We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off Sunday night
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

A great location coupled with four star rooms and award winning restaurants in the building itself make this the place to stay in this area if Boston. I was treated professionally and generously by the staff, and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,578
    480
    95
    41
    17
See reviews for
1,023
924
157
633
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were just in town for one night and had not stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth before, yet the welcome and treatment we received was as if we were long time guests back for our 20th visit. We upgraded (at minimal cost) to a suite that had a curtain divider between the two areas. The room was spacious with beautiful and homey decor. It felt solid (for lack of a better term) - luxurious and lush.
The service was exceptional; Lucas and Nick at the front desk met us with smiles and efficiency. We were even surprised later on with a bottle of wine and chocolates! Nice touch and much appreciated!
We would definitely stay here again - and are looking for reasons to return! We were there for a concert at House of Blues around the corner. Maybe we'll check to see who else is coming to town so we can come back!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and heard absolutely no noise from the street or elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our company hosted the holiday Christmas party here and we all had rooms afterwards. The bed was super comfy. The towels & amenities were high quality and the shower had water pressure that could knock you off your feet(just like I like it). The restaurants attached to the hotel are to favorites and you don't have to leave the comfort of the warm hotel to search out food. The only thing I wish they did was provide complementary water bottles in your room. It's a small thing but is so helpful if you have medicine to take before or after sleeping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel was exactly as described by other reviewers. Very nice room, with extremely comfortable beds. The view out the window was great!! Very quiet hotel, as well. The bath products provided were excellent, and left me smelling great! Courteous staff. Excellent location to Fenway, T-stop right outside the door, and nightlife.

Room Tip: If you love Baseball, a Fenway room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hotel Commonwealth set a new standard in hotel excellence! Room was spacious and nicely appointed. Staff was second to none. Room was impeccable. Hotel is centrally located; we ventured out on the subway which is next door to the hotel. A great overall experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I don't know if Hotel Commonwealth is considered the best in Boston. But I really don't care since it is perfection in every way. The front desk staff are peerless in their willingness to help. When I needed to find a particular gift for a relative, I asked for some suggestions as to where to purchase it. Not only did they find nearby stores, but they called each one to make sure it was in stock! At almost any other hotel, the most one could hope for would be, “Well, you could try around the corner if they’re open.” Don't think twice. Book a reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel is in an OK location. The worst service, and too small bathrooms. For such a charming city this is a disgrace.

The bathroom is terrible. There is no counter space. And the tub is so shallow, nothing fun you can do in there.

The room phone did not work and after I tell the front desk, they say oh well the other phone works, just use that phone by the desk. That is terrible service.

Then I am visiting from out of town so I expect to get some help/information as to what tours are good. Nope, nothing of the sort. I ask Corey at the front desk if she has ever heard of any ghost tours or other good tours in Boston, she just looks at me as if I had asked her to explain the theory of relativity to me. Then even worse, she shows no incentive or motivation to look anything up or try and find any suggestions. She is LAZY. So sad as the hotel is by Boston University my alma mater. I have never had such poor and rude service in my life. The next day the manager was around and whoever was at the front desk that day actually gave a little effort.

The doormen very extremely helpful with T or metro information.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
South Boston
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,991 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,717 reviews
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard by Marriott Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#13 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.