We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Encore - Take a bow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Encore Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Encore Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
116 W. Newton Street, Boston, MA 02118 (South End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Encore - Take a bow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in late October at the end of our visit to New England. The B&B is in a very pleasant area of Boston and well within walking distance of the City Centre and its attractions.

We were warmly welcomed by David on our arrival and had an extremely comfortable, quiet and pleasant room for our stay with a delicious breakfast provided each morning. We enjoyed the relaxed informal atmosphere, but appreciated the help and advice that was so readily forthcoming if requested.

Reinhold and David have gone to great lengths to provide a great deal of information for their guests about Boston activities and have produced an outstanding guide to local restaurants within walking distance of the B&B. We really appreciated this and enjoyed three superb evening meals, each unique, based on their recommendations.

We wouldn’t hesitate to stay again and would highly recommend the Encore.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We are delighted to receive such a flattering review 3 month after your stay. We are happy that you had a great experience both at Encore and the Southend in general. We hardly venture out of the neighborhood when it comes to restaurant choices, because there are so many in walking distance and we always want to be up to date about their offerings. BTW Petit Robert has a great new chef (in the kitchen)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    66
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
394
61
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Discovering a new B&B in a place you know well is always most welcome. The Encore B&B is just such a find and the entire property is quite charming and inviting.

Reinhold & David are excellent hosts and the conceit of naming the different rooms after celebrated American cultural icons (Robbins, Sondheim, Bernstein & Albee) is a great idea. We stayed in the Bernstein room and it had posters and other items related to Bernstein's cultural legacy.

For me, breakfast is always important at a B&B and this aspect of our stay was top notch. Great coffee, a wide range of pastries (including some gluten free options) and nice people to talk to throughout the stay.

The accessibility to great restaurants and jazz clubs like the Beehive and Wally's was another plus. Just walking around the area is a bit of an urban history lesson and I can't think of a better B&B in Boston!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Max. Thank you so much for a stellar review - we both hope you enjoyed your stay with as much as we appreciated our conversations at breakfast. You missed to mention the closeness of Symphony Hall and you missed a great event which happened there last night. Golijov''s "La Pasion segun San Marcos was per formed by a group of Venezuelian musician's under Robert Spano. I literally got carried away! We call ourselves lucky to have all these opportunities close by and are especially happy, when our guests recognize all the opportunities that the location of our B&B has to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed at Encore for 4 nights in November 2013. Our bedroom was on the top floor and was incredibly spacious and modern. The bed was so comfortable we really struggled to get up each morning to explore Boston! The bathroom was spotless and had lovely Aveda products provided.

Breakfast was granola, fruit and yogurt and a choice from a huge selection of pastries, muffins and breads. The quality of the food was exceptional. Each morning the host Reinhold walks to the local gourmet bakery to purchase your requested items so they are very fresh and delicious. What a treat!

This really is a lovely B&B situated in a fabulous, foody area of Boston. I cannot recommend it more highly.

Just a tip for potential guests. The owner is not kidding when he says there are lots of stairs in the property. It is a renovated brownstone townhouse over three floors. The B&B is situated on the top two floors so there are two-three steep flights to climb. It really isn't an issue and Reinhold very kindly assists with hauling bags to the room, but I may be something for some guests to consider.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Peita. Sorry for the late response to you outstanding review. By now you should be back in Australia enjoying the warm summer weather. We had an unusual cold spill all over the US which made you think you are living in the arctic. Of course we can't wait for Spring to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere that is quiet, tastefully designed and in walking distance of the concert hall, theatres and downtown, then this is just the place. With just a handful of rooms, this lovely place to stay is situated in a historic town house in a pleasant area. The local library next door permits guests to the city to check their e-mails which is very handy. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful, but also respect privacy. I was here for a conference and a short holiday and I would happily stay here again. It is also very clean and the breakfast is good.

Room Tip: If you do not mind climbing stairs, then the Albee room at the top has a balcony with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Mary. A very late thank you for your effort to write a review on Tripadvisor, which reflects your appreciation of Encore. We are especially happy that you mentioned the branch library next door, which is very helpful for guest who want to travel without any computers. You also mention Symphony Hall, which is in walking distance and we are able to get discounted tickets if we know in advance whether our guests are planning to go there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

For our first trip to Boston from Adelaide,Australia we booked Encore wholly & solely based on reviews read on Trip Advisor.This utterly charming establishment lived up to and eclipsed these,for us there were no faults to be found.Our wonderful host Reinhold was warm,welcoming and most informative.Encore was beautifully clean and stylish and we so enjoyed our breakfasts,try the fabulous granola! the location is ideal with so much close at hand while still in a truly lovely neighborhood setting.Our only regret is that we were unable to spend longer,we felt we were leaving home on our last day! Our warmest thanks to you Reinhold and David,we loved Encore and Boston and hope to return one day.It really is a pleasure to recommend Encore,take a bow!

Room Tip: We found the Bernstein room excellent,stylish,clean & comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guests. Thank you for taking the time to post this heartfelt review. We especially appreciate it form Australian guests - we appreciated the hospitality we experienced nearly through our entire trip last year. I definitely would prefer to be in Adelaide right now as opposed to Boston.
Thank you for all the great conversations during breakfast on a wide range of issues. If you feel your time in Boston was short, our time in Adelaide was even shorter and that makes us want to come back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent nearly a week in this B&B and had a lovely time. Very comfortable atmosphere, the rooms have theirits own bath/shower/toilet. TV, free WiFi.
But the best was the breakfast: you get to choose from all sorts of possibilities and you'll be served at the table by the innkeepers.
We bet it would be hard to find a nicer place to stay in or around boston!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear David. We are impressed, that you took the time so short after your long flight back to Switzerland, to write this review. Thank you very much. Are you aware that you helped achieve a landmark, because this our Review #500 of all the excellent reviews. Part of the credit should go to Flour, the bakery that provides us with the delicious selection of fresh baked goods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

All of the many previous comments about the quality of the food, the graciousness of the host, the style of the rooms...and even the steepness of the stairs...are true. But there are two more features which make Encore such a great place to stay.
One is the chance to live for a short time in a beautiful neighborhood and pretend that this brownstone is yours, rather than residing in a soulless hotel.
The other bonus is the guests you share breakfast with. Staying at Encore allows you to chat with other travelers from all over the country and the world and hear their stories and impressions of Boston.
Encore is a great place to stay and experience. If you think you might like to stay here...just do so.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Neale. Thank you for an excellent review! We too are amazed how many guests we reach throughout the world by our website. Our analytics show that it can be up to 20 different countries per day (of course in high season) Thank god English is a universal language, which allows guests at the breakfast table to communicate with each other and share experience and impressions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 W. Newton Street, Boston, MA 02118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Encore Hotel Boston
Encore b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Encore Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.