulled up to the hotel it was a wonderful experience. The staff were kind and prompt and very helpful.

Stayed in a Fenway room with a king sized bed. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was a great size. It was very clean save for a few stains on the couch but that wasn't unexpected.

The bathroom was a very good size with plenty of counter space and shelving for my belongings. The bathroom products provided were very nice as well.

Ordered room service twice and both times they were prompt and the food from Eastern Standard was delicious. Very helpful that the room service is 24 hours.

I plan on making this my go to hotel whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear K G,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our Fenway room and everything it had to offer. We are very fortunate to have our room service provided by Eastern Standard, it is a great restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Venere, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.