We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible holiday stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Incredible holiday stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for a brief New Years visit, and got an excellent rate via a Kimpton InTouch sale. So the value was as good as it gets, and the service was exceptional throughout, especially Megan at the front desk. Although we didn't get a corner room as requested, and the view was a bit obscured by the building nearby, the room itself was huge, comfortable, and mostly quiet.

We had an issue with obnoxiously loud guests next door at 1:30am (not New Years Eve, ironically) but I guess hotel staff took care of it after a call. Side note: It would be great if more guests knew how to close a door gently behind them, but maybe I'm old fashioned.

Breakfast in the Highball Lounge was quite good, and room service was very fast. Everything we could have asked for, or did, was taken care of, which is what I love about Kimpton properties. I would stay here again in a minute, and probably will on future trips to Boston.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hello hbxfactor,

Thanks for the shout out for Megan from the Front Desk. I’m sorry about the noisy neighbors but was pleased to note we handled the situation promptly. I am glad you had the opportunity to dine in our restaurant for breakfast, and that you enjoyed your room service experience.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    500
    106
    30
    19
See reviews for
332
841
119
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Nine Zero Hotel exceeded our expectations! This was our first time staying here and the moment we walked in, everything was delightful. After a 3 hour drive, I was handed a glass of wine from the evening wine hour that was being hosted. We were checked in by Megan who is the most delightful, warm and friendly front desk host i have ever met. She made sure everything was perfect! Megan had wonderful recommendations for restaurants and was a pleasure to do business with. Double Queen room with a view was spectacular. Highball lounge totally rocks whether you are looking for an intimate corner couch or some fun conversation at the bar. Highly recommend this perfectly located, upscale boutique hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Susanne P,

I was thrilled to note you received an outstanding welcome from Megan and our wine host. I am glad you enjoyed your accommodations and had a chance to check out the scene in our Highball Lounge.

We look forward to your next trek from Vermont,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed in a suite for a 2-night "staycation" in Boston. When I entered the 5th floor suite, I was surprised at how dark it was. There was one small window at the far end of the narrow living area, and no other windows in the entire suite. The separate bedroom, located down a dark corridor, was windowless. When I returned to the front desk to see if another suite was available, I was informed that all of the hotel's suites had windowless bedrooms, so we stayed put. The experience was similar to staying in a basement (a nice basement, but a basement nonetheless).

A few other issues added to our disappointment. The TV in the living room was quite small and perched uncomfortably high atop a piece of furniture. Many of the light switches on the walls did not function. Some of the lamps were finicky, requiring you to contort your hand underneath the narrow lampshade to find the switch. And the bathroom, while very nice, contained a shallow tub/shower combo which was disappointing for either function.

For visitors seeking a competitively priced alternative to the big chains, this hotel is fantastic. The staff is friendly and efficient, the decor is hip, and the wine reception and free coffee/tea are all great. The location is also excellent. But for those looking for a luxury stay, I'd suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi David_Boston_MA,

I’m sorry our suite didn’t measure up to your expectations, and that the light switches and lamps weren’t synchronized. I am pleased you enjoyed the décor of the suite, the amenities like our coffee and wine receptions, and of course the service provided by our staff. If you are looking for a spectacular view you may want to consider one of our Skyline View rooms on your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sde_03
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights this past December while on business in Boston. Room has every little convenience you could need, bed was extremely comfortable and staff anticipates your needs and are pleasant. Only drawback was valet parking took a REALLY long time to retrieve my car which made me late to a dinner appointment. If you need your car out of valet, call a hour ahead of time (I waited about 45 mins). That aside, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or to recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello sde_03,

I am glad you enjoyed all of the amenities our hotel has to offer and that you found our staff to be very accommodating. I am sorry we didn’t do a better job anticipating your need of having your vehicle brought up in time for your dinner. We’ll get it right next time.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We loved the Nine Zero Hotel. We are not people that require or want much attention...we don't expect to be fawned over....but the staff went out of their way to be warm and welcoming. Their attitude really stood out from many places we have stayed. The hotel was modern and immaculate....the room we had was large with a marble bathroom. Attention to detail was obvious in every department. The central location....was a real plus....We would stay here again !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello WestfieldJackieP,

I’m thrilled we made you feel super comfortable without overburdening you with our presence. I am glad you relished in our décor and ideal location with quick access to so much of Boston.

We look forward to your next visit,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

What a fantastic experience! We were greeted right when we pulled in! The suite we were staying in wasn't going to be ready for a while... so Anthony at the front desk (he has a little beard on his chin) saw that I was very anxious because I needed to decorate the suite for a party! He gracely volunteered to decorate with the help of a women who worked at the hotel. They did a FABULOUS job! We had a great time! The hotel was just awesome!!

Green Features: Love the water in the lobby! The only thing I would change is the the coffee bar should be in the lobby with some free muffins and pastry... Just saying it would be a nice touch!
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello mommacons,

I’m thrilled you received such amazing help from Anthony at the Front Desk with the decorating of your suite, and that you had a wonderful time.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very centrally located. Easy walking distance to Quincy Market, Gov't Center. T is 2 blocks away. Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Rooms are quiet and comfortable. No fan in the bathroom -odd. Breakfast restaurant in the hotel that is a fun bar at night. Surprised that the prices were si reasonable in such a great location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas F, General Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi TravelBug94705,

I’m glad you enjoyed our location, staff and comfort of your room. I was pleased to note you had the opportunity to go to our Highball Lounge for an evening of fun, and then back the next morning for breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.