We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
ponedigity
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Went here for a conference, really nice large, well appointed rooms. Free wifi and wired internet which is a great plus. Good location, friendly staff, good conference room setup, and a nice little photography gallery downstairs, would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,262
    405
    71
    37
    13
See reviews for
864
804
138
571
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We come out to Boston every June for the Gay Pride festivities. Every year but one we stay at the Hotel Commonwealth and have a really excellent stay. Super service. Wonderful classy rooms. Near everything we need. We love it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My cousin and I came into the city for a concert at Fenway Park. This is THE hotel to stay at when going to the Fenway area. Everything from reservations to check out was top notch. The valet and check in staff were very friendly and helpful. Even the gentleman who assisted us with turn down service was friendly. I look forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Stayed at Hotel Commonwealth for fifth time all on business. It is a class hotel, feels very homey and comfortable. Staff is amazing and friendly. Feel like I know them as friends. Price is not the cheapest but good value. Love it and will be back!! only negative, $42 to park car for the night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCManager500, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We were in Boston for 2 nights. From the moment we hit the carpet at the front door the hotel the employee's were outstanding. They were so nice and helpful. We had a Fenway room and couldn't have been happier with the view. . The only con was the room was very dated, old carpet and furniture. The bed was very comfortable tho. Would we stay there again? Maybe, price being the deciding factor. If in town for another Red Sox game we may try other nearby hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCManager500, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your comments regarding the decor. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Although our stay was our first time at the hotel and only for one night, the entire staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We were looking for an apartment and the desk clerk and concierge went out of their way to offer guidance. The room was most comfortable and there was a complimentary umbrella, which came in very handy! The restaurant which is accessible without exiting the hotel (also a good thing because of the torrential rainstorm), was very good. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantucket
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We've stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth in Boston just about every time we travel to Boston. The hotel is quiet (while being located on a main street), safe and the location is great, within walking distance to Fenway Park, shopping in the Back Bay and local hospitals. And if you're not into walking, the T is located just below the hotel. We've stayed for Red Sox games, New Year's Eve and recently for a few days before and after surgery. While the rooms are great and the bed is so comfortable, it's the staff that makes this my favorite hotel. From the valet, to the excellent doormen (Z and Frankie), to the front desk and everyone else that works at the hotel, they are some of the best in the business. Always friendly and helpful, with a kind word and a laugh, every hotel should be so lucky to employ a staff like this. During our recent stay during which I was to have surgery, we got into Boston about 4 hours before check-in, and while this wouldn't be normal practice, they let us check into our room early where they had already placed the microwave and refrigerator that I had requested. And when they found out that I was to have surgery the next day, they called the room a few times to make sure I was comfortable and scheduled the hotel car to bring us to the hospital the next morning!! They asked my husband for updates while I was in the hospital and went out of their way to be so nice upon my return. One last thing, upon our departure from the hotel, we forgot our keys with the valet (I had the extra key fob in my purse) and the manager (thank you Shane) tracked us down and offered to drive the keys to us (at least an hour away), knowing that we live on an island and would be catching the ferry home soon. We declined since we had the extra set on us but we had the keys in our possession in a few days. You can see why this is my favorite hotel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCManager500, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your kind feedback and especially your comments regarding our team here. We look forward to welcoming you back the Hotel Commonwealth often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.