We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel for business travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“Amazing hotel for business travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I'm a SPG starlet, so I wasn't excited about staying here despite our president's reassurance of how it's one of his favorite places to stay. The service, products, in-room dining and fitness center was amazing. I was very pleased in how helpful the staff was in ensuring I had what I needed on my trip - whether it was fitting in a healthy breakfast before a busy day or getting copies of talking points to my room late at night or making sure my shoes were shined and in top form for my meetings (complimentary). The little things helped to make a hectic business trip that much better. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,259
    405
    71
    37
    13
See reviews for
862
803
138
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Excelsior, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I've been in Boston on business and have stayed at the Commonwealth multiple times. I also had an opportunity to stay at the Ritz, and I can say that the Commonwealth beats the Ritz hands down. The rooms are larger and more comfortable, the service is just as incredible, and the location of the Commonwealth is more desirable. Situated between two delicious restaurants and across the street from Fenway, this hotel is in a prime spot. My stays there have been memorable and on any future trips to Boston, it will be the place I choose first. Also you can't beat the room service since the menu is from Eastern Standard, the restaurant next door.

Room Tip: The south side of the hotel faces Fenway Park if you're a baseball fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I did not choose the hotel but am glad it was recommended by my brother with whom we were traveling. In decades of traveling I have rarely stayed at a property where the service was so thoroughly professional in a friendly manner. I did not have the opportunity to try the two restaurants but understand their reputation is excellent. The location is unbeatable for Fenway Park or Boston University. The Kenmore Square T Station is literally next to the front door.

Room Tip: Although the "Fenway Rooms" afford you a great view of the outside of the stadium, this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Arrived hear just for a one-night stopover. The hotel is fairly easy to find on a busy road.
Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We were quickly checked in and sent to our room.
It was clean and spacious and the decor felt a bit dated. Bathroom was wonderful, we could really see it had been recently renovated. Amenities were good.
Breakfast was a bit strange. Hardly any choice (french toast, egg benedict continental breakfast or omelette, off the top of my mind) but everything we tried was great. The french toast particularly. The staff were very friendly.
Overall we had a good experience but i can't say it was excellent.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband took me and our one year old daughter to Boston for my 40th Birthday. Our stay at Hotel Commonwealth was everything the review stated. Believe me when I say I am not a fan of staying in hotels because of the cleanliness. I am usually turned off but the room that we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they were very sweet to our daughter as well. The resturaunts that are attached to the hotel are great so if you get late on your first day you do not have to run out to go to a better place. The only thing that I was upset about was the parking. I hate to pay $42.00 a night to park at a hotel I am spending a lot money at.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Commonwealth room. It was nice because it had a little sitting area that we can cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Beautiful hotel, excellent service from arrival to departure, great location. Very large room and bathroom. Clean, clean, clean. A comparison to Waldorf in NY but more quaint.

Room Tip: Large room and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Easter weekend was our first trip to Boston and we had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Commonwealth! The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean and had an excellent view of Fenway Park. It's located right next door to the "T" so transportation was easy! I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Boston!

Room Tip: If you're a Red Sox fan, stay in the Fenway Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.