We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look any further...this is the place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't look any further...this is the place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Okay, so I'm a little of a Kimpton junky. Their staff is always friendly and go out of their way to make your stay the best. I've never been to Boston before but this location was central to the entire city. I really was able to walk or take the T to everywhere I wanted to go. I know it sounds cheesy, but you really feel like your room is a second home. From the "Welcome Back" greeting every time you come in to the newspaper in the morning. Bottom line, I have stayed in Kimptons all over because I love them! And Nine Zero is no exception. LOVE THEM!

Room Tip: Join InTouch. It gives you some nice extra perks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Laura G -

We would be happy to make this your first home if you want!

Happy to help you get your fix.

Happy travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    446
    92
    27
    19
See reviews for
290
742
112
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito,CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The staff at the hotel could not be nicer. I want to particularly give kudos to Anthony at the front desk - so accomodating and genuinely warm. I got in early on Saturday and he checked to see what was ready - not much because it was so early, but he upgraded me to a room on the 14th overlooking the Common and the river. Fantastic. But all the staff were great.

You can hardly beat the location - close to the Back Bay and Newbury Street. The Common and Park are so lively during the day - Bostonians really use their park. i felt perfectly safe going for a run early Sunday morning.

I will return. Thanks for a memorable stay in Boston!

Room Tip: Ask for something overlooking the Common - if you don't mind that the view includes the cemetery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear RJN_7,

Bostonians really do try to squeeze 12 months of Common use into 9 months. Not to say it's not lovely blanketed in snow. Heck - they even re-purpose the frog pond into a great skating rink once the cold sets in.

I'm even told the Sons of Liberty actually planned the Tea Party while ice skating one wintry January morn. I believe it is a stop on the Freedom Trail which passes right in front of the hotel too.

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our time in Boston. The hotel is right in the thick of the major tourist attractions, about 3 minutes walk from the start of the Freedom Trail. The restuarant was being renovated while we were there but a continental breakfast is served on the 3rd floor instead for $12, which was decent value. The room was modern, clean and the bed was fairly comfy (matress perhaps a little tired but otherwise fine). Wifi is free and staff were very helpful in getting us a taxi to the airport and quickly sorting out issues with our in-room safe (which were user error!). We'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear p0psicleh,

Thank you for choosing Nine Zero on your recent holiday to Boston. You picked a lovely time to come. Of course we think it's always a lovely time to choose us - just some times are lovelier than others. While we're on lovely - renovations are complete and our lounge will be opening this week. Good to know for the next time you are back in town. We'll also make sure your mattress has a little more pep next time!

Safe travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great location a stone's throw away from Boston Common and the subway, with loads of choices for eating and a Starbucks just around the corner. Happy hour is a nice touch, as well as the fruit infused water in the lobby which we always had on arriving and leaving. Very comfortable stay, free wifi we are thankful for. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear chris_explorer -

Thank you for choosing Nine Zero on your recent trip to Boston. The bar and restaurant selection in the area is really exploding - including under our own roof with Highball Lounge - a vintage cocktail bar featuring our inhouse mixologist, Shaher Misif - which is due to open in November. And good news if you are looking for coffee but not feeling these brisk New England mornings - we feature Caffe Vita coffee every morning. Venti lattes, however are about a block away...in every direction.

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Nine-Zero for three nights. Arriving just after 6pm, we were checked in quickly and given a glass of wine - great touch. Originally, we booked a king premier room (which we stayed in the first night), but upgraded to a skyline view room for two nights - definitely worth it. Kimpton service was at its finest - we had tea sent to the room multiple nights to battle a cold, desk staff was exceptionally friendly and efficient, rooms were cleaned well during the day.

Hotel has an excellent location - we took the free bus from Logan airport and then walked from the station to the hotel. Cab ride back to the airport only ran us $20 with the toll. Easy access to Downtown, the Freedom trail, shopping is one street away, Chinatown is a five/ten minute walk, quick trip to North End or Fanueil Hall.

Would stay here again, would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Go for a skyline room or ask for a good view on the front side of the building. Front side is appare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Moritz0610,

You're a trooper! Battling a cold and you still managed to squeeze in a whirlwind stay of the city. We like to think as an urban hotel we have a view for everyone. Some of those are skylines. Some are of graveyards. Some are of locals - hard at work. And a couple are even of early 20th century urban architecture.

Thanks for staying with us and see you again soon.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry, NH
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The staff at the Nine Zero is fabulous. The free wine reception was a wonderful little treat. The location is fantastic - close to everything, easily walkable to a number of great areas such as quincy market, the north end and the commons. I loved the modern decorations throughout the hotel. When we arrived we were upgraded from a room with two doubles to a suite. This sounded good at the time, but we were three adults and the suite had only one bed with a pull out so one of us had to sleep on the pull out which was very uncomfortable. The suite itself was gorgeous - very well appointed. Other than the pull out, I really enoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear bridgetnh,

We don't like to think of it as tossing and turning on a sleeping sofa. We prefer "re-living one's youth". Sorry the suite wasn't so sweet this time. Next time we'll make sure your room's beds do NOT transform into other pieces of furniture. But we're happy everything else went so well.

Thank you for choosing Nine Zero.

Happy travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful weekend at the Kimpton Nine zero in Boston, great customer service, the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Great location within walking distance to the Boston commons and Quincy Market, I will definitely go back in a heart beat. and thank you Thomas lead concierge for the little treat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Cari0ki,

Thomas is always good for treats, great and small. Happy you were able to connect with him (and us). Our hearts are racing anticipating your return!

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.