We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Tilton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Commonwealth. The staff was attentive, and gracious. Our room was immaculate, and it was clear the staff cared about the details. The location is wonderful, right in the vicinity of some great restaurants, and also close to the T for travel around the city. I would recommend this location highly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear JRL224,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Attention to detail is very important to us and allows us to provide a personalized experience for every guest. We hope you will return again soon.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,273
    407
    72
    37
    13
See reviews for
867
808
138
574
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to the Bedtime Stories Event at the Hotel Commonwealth with our young children. My husband and I were greeted with glasses of champagne and our kids were given backpacks of goodies which they continue to play with. The room was beautiful and the staff was very kind. We had room service for dinner and the food was delicious. The evening events and pancake breakfast the next morning for the whole family were fun and memorable. We look forward to going again next year!

Room Tip: My kids loved looking down on Kenmore Square. The room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear k s,

Thank you for your review about our Bedtime Stories event. It is a wonderful event that we are able to have every year. I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed it and plan on returning next year. We look forward to seeing you.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed for two nights here recently and from the moment I pulled up to the hotel it was a wonderful experience. The staff were kind and prompt and very helpful.

Stayed in a Fenway room with a king sized bed. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was a great size. It was very clean save for a few stains on the couch but that wasn't unexpected.

The bathroom was a very good size with plenty of counter space and shelving for my belongings. The bathroom products provided were very nice as well.

Ordered room service twice and both times they were prompt and the food from Eastern Standard was delicious. Very helpful that the room service is 24 hours.

I plan on making this my go to hotel whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear K G,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our Fenway room and everything it had to offer. We are very fortunate to have our room service provided by Eastern Standard, it is a great restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I visited Hotel Commonwealth in Boston last October. Our stay there, enhanced our trip in so many ways. The staff always so helpful and cheery enabled us to feel really cared for while staying here. The room was just lovely. Exceptionally clean every day (we stayed a week). After a busy day in the city, returning to The Hotel Commonwealth felt like a relief, a coming home feeling. The room was exceptionally large, with a large bath room as well. Everything one would need, hair dryer, ironing board/iron, plush bath robes. Even a beautiful wooden handled umbrella a thoughtful touch. Koreig coffee maker in room also nice touch, which was restocked every day. The bed and pillows very comfortable and nice linens gave us a needed rest every night. Chocolate on pillows and linen turn down every night was lovely. I was most impressed with the General Manager, who took a personal interest in his guests. We ran into him one day as we were exciting the hotel. He inquired about our stay. We told him we were on the way to Cape Cod for a couple of days and would return to the hotel to finish our stay in Boston. He took the time to stop and make sure we had the name of a wonderful hotel on the cape, gave us his business card with that general managers name and called ahead for us to tell them he personally referred us. Now that is service! And by the way, his referral was just perfect and due to his help, we had another great stay on the cape. The Hotel Commonwealth stored our extra luggage while we were gone and when we returned to finish our stay they had our new room all ready, stocked with the things we liked. It was wonderful. A mention about the location. Our room literally over looked Fenway Park. What fun! The rooms are quiet. Right next door just feet away is the subway entrance which helped us to safely and quickly get in and out of the city. The neighborhood is lovely for walking as well. If you don't want to dine or take the time for breakfast at the hotel, McD's is literally 3 doors down. I have tried to detail as much as I can so the next time in Boston you will choose this wonderful hotel, as I will as well! Thank you trip advisor for leading me to this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Marilyn M,

Thank you for all of your kind words about your experience at Hotel Commonwealth. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the service and overall comfort of our hotel. It is great to hear that our General Manager was able to enhance your stay on Cape Cod as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Every single employee we encountered was both professional and genuinely nice. The rooms are large and comfortable, and the free wifi is the sort of amenity that really matters. The location (two steps from the Kenmore stop on the green line) is convenient and the restaurant (Eastern Standard) is reasonable and good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear abcpoet,

Thank you very much for your feedback. At the Hotel Commonwealth, we pride ourselves on the personalized service we are able to provide. I am glad that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms and amenities. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a Fenway room for 2 nights with a rollaway bed for one of our children. The room was spacious even for 4 of us. It was a beautiful hotel and the bed and breakfast package allowed us $50 a day for breakfast in the restaurant downstairs, which was delicious and very filling.

Room Tip: If you have children and don't mind sharing a room with them, this hotel has large rooms and wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Kerry M,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am thrilled you enjoyed the Bed and Breakfast package and the food at Eastern Standard. We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The staff was incredibly helpful and my room was in terrific condition. The bar in the hotel, The Hawthorne, is also excellent. I also like the free Wi-fi, and the location in the heart of Kenmore Square is convenient for getting around Boston.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear jongarsh,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff and your room; two necessities when visiting a hotel. I hope you enjoyed the rest that Boston has to offer and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Shane Mcweeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.