We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Harbor Mini Speed Boats, Inc.

Boston Harbor Mini Speed Boats, Inc.
East India Row, India Wharf Marina, Boston, MA 02110
617-725-0900
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Captain your own mini speedboat as you navigate Boston Harbor while following our knowledgeable instructor. During your excursion you’ll pass many historical sites such as; the Tea Party Ship and Museum, USS Constitution, Nantucket Light Ship, JFK Library, Fort Independence and many more harbor sites. The adventure starts out nice and slow, this will give you time to get familiar with the boat and its operation. Once we pass the no wake zone, it’s time to pick up the speed and have some FUN as we navigate our way to JFK library, Fort Independence and pass many small islands. On the return, we’ll once again enter the no wake zone and view the Nantucket Light Ship, USS Constitution, Charlestown Navy Yard and Boston’s iconic Zakim Bridge. It’s the most unique way to see Boston…it’s PURE FUN! Bring your camera and cherish the memories. We have a limited number of boats for each adventure, don’t miss out…reserve your boat soon.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Got a guided tour of Boston Harbor and then went out past the no wake zone and had blast opening up the 30HP engine on the choppy waters. Exciting, fun learning boating etiquette on such a busy harbor while my glasses were covered with salt water spray. We had a blast. Worth the price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    5
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were in the midst of a heat wave in early July. We were looking forward to spending some time on the water in Boston.

We were greeted at the dock and directed to the slip where the tour operated from. You could tell right away this was a well run family business. Once all the paperwork was filled out we were given a thorough safety briefing. For those that have never operated a boat you will get all the training you need for an enjoyable experience. I would highly recommend you take this tour, especially if you have never driven or operated a boat.

We were given quality comfortable life jackets. The guide made sure they were fitted properly on each of us.

We started out very slow in the no wake zone. We toured along the Boston Water Front. The lead boat and guide gives you a narrated tour and explanation of the buildings and sights as you pass by. The guide is always asking if you are OK and enjoying the experience so far.

Once you reach the edge of the no wake zone the guide speeds up the tour a bit until you are comfortable at the increased speed. At no time were we able to reach speeds that would even compare to a Jet Ski or other types of boats. However we did get the opportunity to open them right up as we toured out toward the JFK Library. This was more than fast enough and a big rush!

After a brief stop and discussion about the area sights in the bay, we headed back to the inner harbor. Once we entered the no wake zone we slowed again to see one of the best shots of the Boston Sky Line. We toured by a number of docked ships.

Great tour, excellent value, very safe, highly recommended for all ages.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best trip in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just back from a wonderful, whirlwind visit to Boston - the Mini Speed Boats tour of Boston Harbour was the highlight of our trip. Booked the same morning and it turned out to be just the two of us doing it. The guide was excellent and the experience unforgettable. A don't miss it attraction!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“They made me want to buy a boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently took a tour of Boston Harbor, and we had a blast. As others have mentioned, the bulk of the tour takes place in the no-wake zone at the beginning and end of the tour. Then you get out on the open water and can really let your hair down. We were told that the 10am tour is best because the water is calmest and you can really hit the throttle on the boat...so this is what we did. The content of the tour is not terribly in-depth, but who cares? They know their audience. If you want an opportunity to get your barrings, see the city from the water and have a great time captaining your own speedboat, then this is for you!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best and Only Way to Tour Boston Harbor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is quite literally the best way to tour the Boston Harbor! The tour guides are fantastic and the company itself makes you feel comfortable maneuvering your own boat. It's an awesome way to see historical sites. We wanted to do a tour, and this was an unconventional way to see everything! We loved it. You get what you pay for and this company really goes out of their way to make sure you enjoy your experience with them. Definitely could be Boston's best kept secret:) I would recommend this to all!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Harbor Mini Speed Boats, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Boston Harbor Mini Speed Boats, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Harbor Mini Speed Boats, Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.