We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the Hype: A Great Weekend Get-A-Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Save Saved
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Stay Longer Promo
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Boston
Boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Believe the Hype: A Great Weekend Get-A-Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

My DH and I recently spent two nights at this hotel to celebrate a special occasion. The location is very convenient, the green line Kenmore stop is literally below the hotel. This enables one easy access to the T and travel around the city. We arrived a ½ hour before check-in and were offered a cup of hot apple cider. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that not only was our room ready but that we had been given an upgrade to a suite overlooking Kenmore square.

Room: The room was huge and beautiful with a heavy curtain to separate the comfy king-sized bed from the living area. We loved the two comfy chairs and ottoman, a nice desk, and flat screen tv. (There are actually two, one is in the bedroom, too). We were given a complimentary bottle of wine and some delicious chocolate truffles in our room so we decided to enjoy that and watch some Saturday college football before we headed out for the night. At first, I couldn’t get the television to work but one quick call down to the front desk, and the problem was solved. The curtain between the two rooms blocked off any leaking light from the front curtains and we loved the “cave” feeling….love complete darkness to sleep. The room also had a universal IPod player with remote so you could control it from your bed if need be. The bathroom was immaculate with a nice size tub and wonderful “Fresh” products. The toilet had its separate room which was nice for getting ready when we both needed to use the bathroom. Shower pressure was great but watch out for that water, it could get really hot! The only complaint was they only provided one robe while there were two of us in the room but not a big deal. There was a safe in the closet albeit not very large. Also, an umbrella was available if you needed to use it. Turn down service is provided (they ask at check-in if you want it) and they leave you some nice chocolates.

Staff: We cannot say enough about the staff that works here. They were one of the nicest front desk staffs I have even come into contact with. Any question we had was met with sincere assistance.

Restaurant: We ate a late night meal and later a late lunch at one of their restaurants, The Eastern Standard. Being locals, we had dined here before and really enjoyed it but my DH loved it this time around. He had a prosciutto sandwich which he claimed is “one of the best sandwiches” that he has ever had (hence why we returned for a late lunch). Saturday night was packed and we hung out in the bar. I noticed a bar table had been open for a while, and when I went to the host stand, she was more than happy to seat us there. Our server was excellent (can’t remember her name, sorry) despite the huge crowd and later hour.

Location: As mentioned, the T stop is right there….a major plus. Also, we were easily able to walk down to the Newbury Street area and the Boston Common. We had unusually warm November weather and many were taking advantage of it by walking around. Saturday night we took in a show at The House of Blues which is literally around the corner from the hotel (next to Fenway Park)

This hotel is immaculate and every time we walked into the lobby we commented on how much we loved the smell! From the doormen to the front desk to the restaurant workers and the maids, we have nothing but praise. This hotel made our local get-away weekend even better and we would not hesitate to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,084
    365
    63
    28
    10
See reviews for
797
743
135
509
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

My daughter became ill unexpectedly and we needed to find a good place for her to rest and recover. Their staff was wonderful and assisted us very well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

checkin and out was a breeze. Great restaurants right under the hotel. Room was very clean, spacious, comfortable bed, nicely decorated without being over the top. Terrible tiny ironing board. They put us in a handicap access room, perhaps why our bathroom was huge. quiet rooms; couldn't hear neighbors or any stret noise on a busy Saturday night. Would stay again.

Room Tip: view of Fenway isn't that great (mostely back of green monster and industrial facades) I'd g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

My Stay was in in late August 2011 I needed a room as it was the big hurricane of 2011 and I was in Boston for my Crossfit Certification Trainer Course. I called the Commonwealth and they provided me with a junior suite. As I pulled up to the front door after a long day of training I was happy to have a valet park my car and a great Doorman named Frankie who was very welcoming and by Nick who was engaging and hilarious. I went to the front desk and checked in by a gentleman named Luke who was very professional and got me my room very fast and explained the hotel to me. I was very suprised by how large the room was when I entered. I felt as if I was at home if I had the money for the furnishing's but you get what I mean! The bathroom was great and what I liked most about it was the toilet had its own room!! The room overlooked boston and the bed was amamzing to say the least. I showered and ordered room service. The gentleman brought my food called me Mr. Davis and explained what I ordered asked if he could assist with anything else and left! Now that is customer service. I could go on forever about this place I wish I could have stayed all week but I had to get back to life. All in all a wonderful experience and on the way out Frankie remembered my name after only meeting me once and Nick gave me a good laugh as I went on my Way. Thank you Hotel Commonweath for a great stay!
All the Best,
Mac Davis

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I'm a local, but stayed in town for a work event. The staff was outstanding--friendly, efficient, energetic. The room was beautiful, location is perfect--accessible, close to the river, fun part of town. I felt like I was on vacation right here at home.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Commonwealth Ave have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

My stay was a weekend overnight with my daughter who was meeting some friends at HOB for a show. The staff was friendly and very accommodating with everything. The location was perfect for us and we loved the view of Fenway! We had breakfast at Eastern Standard the next morning and that was great as well. I hope to get back there for a longer weekend stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I stayed here one night for a scheduled meeting. The hotel is a beautiful place. The staff was especially willing to help and very pleasant to work with. The room was perfect with everything one could possibly need. I completely enjoyed my short stay but would gladly have spent a week there!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a very nice view of Fenway, you might consider asking about these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.