We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Brewster, New York
1 review
“First Time in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We came to Boston for College tours. Hotel Commonwealth was the PERFECT place to stay. Conveniently and centrally located to everything! BU was across the street. NE and BC were a fun "T" ride just out the door of the hotel. Our stay included a delicious breakfast! The Hotel is relatively new, and immaculately clean. The rooms are large, comfortable and quiet! The staff is very knowledgable, extremely helpful and friendly. Boston is a beautiful, friendly city. Extremely safe and easy to get around. No need for a car!! The Theatres, shops, restaurants, and sports events events are all at your disposal, and easily accessible by traveling on the "T", which is fun, safe and cheap! Wear comfortable shoes, and plan on walking a lot!! Everywhere you look in Boston, people were either walking, jogging, or biking somewhere!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,429
    453
    86
    39
    14
See reviews for
948
872
148
601
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at the Commonwealth for 3 nights in March for a wedding. Upon check-in, a very friendly employee offered us a champagne toast, and unexpectedly upgraded us to a Junior Suite. We overlooked Kenmore Square, and even though we were only the second floor, heard no street noise. The room itself was very large and very comfortable. I also tried out the fitness center which was small but very nice. Each machine has it's own tv and they provide earphones which was extremely thoughtful.

I had taken the T (subway) to the hotel, and it's extremely close, actually on top of the subway. There is also 2 amazing restaurants and bars in the hotel. Both are delicious, reasonably priced, and were great atmospheres.

The hotel is also walking distance to Newbury Street, a great street for shopping and lingering around. Highly recommend this hotel for a great location and great service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The whole experience of staying at the Hotel Commonwealth was wonderful. The staff is well trained and attentive and you can't beat the location. Our room was large, clean, and beautiful.

Room Tip: upgrade to the commonwealth room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Hotel Commonwealth in Boston and would highly recommend. Great room, excellent service and two superb restaurants - make sure you stay long enough to eat in both! Lovely walk down Commonwealth Avenue to Boston Common and the start of the Freedom Trail. We will certainly revisit Boston and we know where we will be staying and eating on our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Huge room w/ comfy bed, strong shower, tastefully decorated, w/ a view of the iconic Citgo sign! Friendly service & terrific dinner & breakfast @ eastern standard restaurant on premises- luxurious accomodations reasonably priced-I can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, VA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This was a totally positive experience. I was traveling with my 19-year old son who was looking at Northeastern. We arrived by cab and were greeting promptly by a pleasant and attentive door staff. Check-in was painless and equally pleasant. All the staff seems to enjoy where they are working. The hotel itself is a new building (maybe 10 years old), which is definitely a positive - wide hallways, generously sized rooms that are simple but well-decorated, and amply sized bathrooms. All in all a pleasant change from some of the cramped accommodations typically found in Boston. The breakfast at Eastern Standard is pretty good (not great), but the prices are fair. The Eggs Benedict over biscuits is worth trying. The service there is not as pleasant as at the hotel itself, but it was sufficiently attentive. Lastly, the location is minutes away from everything (I guess what isn't in Boston?). Crossing the Mass Pike on foot is a bit of a hassle, but it was still a great place to explore the city from. Only downside was the tub is a little small & the shower head pressure was too high! All in all, highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you choose a Fenway view rooom, ask for a high floor. We had a 2nd floor room that came w/ a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed here two nights this week while visiting colleges in Boston. The location is great - right at the edge of Boston University's campus and walkable to MIT. The T stop is at the hotel as well and it backs to Fenway Park. The concierge was helpful in providing restaurant suggestions. Service was good. Only drawback is expense of such a great location. The valet parking was easy but a steep price ($42) though comparable to area lots. No extra freebies in the room (cups, coffemaker, breakfast, etc.). The rollaway bed was a real mattress and great for our 12 year old to sleep on.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.