We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Encore Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Encore Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
116 W. Newton Street, Boston, MA 02118 (South End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

All of the many previous comments about the quality of the food, the graciousness of the host, the style of the rooms...and even the steepness of the stairs...are true. But there are two more features which make Encore such a great place to stay.
One is the chance to live for a short time in a beautiful neighborhood and pretend that this brownstone is yours, rather than residing in a soulless hotel.
The other bonus is the guests you share breakfast with. Staying at Encore allows you to chat with other travelers from all over the country and the world and hear their stories and impressions of Boston.
Encore is a great place to stay and experience. If you think you might like to stay here...just do so.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Neale. Thank you for an excellent review! We too are amazed how many guests we reach throughout the world by our website. Our analytics show that it can be up to 20 different countries per day (of course in high season) Thank god English is a universal language, which allows guests at the breakfast table to communicate with each other and share experience and impressions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    65
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
390
60
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Spent a really weekend in Boston. We stayed at Encore B & B in the stylish "Jerome Robbins" room, which is equipped with wi-fi, which worked like a dream. Great comfy bed, flat screen television and stereo system (didn't try them though, because I was busy exploring this great New England town). The hotel keeper serves up a simple but delicious breakfast -- I had coffee, granola with yoghurt and fruit, finishing with a lemon ginger scone. My travelling companion chose the decadent sticky bun (but there are lots of other options!)

Room Tip: The Robbins room in the front looks out on the street, which is charming and Victorian. Rooms at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Peggy. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We happily added you to our list of repeat visitors and we hope this wasn't your last visit. Starting this weekend we offer our Winter Special, which lasts till the end of February. You might want to check it out. You might be interested to find out that our bakery (Flour) is #3 on a list of the best US bakeries, published on the web (our Facebook page provides a link)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigshafen, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in Reinhold Mahler's cosy and very charming B&B in September 2013. The B&B is located in a very nice brick building in a quiet and nice neighbourhood. The inn keeper Reinhold is a very open and friendly person who cares very much for his guests. Our room was spacious, bright, tastefully decorated and top clean. The B&B is very well organized by Reinhold. We liked the breakfast very much, in particular the delicious rolls from a nearby high quality bakery.

Room Tip: Room "Bernstein" is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Google Translation
Wir betrachten es als ein gutes Zeichen, dass nach 2 Monaten die Erinnerungen an Ihren Besuch in Boston noch anhalten und ich freue mich ausserordentlich, dass sie einen angenehmen Aufenthalt hatten. Nachdem Sie die ausgezeichneten Broetchen von Flour erwaehnen, kann ich nicht umhin den Dallmayr Kaffee aud Muenchen ins rechte Licht au ruecken. Alles in allem fast ein Fruestueck wie zuhause.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

It doesn't get any better than this: wonderful design and comfort, helpful innkeepers, and one of Boston's best neighborhoods! This was my second visit after many years and Encore does not show her age at all! The inn is still a total surprise inside: thoroughly modern, sleek even, with details that make for a pleasurable stay. I was in the Bernstein room, long and roomy across the back with a bank of windows for the afternoon sun. A queen bed covered in soft, luxury linens. A notebook of menus from local restaurants that enticed me to eat lunches and dinners in the South End, an excellent neighborhood for access to the rest of Boston. Reinhold is a fine host and helps with any and all requests. His breakfasts are fresh and bountiful (I even went to his bakery Flour for lunch!). An especially nice touch this year was a "stoop party" to pass out treats on Halloween....we had a blast.

Having stayed on business in many of Boston's large and impersonal hotels, it was a great pleasure to be back at Encore. Great value for the price, this is a jewel of an inn in one of our great cities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear L. We are of course flattered by your review and we are happy, that you were able to experience the "stoop party" for Halloween. It is in deed a unique event here in the Southend, when the "trick and treaters" come here by the busloads. Especially our international guests love this special event and everybody staying with us gets invited. I am sure you didn't regret squeezing in the event between dinner and a theater visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I just spent 4 nights at the Encore B&B. It was just as excellent as my stay back in 2006. My room was quiet, clean, and very comfortable. Given previous reviews, I was expecting to be disappointed with the breakfast. To the contrary, it was excellent given the establishment's limitation of not being able to serve a hot breakfast. The bakery item were excellent and high quality AND you may select how many items you wish. Thank you Rhenhold for a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear E. Thank you for your effort to write a review after an exhausting conference visit in town. Of course we are happy that you had "another great experience" and the quality of our service didn't change after a couple of years. Since your last visit we changed the bakery and are now getting our baked goods from Flour, Boston's best and we call ourselves lucky to have them fairly close in the neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Don't let the traditional bowed brick facade fool you -- inside this charming B&B, style is king. Stainless steel, black granite and sleek blonde woods provide perfect counterpoints to the exposed brick, rich color palate and sumptuous linens. The friendly and knowledgeable innkeepers can direct you to the many excellent South End restaurants and theaters within easy walking distance. Mass transit provides convenient access to the rest of the city's attractions. A stay at this B&B will have you looking for an Encore on your next visit to Boston.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for a fabulous review of Encore. We are proud that your repeat visit wasn't disappointing for you. Even in the off-season Boston is worth a trip with all the theater offerings at off-Broadway prizes and not to forget all the high quality musical events. We are especially happy that you were able to attend our partner's Zeitgeist Stage production of The Normal Heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is one of the loveliest B&B that I have ever stayed at. None of the frill and fuss of Victorian motif but stylist and comfortable rooms (and beds) and cozy breakfast nook. Very lovely environment with an excellent location to other parts of the city - and wonderful South Boston neighborhood. Rheinhold, the Inn Keeper was gracious and welcoming. The breakfast was very good - I was able to make my selection the evening before so that the pastries were delivered fresh in the morning. It was immaculate with regard to cleanliness, and bathrooms that were very well maintained. Without a doubt, I will go back when my travels require that I returen to Boston!

Room Tip: The stairs from the enterance to the second floor rooms and breakfast nook are rather steep. I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear M. We are thrilled to get such a glowing review so quick after your short stay with us. We didn't even have the chance to thank you for choosing Encore for your stay in Boston. Of course we are hoping for an "encore" whenever you are back in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 W. Newton Street, Boston, MA 02118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Encore b&b
Encore Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Encore Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.