We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again in an instant...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Save Saved
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Would stay again in an instant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Not only is the hotel beautiful, and conveniently located, our stay was amazing. We were instantly upgraded and thoroughly enjoyed the Baseball Suite. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, making reservations nearby, calling taxi for early hours and giving great tips for a safe and successful trip in Boston. It’s a must stay anytime we visit Boston again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,155
    382
    67
    32
    10
See reviews for
833
770
135
526
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoosick, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We have stayed at the Commonwealth several times. From the moment you are greeted at the front door and until you depart, everything is top shelf. The entire staff is friendly, courteous, and extremely helpful. We love the accommodations. The rooms are tastefully done and are so comfortable. ( We'd like to buy a bed from them!) We have eaten at both restaurants, Island Creek Oyster Bar and Eastern Standard -- there is no reason to leave the hotel when you have dining like this! There is also a great bar that recently opened. The Commonwealth's location is another plus. It's an easy walk to shopping on Newbury St., and an invigorating walk to Quincy Market and the Aquarium.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marsfield,ma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This was a surprise gift from our children and we were not sure what to expect. The hotel and staff were amazing! I travel for work often so am used to staying nice hotels. This hotel was the best I have ever been in. The hotel was beautiful, fancy and clean. The staff was exceptional. The front desk staff was efficient,and checked us in with a great smile. He gave us accurate information about the hotel and the surrounding areasnever did I feel that he needed to get to the next gueast. Every staff member that we passed in the halls to asking about a local spots was kind and always smiling. I assume that the hotel must be great place to work for because everyone was wonderful! The two restaurants were great and the hotel helped with reservations so we did not have to wait in the restaraunt. I can not compliment this hotel enough, especially the wonderful staff, they made the visit! Will return again and again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

Excellent. Look foward to a return stay. Staff very accommodating. Location and facilities made my birthday celebration visit to Boston great.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maine, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Our family of four was in town for Frozen Fenway. We love the Island Creek Oyster Bar (ICOB) and thought we'd check out the hotel. Great location next to the T and Fenway, beautiful lobby and rooms, friendly staff.
We were upgraded to a fabulous suite and provided rollaways for our boys at no extra charge. The staff set our teen boys up with a dvd player and we were able to borrow movies to watch by the lovely gas fireplace in the room.
The ICOB is one of our favorite restaurants and we were thrilled to enjoy it again by walking downstairs. We checked out Eastern Standard for breakfast and have added that to our favorite Boston restaurant list.
I could go on and on....we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth on New Year's Eve and was so impressed. I travel a lot for work and rarely receive the type of service I received during my stay. The Front Desk Staff was amazing. The rooms were great (love love love the Fresh bath products) and room service (from Eastern Standard) was also timely and delicious. Can't wait to come back again!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We had an very enjoyable weekend here. The hotel is convenient to the T (subway) and just two blocks from Fenway Park. Our room, and the hotel in general, was exceptionally clean and quiet. The staff was very helpful, efficient and friendly. The hotel has wifi, and a small business area with computers if you need them. The valet service took good care of our car (which was one of my main concerns.... I have a new car and it was like leaving our baby with a sitter for the first time!). The associated restaurants were friendly, with good but not great food, and both were pricey.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#2 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.