We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boston Upscale Great Tastefull Dinning on Historic Waterfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smith & Wollensky - Boston Atlantic Wharf

Smith & Wollensky - Boston Atlantic Wharf
294 Congress St., Atlantic Wharf Boston, Boston, MA 02210
617 778-2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Smith & Wollensky - Boston Atlantic Wharf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #180 of 2,815 restaurants in Boston
Price range: $15 - $48
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Atlantic Avenue
Description: Enjoy Waterfront Luxury at Our Second Boston Location. Join us at the newest Smith & Wollensky restaurant at 294 Congress Street. The location is part of Boston Properties’ prestigious Atlantic Wharf project located between the new Rose Kennedy Greenway and historic Boston Harbor. Offering a breathtaking waterfront view, the 10,000-square-foot space includes a full-service raw oyster bar. The outdoor patio, bar and lounge add to the restaurant's unique Harbor experience. The European-style exposition kitchen provides culinary entertainment while lush furnishings of wood and leather create a cozy and inviting interior retreat. The restaurant is open for both lunch and dinner.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Boston Upscale Great Tastefull Dinning on Historic Waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Superb Thanksgiving dinning with exquiste food preparations.Smith & Wollensky newest wtaerfront resturant, is upscale. Lots of glass windows looking out on Boston Tea Party ships and Museum.The menu is wonderfull.Start out with the special Smith & wollensky salad, mouth watering flavors you will not forget.We ordeed rack of Lamb the best taste in Boston, also Swordfish ,great tasting steak and assorted fresh vegtables.Wonderful tasting dessert.The chief came to our table and review any food allergy and made sure we ejoyed our Thaksgivning Dinner.We look forward to returning aging soon. Great service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    50
    18
    10
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CapeCod
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good, but needs improvement in a few areas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This was our first trip to a S&W so we were excited to try it as the building and location are great.
When we got out of the car, the valet said it cost $16 to park. This is the first time I've ever had to pay at a restaurant to park, never mind it was a place that we were about to drop $300 at for food.
The wait staff was good and attentive, the food was above average but the wine selection was way overpriced compared to comparable restaurants in the area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Boston S and W just can't get it right”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I've been to this S and W four times now, and honestly, it gets worse every time. I don't know why they can't replicate their NYC establishment. Steaks are just not that good, considering you are paying almost $50 a steak. Sides are just ok and even the Irish coffee was bad, like they used old burnt coffee.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good food - expensive wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had lunch here on a very windy day so decided not to sit outside which was a pity as it is in a lovely location. Instead we sat at the bar where we received good service in what is a nice room. We had a steak sandwich and a burger both of which were excellent and reasonably
priced for a high end establishment. The red wine was, however, extremely expensive even if it was good quality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmont, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Steak Yes, Seafood No!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Intercontinental and the restaurant is right next door along the harbor. I love steak but my husband doesn't. So, he ordered seafood. Bad move.

Pros - My cocoa and coffee rubbed filet was fantastic. My large- sized BBQ shrimp over jicama and mango salad were very good. The wine suggestions were right on target.

Cons - My husband ordered 2 appetizers to serve as his entree since the only seafood for entrees were fish dishes - no shellfish. The oysters on the half shell and the jumbo shrimp cocktail were presented well together as an entree. Unfortunately, the oysters had grit and the huge shrimp were tough. My husband struggled through 3 of them and left the 4th.

We made the mistake of ordering something that was not their specialty and should have known better. But, at $19 for 4 shrimp, regardless, they should have been perfect. Our server notified the manager and the shrimp were removed from the tab. After that point, I felt that the rest of the meal spiraled downward. We were given dessert menus, but not offered coffee or after-dinner drinks. No more chit- chat from our server. No dessert? Fine.

Even a steak house should provide excellently cooked seafood, especially if they are charging the highest prices. The restaurant is on Atlantic Wharf and not every couple consists of 2 steak lovers. The steaks served at this restaurant are well worth the price, but if you are looking for seafood, pass this one by.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith & Wollensky - Boston Atlantic Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Smith & Wollensky - Boston Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smith & Wollensky - Boston Atlantic Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.