We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Commonwealth ROCKS!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Save Saved
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Stay Longer Promo
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Boston
Edgartown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Commonwealth ROCKS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My daughter is a freshman at Boston University this year and have been staying/trying all different hotels in the Fenway/Beacon Street area... this hotel was by far the BEST one yet!! Service was OUTSTANDING... staff was friendly, courteous and kind! The rooms were HUGE and so clean... could have eaten off the floors! Will only stay at Hotel Commonwealth from now on when visiting my daughter at BU!! Thanks so much... we will see you guys in March!
SUPERIOR HOTEL!!!!

Room Tip: "We enjoyed the King size suite.. very LARGE rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,121
    373
    66
    30
    10
See reviews for
819
753
135
521
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

From the moment you are greeted by the doormen, until they say goodbye, you will love everything in between about the Commonwealth. It has all the elements I look for in an urban hotel: great service, two very fine restaurants and a cocktail lounge, adjacent, very well appointed rooms. We had a small suite which was great because there was plenty of room to relax, read, and sleep. Bed was great. It is very easy to get around Boston from here, and Fenway Park is very closeby. This seems to be a very well managed hotel- friendly people, clean accommodations, tasteful decorating and a sense of sheer comfort. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you like baseball, many of the rooms overlook Fenway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Not only is the hotel beautiful, and conveniently located, our stay was amazing. We were instantly upgraded and thoroughly enjoyed the Baseball Suite. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, making reservations nearby, calling taxi for early hours and giving great tips for a safe and successful trip in Boston. It’s a must stay anytime we visit Boston again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoosick, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We have stayed at the Commonwealth several times. From the moment you are greeted at the front door and until you depart, everything is top shelf. The entire staff is friendly, courteous, and extremely helpful. We love the accommodations. The rooms are tastefully done and are so comfortable. ( We'd like to buy a bed from them!) We have eaten at both restaurants, Island Creek Oyster Bar and Eastern Standard -- there is no reason to leave the hotel when you have dining like this! There is also a great bar that recently opened. The Commonwealth's location is another plus. It's an easy walk to shopping on Newbury St., and an invigorating walk to Quincy Market and the Aquarium.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marsfield,ma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This was a surprise gift from our children and we were not sure what to expect. The hotel and staff were amazing! I travel for work often so am used to staying nice hotels. This hotel was the best I have ever been in. The hotel was beautiful, fancy and clean. The staff was exceptional. The front desk staff was efficient,and checked us in with a great smile. He gave us accurate information about the hotel and the surrounding areasnever did I feel that he needed to get to the next gueast. Every staff member that we passed in the halls to asking about a local spots was kind and always smiling. I assume that the hotel must be great place to work for because everyone was wonderful! The two restaurants were great and the hotel helped with reservations so we did not have to wait in the restaraunt. I can not compliment this hotel enough, especially the wonderful staff, they made the visit! Will return again and again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

Excellent. Look foward to a return stay. Staff very accommodating. Location and facilities made my birthday celebration visit to Boston great.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maine, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Our family of four was in town for Frozen Fenway. We love the Island Creek Oyster Bar (ICOB) and thought we'd check out the hotel. Great location next to the T and Fenway, beautiful lobby and rooms, friendly staff.
We were upgraded to a fabulous suite and provided rollaways for our boys at no extra charge. The staff set our teen boys up with a dvd player and we were able to borrow movies to watch by the lovely gas fireplace in the room.
The ICOB is one of our favorite restaurants and we were thrilled to enjoy it again by walking downstairs. We checked out Eastern Standard for breakfast and have added that to our favorite Boston restaurant list.
I could go on and on....we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.