We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Save Saved
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Business trip with Boston University (2 blocks away) and this place was perfect. View of Fenway outside of window, convenient to the airport ($35-$40, 25 min). Two above average restaurants attached to hotel. Free wifi, extremely courteous staff, comfortable bed. Really an excellent overall experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,154
    382
    67
    32
    10
See reviews for
833
769
135
526
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Commonwealth for one night this past week for a reception and was impressed by their facilities and welcoming staff. The hotel is well decorated and is attached to two very nice restaurants. My room overlooked Fenway - big plus! I was on the 5th floor so I didn't experience any traffic noise even though I was facing the freeway. Oh, and room service was even attentive and quick (and delicious). I'd definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back, facing Fenway! You'll be facing a highway, but you can't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Outstanding room and service. Only issue was loud housekeepers in hall starting about 8am.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rollinsford, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Located right in Kenmore Square, great location. Hotel was beautiful. We stayed in the Fenway Room. Bed was comfortable and plenty of pillows. I would definetly plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Located at Kenmore square... just across from Fenway and Landsdowne... We stayed because of a function we went to at the House of Blues... We were just staying the night and so wasn't expecting much. The Hotel was beautiful though.. The rooms are spacious with a separate sitting area. We were overlooking Kenmore Square but there are rooms overlooking Fenway as well. The check in/check out was easy and the people at the desk were friendly and very helpful.
We've decided based on our experience to stay at this hotel in the future when we want to stay downtown for events or just a weekend on the town..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

As the parent of a senior at Boston University, I have stayed at a number of hotels and bed & breakfast locations in Boston over the years. My recent stay left me wondering why I did not find Hotel Commonwealth sooner. During a major power outage at my home, I had a need for a hotel close to my daughter that would allow me to continue my business, working remotely. Hotel Commonwealth was the perfect choice.

The staff arranged for a wonderful room. At first I was concerned because the location was on a low floor overlooking Kenmore Square. My concerns were incorrect. The windows and curtains totally blocked the sound and light. The free Internet was flawless in connecting to my Company’s VPN for the duration of the stay. Further, my employer commented that the telephone reception during our conference calls was actually much more clear than my own home office.

Since most are not looking for an office away from their office, I will share that the bed was very comfortable. I have never experienced such a warm wonderful shower in any hotel or home. It seems like an odd feature to highlight, however, most hotels are usually lacking in water pressure. Not Hotel Commonwealth, where I revelled in the warmth and steam. Fluffy towels and the accompanying spa bath products rounded out the experience.

The location of the hotel is convenient to Boston University, area restaurants, the T, and a short walk to shopping (Newbury Street) and more restaurants. The staff was as accommodating as they could be when I needed to extend my stay due to the continuing power outage at home. All the staff was wonderful, from the efficient valet parking, helpful front door personnel, to the friendly front desk staff. I will definitely choose the Hotel Commonwealth for a future stay in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We were looking for a classy hotel that offered all-in-one services...and we found it at the Hotel Commonwealth! The rooms are gorgeous, with comfortable, plush pillows and bedding. The junior suite had a comfortable sitting area and work space. Loved the bathroom...do wish the shower was a little bigger, not quite made for two! The hotel also has a gallery, which was a fun diversion.

The best part of the hotel were the restaurants/bars! We didn't want to waste the majority of or one night in Boston fighting the cold and traffic, and with two restaurants and a bar we didn't have to! The Hawthorne was amazing! Pricey, yes, but everything there was first class. The bartenders love their craft and are more than willing to educate you along the way. The cocktails were delicious, with special touches. We had dinner at Island Creek Oyster Bar. To die for! The salmon tartar is a must! Again, great service...from the hostess who held our table (we were having too much fun at the Hawthorne!) to the great bartender. Even the guests were fun! We topped off the stay with brunch at Eastern Standard! Yummy!! And the service was excellent, along with the food!
We will definitely return to The Commonwealth!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#2 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;