We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Kimpton property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice Kimpton property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

If you're used to staying at Kimpton properties, well you won't be disappointed. It is however a little different than others in that it is not as charming as it is "hip" (sorta like the nightclub feel that a "W" offers).

I will put this next comment in for the hotel management (I assume you guys read these reviews). It's time to replace the televisions in the rooms. While I'm not all that picking about things, you do need to upgrade to HD flat panel TVs. Not a reason not to stay at Nine Zero, just an observation.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    477
    101
    28
    19
See reviews for
307
792
115
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

This hotel is very cute and clean. It is along the "freedom trail" and a short walk to everything. The T is a few steps away and can take you anywhere. Beantown pub next door (you can drink a Sam Adams while looking at Sam Adams), Cheers is a short walk through the park. Hotel is quiet and quaint. I would stay here when I come back to Boston!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We arrived at the Nine Zero tired and cranky with two children in tow and were immediately enveloped in a sense of serenity from the time we drove up to the hotel. Staff were friendly and engaging with our children, had everything prepared for our late night arrival, and all of our prearranged requests/preferences were met.

What more can I say than what's already been said? Customer service from the valet to check-in staff, room service waiters to housekeeping staff were exemplary and went above and beyond to not only meet our needs but anticipate them. Our room was spotless and comfortable. Chic and cozy. Our view over the Boston Commons was lovely. This is a small hotel in the heart of Boston but our room was very quiet and peaceful. Convenient for sightseeing and a delight from the moment you arrive until your departure.

We stay in Boston several times a year and usually stay at the Hotel Marlowe. After trying many hotels in Boston from the Four Seasons to the new Mandarin Oriental, the Hotel Marlowe remained our firm favorite. Who knew another Kimpton hotel would be the only contender to give it a serious run for the money? Now we are going to have so much trouble deciding between the two!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Dear Sinberg,

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us at the Nine Zero Hotel. I'm also happy to learn that you found the hotel comfortable and our staff accommodated all your requests. We sure are looking forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Boston for the first time a couple of weeks ago and stayed at the Nine Zero Hotel and we cannot say enough good things about it! For us, the most important aspect of a hotel is location, location, location and this hotel had it. You felt like you could walk almost anywhere in 15 minutes. It's located in the Theatre District and the hotel is right along the Freedom Trail, so you are literally in the midst of all of the activity. Plenty to see, do and eat! The rooms were spacious, comfortable and very, very clean. The staff at the hotel was more than accommodating and made you feel at home from the minute you walked into the hotel. Their complimentary wine and refreshments at the end of the day were a very nice touch. The Park Street T Station is located right next to the hotel and is a very convenient way to get around the places in the City you can't necessarily walk (we took it to the Museum of Fine Art and Fenway to catch a Red Sox game).

There is an excellent place next door called the Beantown Pub, which has a really nice atmosphere and good food (I recommend the Paul Revere sandwich)! KO Prime, which is located in the hotel, has a very nice and tasty breakfast menu at a reasonable price for hotel fare.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel to anyone. We LOVED Boston and are planning another trip up there soon, and will be sure to make the Nine Zero our hotel destination!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2010
Dear NoviceTrlvr,
We're so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us at the Nine Zero! It sounds like you really took advantage of our great location and explored Boston to the fullest. I'm glad you found the rooms spacious, comfortable and clean, and also that you enjoyed the evening wine reception. Thank you for sharing your review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I happened to mention in an email to the concierge before our trip that we were celebrating our anniversary - so I was looking for dinner recommendations.
1. I received an immediate email response with detailed information.
2. Upon checking in, the front desk wished me a happy anniversary and told me they were upgrading our room (to an upper floor with a great view!).
3. A few hours later, room service knocked on the door with champagne, strawberries and a lovely card.
So unexpected and so appreciated! The whole staff acted like they were there to do anything to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel is also in a perfect location, a block from Boston Common and 2 seperate T stations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2010
Dear Tobago0,
Thank you for sharing your special stay with us at the Nine Zero. I'm so glad to hear that our staff helped make the occasion so memorable! I hope we'll be welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I have stayed here every year for 3 years. It is my favorite hotel. The staff is beyond amazing and accommodating. Best Pet Policy ever!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

This was our first visit to Boston and the Nine Zero hotel was a brilliant find. The room was great - very comfortable bed and everything we could want provided, including ice just outside the door - and the location was ideal. Slight issue with payment for meals; they have a voucher system but no one explained this to us and, despite having paid for breakfast in advance as part of our booking, we found ourselves having to agree to pay again before they would give us anything to eat. The problem was soon sorted out at reception but, if it’s not mentioned to you, it’s worth remembering to ask about the vouchers when you check in.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#5 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.