We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Great location, right next to a T subway station, Fenway Park and the beautiful Back Bay. Friendly staff and nice European decor room, stayed in a corner Kenmore room and literally had windows with views on 3 walls. Relatively quiet, even during game days. Both associated restaurants, Island Creek Oyster Bar and Eastern Standard were good as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,260
    405
    71
    37
    13
See reviews for
863
803
138
571
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We wanted a nice place in the Kenmore Square area near Fenway park. We found it. The staff was very nice and very helpful, we took their recommendations on several things and they were right on the money. The hotel was quiet and clean. The rooms were nicely sized, especially for a place in the city. Bathrooms were very nice, and very clean. I will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

great tour, nice stay clean room nice workout room. when to eat at beer work!!!
Parking is extra didnt know til we got there. very nice staff. use the subway it is cheep and pretty clean and easy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our room had two queen size beds that were splendid. The beds were oh so comfortable. The room was extremely large and airy. The turn down service was excellent. The front doormen and bell hop personnel always greeted us in a friendly and professional manner. The front desk staff were also friendly , professional and made us seem special. The maid service was extraordinary. Close to Fenway Park, The Prudential Building and train transportation. All within walking distance. Liked everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is our favorite hotel! We have stayed here twice and not been disappointed. The service is unmatchable, the rooms are large and beautiful and everything is very, very clean. You will not be sorry you stayed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I have stayed here for business a number of times and liked it enough to come back with my wife which I have done so now a few times. The location is convenient. The rooms are well done and comfortable and the staff is pleasant and accomadating. I highly recommnend. Wally C.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My son and I recently stayed in the Baseball Suite at the Hotel Commonwealth. EVERY aspect exceeded expectations. Upon arrival, the doorman and registration staff donned smiles and were more than helpful and available. The suite itself was a treasure. My son looked at every artifact and enjoyed one of the baseball movies available. Not only was it very clean, but the "little amenities" such as the "turn down" service, chocolates on the pillow, water and the superior toiletries left in the bathroom, all made us feel like royalty. The location was wonderful, a close walk to Fenway, the train, and many restaurants. I never wanted to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.