We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Save Saved
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Stay Longer Promo
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Boston
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Located at Kenmore square... just across from Fenway and Landsdowne... We stayed because of a function we went to at the House of Blues... We were just staying the night and so wasn't expecting much. The Hotel was beautiful though.. The rooms are spacious with a separate sitting area. We were overlooking Kenmore Square but there are rooms overlooking Fenway as well. The check in/check out was easy and the people at the desk were friendly and very helpful.
We've decided based on our experience to stay at this hotel in the future when we want to stay downtown for events or just a weekend on the town..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,084
    365
    63
    28
    10
See reviews for
797
743
135
509
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

As the parent of a senior at Boston University, I have stayed at a number of hotels and bed & breakfast locations in Boston over the years. My recent stay left me wondering why I did not find Hotel Commonwealth sooner. During a major power outage at my home, I had a need for a hotel close to my daughter that would allow me to continue my business, working remotely. Hotel Commonwealth was the perfect choice.

The staff arranged for a wonderful room. At first I was concerned because the location was on a low floor overlooking Kenmore Square. My concerns were incorrect. The windows and curtains totally blocked the sound and light. The free Internet was flawless in connecting to my Company’s VPN for the duration of the stay. Further, my employer commented that the telephone reception during our conference calls was actually much more clear than my own home office.

Since most are not looking for an office away from their office, I will share that the bed was very comfortable. I have never experienced such a warm wonderful shower in any hotel or home. It seems like an odd feature to highlight, however, most hotels are usually lacking in water pressure. Not Hotel Commonwealth, where I revelled in the warmth and steam. Fluffy towels and the accompanying spa bath products rounded out the experience.

The location of the hotel is convenient to Boston University, area restaurants, the T, and a short walk to shopping (Newbury Street) and more restaurants. The staff was as accommodating as they could be when I needed to extend my stay due to the continuing power outage at home. All the staff was wonderful, from the efficient valet parking, helpful front door personnel, to the friendly front desk staff. I will definitely choose the Hotel Commonwealth for a future stay in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We were looking for a classy hotel that offered all-in-one services...and we found it at the Hotel Commonwealth! The rooms are gorgeous, with comfortable, plush pillows and bedding. The junior suite had a comfortable sitting area and work space. Loved the bathroom...do wish the shower was a little bigger, not quite made for two! The hotel also has a gallery, which was a fun diversion.

The best part of the hotel were the restaurants/bars! We didn't want to waste the majority of or one night in Boston fighting the cold and traffic, and with two restaurants and a bar we didn't have to! The Hawthorne was amazing! Pricey, yes, but everything there was first class. The bartenders love their craft and are more than willing to educate you along the way. The cocktails were delicious, with special touches. We had dinner at Island Creek Oyster Bar. To die for! The salmon tartar is a must! Again, great service...from the hostess who held our table (we were having too much fun at the Hawthorne!) to the great bartender. Even the guests were fun! We topped off the stay with brunch at Eastern Standard! Yummy!! And the service was excellent, along with the food!
We will definitely return to The Commonwealth!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

It was my first time in Boston and my stay at Hotel Commonwealth was a perfect experience to welcome me to the city. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. The room and room service was as good as it could have been. Free wifi connection enhanced my business experience. Last, both the front desk staff and the conceirge recommended multiple after hour experiences that worked out well. I truly enjoyed my stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed one night and it was joy from start to finish. It is a spectacular looking hotel and the staff are exceedingly accommodating, personable and knowledgable about the area attractions. The hotel is located near all the places I intend on visiting on return trips to Boston - the Prudential, Newbury Street, Beacon Hill, Charles Street, the MFA and of course Fenway Park. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Braintree, Vermont, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Simply amazing. Booked a package that included passes to the Museum of Fine Arts, and included one night plus breakfast. Arrived around 7:30 PM, to the valet-only situation in front of the hotel. Electric space heaters beneath the hotel’s street awning. Helpful bellhop loaded a luggage cart, met us again at check in, offered us bottled water, and led us to our room, where he unloaded our bags and put hanging clothes in the closet. At check in, I was passed an envelope with the MFA passes (VIP ones, that come with admission to special events and galleries)—and was given a free upgrade to an exquisite suite: third floor, almost directly across from the neon CITGO sign. The view of the street was stunning, fun; the window had a nice ‘sitting ledge.’ The room was gorgeous; divided between a king bed area and a sitting area with ornate desk, the furniture throughout was interesting and classic. Chocolates (truffles) on the bedspread, with a note of thanks; the finest pillows I have ever experienced. My partner and I marveled at the thread count of the sheets as the sun rose the next morning: they were opaque. Unbelievable. Two televisions, one with a DVD player; in-room safe; towels folded into clamshell patterns; the finest hotel soap I have ever known; iPod docking station; free Wi-Fi.
We were in the room about twenty-five minutes when room service delivered a selection of Italian cheeses, along with a brisk Pinot Grigio, also from the old country. We were floored; decided to delay our dinner plans and recline in the two plush—and not fragile—chairs, while set before us on the wide leather ottoman were the delicate, amazing flavors, from a place that suddenly seemed not as far away as I had ever thought. The glow of the city, its people, traffic, and slush—but not its noise—was
Breakfast at Eastern Standard was also lovely, though I woke in the morning with a bit of a start: the bill passed beneath the door in the wee hours of dawn noted a double charge for the valet parking (which is $42, all told), as well as a room service charge of $22.50. The front desk was immediately apologetic on the phone, as well as at check-out, and the charges were removed. Eggs Benedict and lots of good coffee at street view were soothing; the atmosphere in the downtown city restaurant was bustling but not overpowering. The walk to breakfast couldn’t help but include a gallery of fine photography, displayed in the wide hallway. Every carpet seemed freshly vacuumed, and thickly padded beneath; I never saw a crumb or speck of dust, anywhere.
Check-out was at noon, but the hotel was willing to look after our bags and our vehicle until we were finished at the museum later that afternoon—a huge bonus for those who would rather get back behind the wheel of the car in downtown Boston when they’re about to head directly north, and back to the woods. Another friendly bellhop brought another brass cart, and our bags were stowed in a room near the front entrance. The cab ride to the MFA was about seven dollars, one-way; it was a pleasure to return to the hotel and retrieve our car and bags, where we were met with smiles and truly warm greetings, even though we were on our way out. The finest hotel experience I’ve ever had? Perhaps; it was jarring to see that extra sixty dollars charged in error on my bill that morning, but in a place this tight, I’d assume that was a true fluke. I’d recommend this hotel to anyone, especially those seeking to have a great experience attending an event at Fenway, which is literally a block away. Thanks to the Commonwealth for an extraordinary and lavish experience; they deserve your business!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I came out with my daughter who was on a college visit and picked the hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews...this hotel earned every single star during our stay. We arrived from a red-eye flight with a request in place to check in early...bleary eyed at 7:30am we were gratefully allowed to check in to our giant and very comfortable Fenway double queen room. From the first people at the front desk, to our very friendly and helpful bellman, to every last person we had contact with at the hotel, the service was superb. As described correctly in all the other reviews, the rooms are very spacious, clean, and comfortable. The location of the hotel next to the T and in walking distance to many great areas made it the right choice for our stay and will be our "home base" for all of our future Boston visits!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 77 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
South Boston
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 77 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Ro...
Show More
Back Bay
The Lenox Hotel
The Lenox Hotel
#5 of 77 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,289 reviews
City Center, Ro...
Show More
Back Bay
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Suites, Budget...
Show More
Jamaica Plain / Mission Hill
enVision Hotel Boston
enVision Hotel Boston
#11 of 77 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.