We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Stay - well done!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrific Stay - well done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

From booking to check out, the trip went without a flaw! Jessie in booking made sure that we got just the right room - Fenway Room!

On check in, we were surprised by a complimentary Pinor Noir and a lovely cheese plate! Great way to start the weekend.

Fabulous view of Fenway Park from our room.

Very comfortable room, complimentary shoe shine and high end toiletries all which you would expect in the #1 Trip Advisory Hotel in Boston!

We had very high expectations and you met each and all of them! Well done..

Room Tip: Ask for the Fenway Room, what a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,347
    433
    81
    39
    12
See reviews for
901
846
146
582
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
osining ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

From the moment our doors we're opened at the curb for our arrival, they started to treat us like were somebody special. Everything about this hotel was top notch. From the valet, front desk, room service to even the operators on the house phone, they were just so attentive.
We most definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Easy access to T or nice walk to Back Bay. Well maintained. We were given larger, spacious room than reserved, a nice surprise. Great restaurants right next door. Surprisingly quiet given city location. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I was concerned because we did not want to be in a pet environment due to allergies. However, no is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Visited many 4 star properties in my time and I have to say, this is on par with many of them at a fraction of the cost. Top notch Frette bed linens & towels, room layout and amenities. Like many boutique properties they get it right at a somewhat larger scale. Close attention to detail, exceptional decor and personable, attentive service, without the stuffiness of some other properties in the area. Kenmore Square is a great hub for getting around Boston via mass transit. Close to Fenway, walking distance to Newbury Street, and the Commons. Two outstanding F&B outlets Island Creek Oyster House and Eastern Standard seal the deal. No need to look elsewhere. I have been traveling to Boston the last year every other week and this is my home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We recently stayed at The Hotel Commonwealth with our 3 kids and had a terrific experience. We had a large, beautiful room big enough for all of us: 2 boys on a pull out couch and baby in a pack n play they provided. The heavy pull across curtain dividing the space was key so that we were able to enjoy our time in the room as our kids slept. The king bed was gorgeous, really nice. We have stayed here before and will be back because there just aren't that many hotels that make your stay with kids as easy as this. We love the location as it's close to the city and perfect for running on or taking the kids to the Esplanad. The service was exceptional.
The restaurants in the hotel are great too: Island Creek is one of the best in Boston, Eastern Standard is my favorite spot for a drink with my husband at the bar and The Hawthorne is my new favorite loungey bar. This place is a must try. Just go check it out.
This hotel does it right. 5 stars!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
433 helpful votes 433 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Spent 2 nights in their 3rd floor "Reading Room" executive suite. Pretty, nicley appointed suite. Great king bed with comfy linens. Room is nicely decorated too with lieterature-related theme.Comfy leather lounge chairs, reading lamps, complimentary use of a Kindle Nook, and a well-stocked library really do make this a great spot for reading. But the location is so great we found it hard to stay put. Fenway Park, Boylston Street, Shops at Prudential, and Boston Common are all very walkable if you like to stroll like we do.

Staff knows their business. Front desk, room service, valet parking, concierge all delivered with apparent ease and lack of fussiness. Example: early Saturday morning, I asked when the concierge desk opened which wasn't for an hour. But the desk clerk asked if he could help me, and when I told him we wanted to watch the Liverpool v. Arsenal soccer match he knew exactly the place. He even called to make sure they would be showing that game and when we got there the barman made sure we got a good seat.

The only cons: Bathroom disappointed slightly, about on par with a nicer Embassy Suites, but toiletries were top end. Lots of noise from Commonwealth Ave made sleeping a bit harder than we expected. The usual car horns, sirens and other city noises which are part of city like but aren't an issue at Ritz-Carlton or Taj Hotel in Boston. The icemaker outside the room occasionally goes into an extremely noisy mode which can be heard from the room. However, we got earplugs and dealt with this minor annoyance.

I really debated whether to rate this 4 or 5 stars due to the noise issue and the lack of bathroom wow-factor compared to Ritz Carlton, but the staff is so competent and the little extras like the Keuring and Kindle provided in the room won the day. Not to mention, the suite is about $300 less than its counterpart at R-C. Plus free wi-fi! I don't give out very many 5 star ratings but Hotel Commonwealth earned every one of them. This is our new home base in Boston and we can't wait for our next trip this summer to see the Sox.

Room Tip: The rooms on Commonwealth Ave are subject to some street noise. And if the concierge is closed, try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Central location right next to Fenway Park, great staff, first class huge rooms, nice bathrooms, 2 great restaurants in the hotel (Island Creek was an awesome restaurant), wine bar, subway station literally down below hotel, comfortable beds, and a concierge to take care of every need...if you need more than this then run for president. I'll be back to this

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.