We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntington Theatre

Huntington Theatre
264 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115
617-266-7900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 420 things to do in Boston
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Reliably excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We are season ticket holders and are always blown away by the quality of productions. There is something for everyone each season.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of Boston's jewels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love the Huntington! Mi have been a subscriber for years, and they manage to keep the productions fresh, fun and entertaining as well as thought provoking. Bravo!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lecture Series Masquerading As Theater”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Huntington Theater series end-of-season performance of "Rapture, Blister, Burn" last night. The show itself was good and the performances were noteworthy.

Finally, however, all pretense was dropped. BU has extended its classroom to the theater. For several years, I have left the shows offered by this Company feeling that I had been more lectured to than entertained. Good theater generally offers a message, but in good theater the audience comes on its own to an appreciation of that message. The Huntington has consistently presented "plays" in which the message is the show itself.

This last performance centered on an actual class discussion of the history of feminism - complete with syllabus. It was an interesting discussion, presented in an entertaining manner - but it was not good theater.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Consistently outstanding theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you love theatre and find yourself in Boston September - June, Huntington Theatre Company is likely producing work worth checking out, at either its Huntington Ave or Calderwood (Tremont St) Venues. HTC is the only professional resident theatre company in Boston; it is the recipient of the 2013 Tony Award for best regional theatre; and it has been producing award-winning work for 30+ years. As a long-term subscriber, I highly recommend you visit if you can. Enjoy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Gorgeous space, needs some modernizing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Wanted to see the recently produced "A Raisin in the Sun". Purchasing tickets online results in an $11 handling fee for will-call pickup (I'm not exactly sure who handles what to warrant an extra $11 ...), so I decided to buy the tickets at the box office. The woman who helped me was nice, but the computer was super slow. SUPER slow. And it needed re-booting. Buying tickets online is simply faster and more convenient, but then, if you're purchasing for will-call, you'd probably experience a long line before the show, and would maybe have to deal with a super slow computer again ...

With that said, the production was stellar. The space is small enough so that there is not a "bad seat in the house", but it does hold quite a few people. The actors did an amazing job playing to all of the audience, including those in the wings and the balcony. The acoustics could be better as I had a difficult time hearing the softer, more subtle parts. The play is pure perfection, and this rendition was excellently executed. I didn't like the modern incidental music - it was too loud and rather disparate. Furthermore, the inclusion of a "ghost" on-stage (which is not written into the play) was rather questionable. But the actors were SO talented that it didn't matter. The "R-rated" scene referred to in the review below actually provides a bit of humor to a play with a roller-coaster of emotions. It's adult, and the play is staged at night, but there is no nudity in the play at all.

Productions here are always fantastic, and the space is unique. If you can put up with the ticket-purchasing process, you will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huntington Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntington Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.