We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Picked this hotel because we were going to a concert at the House of Blues. Stayed in a room that had two queen beds. Room and bathroom was larger then expected. They also had items in the room that was totally unexpected but welcomed. They had an iPod/iPhone player with a control unit that was a clock/alarm. They also had a charging pad for your iPhone and and other connections. I was able to charge my iPod, phone and video camera. Bathroom was a good size and had a nice flat screen TV. Beds were very comfortable and plenty of pillows.

Hotel also had two restaurants attached to property along with some shops and gallery on bottom floor. Front desk offered us a mini-fridge as we brought a cooler.

Check out was at 12. I can't remember the last hotel that had a check-out as late as 12PM. Hotel had a lot of little things that you wouldn't expect but would want. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Mike W,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed all of the amenities present in our rooms. I hope you had a great time at the House of Blues and we hope to welcome you back for another concert in the future.

Best regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,341
    428
    81
    39
    12
See reviews for
896
844
145
580
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a boutique style hotel and I think housekeeping needs some work. on my first night, I thought I saw a huge bug in my washroom which turned out to be a big clump of hair (that wasn't mine). when I stepped out of the shower the next morning, I saw there was no body lotion. when I asked for some at the front desk on my way out, the clerk asked me whether there was any left in the room to which I replied, no. she said she will send some. that night, I wanted to take a quick shower and noticed I didn't have any shower caps. again, I called and they said they will send some up. whenever I asked for something, they were polite but they never apologized for screwing up in the first place. I don't like to waste my time this way. and I ended up having to thank them each time for something they should have given me in the first instance. my conclusion was that housekeeping needs some work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Crtistal L,

I want to apologize about the opportunities you encountered with our housekeeping service. I can assure you that this is well below our standards. Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience and we can discuss this matter further. I look forward to speaking with you.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My Wife and I have been staying at the Hotel Commonwealth for the last several years. Starting when my daughter moved to Boston to attend Emmanuel College. After graduating in 2010, my daughter stayed in Boston to work and even now when visiting her our preferred hotel is the Hotel Commonwealth. It is an excellent choice because of it's location, cleanliness, amenities and very friendly & helpful staff. We very highly recommend this first class hotel. So much to do in the immediate area - from shopping to excellent resturants. And Best of all, that great American icon, Fenway Park, is an easy 5 minute walk away.

Joe & Janie Dias
Barrington, RI

Room Tip: Pick a Commonwealth Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Joe & Janie Dias,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to Hotel Commonwealth, it is truly appreciated. It is very exciting that your daughter has chosen to stay in Boston and we look forward to having you and your wife stay with us for years to come. Thanks again!

All the best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our 12th trip to the Hotel Commonwealth. From the very personable doorman Nick who took care of our car to Katy who upgraded our room, we had a wonderful restful afternoon followed by dinner at the marvelous Oyster Bar. When we returned after a great hockey game at TD Bank North, our room had been prepared by a lovely turn down. Breakfast by the superb staff topped off our visit. Between Bruins, Red Sox games and cultural events, this has truly become our "home away from home."

Room Tip: Top Floor gives you peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear tedhistroy,

Thank you for sharing yet another wonderful review of your experience at The Hotel Commonwealth. We are honored that you have chosen to stay with us on so many occasions and are thankful for your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights over new year and what a place

From the moment we arrived until we left the service was exceptional.

We had a very large room facing the street but there was no traffic noise.
Bathroom was very roomy and plenty of wardrobe space
We also had a sitting area with two easy chairs and desk with chair

The reception staff are so friendly and helpful - their job appears to be a joy to them

My husband had a special birthday around the time we were there and they certainly made his time very special.

There is a subway station right next door which is very convenient and hotel located in a lovely area - away from city centre but still so so convenient to everything.

An excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear rivercross,

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a kind review. I am thrilled we were able to make your husband’s birthday a memorable one. We love being able to provide the few extra touches during special occasions. Please come stay with us again when you come back to Boston.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Look no further. This group has the hotel business figured out! From the moment we arrived, the bellmen were delightfull, check-in was too easy thanks to friendly, knowledgable greeters and clerks. Hotel is spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. Rooms are very nicely adorned, beds are superb! we love the location. The two restaurants are delicious. Top to bottom, the pinnacle of hotel experiences. Enjoy!
BC

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear kuntryman,

We are honored to be your new “home away from home”. I am thrilled you enjoyed all aspects of your stay while you were here with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you are back in Boston.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I found the hotel's handling of my late check out request very upsetting. I was attending a course at Boston University. I am from Canada and had arranged for my partner to join me on my last night. I had asked as soon as I checked in if I can get a late checkout on my last day and was told I had to call back on the last day but based on my other travels, I assumed this wouldn't be a problem. we ended up having a late night and I called front desk at 7:40 am asking for a late check out. the front desk clerk flat out said no based on their expected occupancy. when I pressed her to give me even a slightly later check out, she passed me over to her manager whose manner I found atrocious. he didn't even acknowledge my request and simply said he could not accomodate me. my course ended at 12:30 pm so at the end, I asked if I could get a 45 minute delay in my check out and he simply said no and that the hotel was full. there was no empathy or concern or even feigned care in his voice. he then asked me what time I was hoping to check out and when I said 3 pm, he said he could do it and charge me a 1/2 day rate. I was flabbergasted by what I found to be dishonesty on his part. he first said he couldn't accomodate me because the hotel was full and then he said he could if I paid for 1/2 the night's rate. I was on business and could have paid for the additional time but by that point, I was left with such a bad feeling that I just wanted to leave. the next day, I thought I lost my passport. I called the hotel and asked them to check the room I was in and guess what I was told? I was told that my room was empty. so, it confirmed all my negative feelings about the hotel's handling of my late check out request. they simply did not care about my request or the impact it would have on my experience the last day. I was attending a course with 48 other lawyers and I found out that a few others had requested a late checkout. they only allowed it for one person and it was only for 45 minutes. I am just shocked at how poorly they treated me. I am a fairly experienced traveler and I have read many reviews on tripadvisor but this is the very first one I have posted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Ellie114,

I am deeply sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we were unable to honor your late checkout request. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.