We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“What an awesome hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I can't say enough about Hotel Commonwealth. The room was incredible, with a jacuzzi and all the extras. We had dinner at the restaurant attached which was also excellent. The best part of this hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. We were most impressed with the front desk staff, especially the enthusiasm and helpfulness of one woman, Hilary Whyte. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,268
    406
    72
    37
    13
See reviews for
865
806
138
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Hotel Commonwealth is a lovely hotel in a great neighborhood with expert staff.
I have stayed several times at the hotel and enjoy the friendliness and wonderful service they provide. The rooms and beds are extremely comfortable and this boutique hotel operates with high standards. I was pleasantly surprised to find out the hotel has a car service available for guests going to local destinations - as a service they provide between 7-9am going to a business destination.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Staying at Hotel Commonwealth is such a joy. The rooms are spaceous and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and always willing to make our stay perfect. I would recommend Hotel Commonwealth to anyone staying in Boston if you want to feel l royality!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Whenever we stay in Boston, we like to stay at the Hotel Commonwealth. We have stayed at least a half dozen times. We love the rooms, bathrooms, service and restaurant. As a matter of fact, on this trip, my husband said that he finally realized what was wrong with this hotel. We use it as a comparison for all other hotels we stay
in and no other hotel ever measures up!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

My husband and I travel to Boston often on business and pleasure. We always try to stay at Hotel Commonwealth. The rooms and amenities are extremely comfortable (we use the gym), and the restaurants in the hotel are great. The location is perfect for using the T or taxis. The staff is welcoming and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel. The only negative is the $42/night they charge for parking.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

An absolutely wonderful boutique hotel. It was everything I needed at the end of a long week of travel. I had a huge headache otherwise I would have enjoyed it more. But, the strongly brewed black coffee, turn down service, and comfortable amenities helped an awful lot.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross River, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I chose this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, and was not disappointed. My son and I stayed one night while we were touring Boston University. The room was very large in my opinion for a city hotel, and was very nicely decorated. The bathroom was also large and modern. Really convenient location -The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the administrative offices of BU, and a 20 minute walk to the farther end of the campus. The Kenmore T-stop is a few feet from the hotel entrance, very handy for quickly getting to the downtown area. The staff at the Commonwealth were very friendly. We ate breakfast in the attached restaurant and found it to be excellent. Free Wifi in the room worked great. I definitely plan to stay there again the next time I am in Boston.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Commonwealth, a luxury Boston boutique hotel offering elegance and style in downtown Boston Massachusetts. The grand cornerstone of Boston’s Kenmore Square, Hotel Commonwealth features gracious hospitality with classic style. Just steps away from world class medical institutions, the Back Bay, Red Sox games at Fenway Park, and Boston’s many cultural and historical attractions, luxurious Hotel Commonwealth is a relaxing and elegant oasis for an urban adventure or business gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commonwealth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.