We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, convenient stay in Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent, convenient stay in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you are looking for a smaller, boutique hotel with classic charm in Boston, this is the hotel for you. I found the rate to be reasonable and the quality to be superb. The staff was very friendly. The turndown service was a nice touch, the product in the bathroom was excellent and so are the room's appointments.

I really have no complaints at all. It's within walking distance to many sights and the Kenmore stop on the green line is right under the building so you are a hop skip and jump from anything. I was only here for one night, but if I go back to Boston I would look to make this my home base for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,162
    385
    68
    32
    10
See reviews for
834
774
135
529
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We just traveled with our 3 month old baby on our first holiday as a family and stopped for a few days at Hotel Commonwealth on the trip.

The fairly small but attractively designed lobby is warm & inviting and belies what is a relatively large hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and professional, so immediate impressions were very good.

We stayed in a Commonwealth room, it's not quite a suite but does have a distinct living area you can separate with a curtain, which with a baby was handy for us. More expensive than a standard room, but cheaper than a full on suite.

The room was a good size, nicely fitted and the tv's & ipod dock etc were all decent up to date kit. It was a nice room.

Location was a good shout for us too. Around 20/30 mins walk from downtown through a nice pretty neighborhood, but also the Back Bay area immediately around the hotel is nice with no shortage of bars & restaurants etc. The Island Creek Oyster Bar beneath the hotel is pricey but worth it, we had a fantastic meal there.

We did have a few issues though. Our room seemed to be a bit of a wireless blackspot & didn't work reliably throughout the stay. The sheet for the crib was removed twice, but not replaced so we had to call down & ask for it. The coffee machine was provided with paper cups for some reason, odd in itself for a nice hotel. Then maid service never replaced the cups nor the sachets that go in the machine and still failed to do so even when we asked reception. So after the first day we had no way to use the machine.

Also, each night we stayed there was the sound of music just audible in our room. I never quite worked out if it was from one of the bar restaurants beneath the hotel or the conference/wedding facilities located on the floor we stayed. It wasn't loud enough to keep us awake, but not ideal.

It's a decent hotel and I'm going to go with "very good". But compared to other hotels we've stayed in that stand at #1 on Tripadvisor, the attention to detail left it falling just short of "excellent" for me. None the less, I think we'd probably stay at Hotel Commonwealth again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was at the hotel for 6 nights. The rooms were much larger than I would expect for a down town hotel. The staff was very friendly. No issues. No hesitation on recommending it or going back for a second visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were in Boston for 2 nights for a family wedding, and many of us stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth. Now no one will claim this is a 'cheap' hotel; it's not, but what you get for the money is excellent. It starts with the greeting at the front entrance - the valet's and bus-men warmly welcome you and quickly get your luggage out of your car and on their way to your room and aim you to the equally friendly front desk.

Our room (meant for 2 adults, 2 'kids' (only one ended up coming) was very, very comfortable. A 'junior' suite, with 2 TV's, and a comfortable sofa bed (that can seem an oxymoron). Our king bed was also very comfortable. Big, soft pillows (if I want to quibble, I wanted something a bit more firm - but never asked). Very nice, usable bathroom with lots of space and a shower with no worry of scalding or low pressure.

Down stairs there is a long set of hallways with a great photo exhibit. Also, the front desk will give anyone who asks for it coffee or hot chocolate (please be careful if you take them upstairs).

I had a minor bathroom 'emergency' in the wee hours - repaired within a few minutes of my call to the front desk. Quick response on getting our car when we needed it. Wifi AND wired internet access are included at no extra cost - rare in a major hotel like this, and very, very fast. A phone on the nice computer desk, with a hidden power strip and ethernet connection easy to reach, and a cordless phone on one side of the king bed. 2 lines as I recall. We found an umbrella in the closet; I assume that's normal.

Overall, we were very comfortable and well taken care of!

Room Tip: If you have children a junior suite may be a very good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Really? I had a complaint and they apologized and that was it. No offer to resolve the problem or anything. The next guest was very happy as they had no issues and I heard the fd agent ask them to give the hotel a positive review on this site. It's easy to be #1 with minimal problem resolution if you only ask guests with a complete positive experience to review you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was my first time at the hotel. The facility is very nice and every member of the staff that I encountered was friendly and professional. Every need was certainly met and the staff cheerfully and quickly met every request I made. If I have the opportunity to return to Boston, I certainly will try to stay at the Hotel Commonwealth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronx
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The extraordinary hospitality that my husband and I enjoyed on last month's visit to the Hotel Commonwealth-Boston was made possible by the wonderful staffers as well as Management.

During the weekend of Oct. 13, all the acts of
kindness made our return to Boston so
wonderfully memorable -- our first visit "solo", catching up on
old friends after visiting our son at B.U. for 5 years. It's easy to tell how
great a hotel is by the looks on the faces of departing guests -- a mixture of happiness
from the great Customer Care they've received, and sadness of having to hit the
road; which is how we looked that Sunday morning when we headed for the Mass Pike.

Corinne who first booked our stay, made
sure that the Junior Suite was Allergen-free
as requested—she was gracious each time I called. She even came
out from the back-office to personally greet us at check-in, and left a lovely note in our room that first
night, along with much-appreciated snacks.

The cordial staff at the door and the Front Desk,
all of whom greeted us like old friends -- every time we walked back into
the Commonwealth, even from a walk down the block to Dunkin Donuts, it was
"Welcome Back."

At the door Jeff who always had a friendly greeting, Johaney who helped us with our luggage; Frank who brought our car around; In Housekeeping Maria, Jalal and Anna who brought us all the supplies we needed; Futura who took such great care of our room; at the Front Desk Carly, Samuel, Erika, Christopher, Alec, Luke and numerous others who always had a reassuring smile and the answer to any question we had.

We loved everything about our large, comfortable, elegant and inviting suite. The linens and comfortable mattress
practically insured a good night's sleep, and we certainly felt pampered
by the upscale toiletries and the great turn-down service—the chocolates were a
nice way to unwind after a day exploring Boston, which was the story of those four wonderful days, all without having to deal with Boston traffic, because the "T" is just outside the door. We met friends for a great Italian dinner in the North End, took a long-awaited tour of the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, and returned to one of our favorite sports venues -- the lovely customer-friendly Agganis Arena -- for B.U. hockey.

The staff at the door, in housekeeping, valet
parking, and the Front Desk always
had a reassuring smile and the answer to any question we had. And we could always check the weather
which was posted at the front desk.

We're looking forward to returning as soon as
possible, and now consider Hotel Commonwealth-Boston our home-base in a
city we've come to love and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.