We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising and Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Astoria, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprising and Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you walk into NineZero, you know something is definitely different. The quirky furniture, mood lighting, and lobby tell you that you are in for an experience.

The hotel that I had originally booked in Boston for business was overbooked, so I landed at Nine Zero and boy am I glad I did.

The staff is gracious and attentive, the Highball Lounge is a hipster heaven, and even the elevators are sexy. With only 11 rooms on my floor, the rooms were spacious and sexy. This is the best mini bar I have ever seen in my life, and upon check in I was reminded that I could raid $10 worth on the house. So that's what I did. Lounging on the ostrich throw on the bed in my zebra print robe I had a glass [bottle] of wine and enjoyed the beautiful silence.

Before leaving for work the next morning. I took advantage of the in room yoga and yoga mat to do a quick practice before leaving feeling rested, focused and rejuvenated. My only complaint is that I only had one night at Nine Zero.

Thanks for the hospitality and I can not wait to return!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Greetings Daniel M,

Well first, you need to come back soon, so you can experience more of our attentive service and enjoy all of our amenities. I’m glad you enjoyed the décor, our creatively stocked mini-bar, and your morning yoga work out.

We’ll see you soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    477
    101
    28
    19
See reviews for
307
792
115
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Enjoyed our 6 night stay here in early December with the entire family. I always look for a Kimpton hotel whenever I travel to the USA and as usual this one did not disappoint. The location is so good....close to the Common, where we got to see the Christmas Tree lighting and skated on Frog Pond. Easy walking distance to Boylston and Newbury St for shopping and close to the Theatre for the Nutcracker. Also very close to TD Garden and Faneuil Hall.
The hotel felt like a home away from home. Sitting in the lobby was like sitting at home with a few friends enjoying a glass of wine and cup of apple cider with brandy.
The room was on the smaller side, but we were 4ppl.
Perfect location when staying in Boston.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi purplecat22,

I won’t argue; our location is very central to many of the must see and do attractions in Boston. I’m glad we were able to create the comfortable and familiar feeling of hanging out with your friends in our very own living room. Four people for a week can make a lot of rooms feel cozy.

We look forward to you next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Thomas and his team make this a super welcoming hotel in Boston. They behave as though they really care about each guest's experience. The staff go out of their way to help out guests. Rooms are very comfortable and I always sleep well (despite the time zone challenges). The hotel is well located to enjoy everything Boston has to offer. Unusually for a hotel, great for business, couples and families all together!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Greetings ben259,

I’m glad you picked up on our vibe; yes we care! I was pleased to note your guest room presented you with a relaxing environment and that you were able to have a great night’s sleep even after all that travel.

We look forward to your next visit across the pond,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stay here regularly when I come to Boston on business from the UK, usually around once a month for three days. There are 20 hotels closer to the office but I keep coming back here. Why? Great rooms, fantastic styling, friendly and really helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi RibbitBoy,

I guess it’s not true what they say about location. I am thrilled you enjoy our guest rooms, the décor, and our accommodating staff.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in September and had a lovely large room but with views of a brick wall outside! Great location right opposite Boston Commons and we walked (about 45mins) to the Red Sox game we went to. Breakfast was lovely and staff were very accommodating and friendly when our room key cards decided not to work! The hotel is beautifully designed however my advice would be that there are possibly other hotels in Boston which offer similarly central locations and luxury interior but for better value for your buck!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello Emma M,

That’s quite a walk, but one I have done before to Fenway Park. It’s a great way to see the city. I’m glad you enjoyed the size of your guest room, but certainly understand that lovely red bricks are not your top choice for a view. I’m sorry your guest room keys decided to act up, but I was pleased to note our staff resolved the situation.

Opening day for the Red Sox is right around the corner so we hope to see you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed for 3 days over the Christmas Holiday. The Hotel was decked out for the holiday season. Very trendy. We loved the Happy Hour in the Lobby. Staff was extremely accommodating and very friendly. This is a pet friendly hotel and they went all out so your pet felt at home too. Great hotel and would definitely return again. Location was fantastic. We took a cab to the theatre to see the Nutcracker and it was terrific. Theatre was old world with so much history. Christmas Eve we went to the Italian section and had home cooking. The night before we ate at The Chart House. The hotel recommended it and we received a free appetizer and a dessert. Excellent meal and a wonderful historical restaurant. We loved our visit and look forwarded to returning again this summer.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi MariaandEd,

It sounds like you had a well planned out Christmas visit to Boston, so I look forward to welcoming you back this summer to find out what you have in store. I’m glad you enjoyed our evening wine reception as well as our central location.

We’ll see you soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed on business. Great find. Lovely staff, salubrious environment. Felt pampered! Will certainly return next time I'm in Boston. Right in the centre so very handy for shops, bars etc. only had breakfast but it was good.
Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi haywa_s,

I’m glad you had a chance to mix up your business with a little fun checking out the shops and restaurants in the area; so many to choose from. I was pleased to note our staff took great care of you.

We are ready for your return visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#5 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.