We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Boston!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Long Grove, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Boston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Boston and we couldn't have chosen a better location for our stay. The Nine Zero is a boutique hotel located in downtown Boston. We were a block away from the start of the Freedom Trail and The "T" subway station. Fenway Park and Cambridge were just a subway ride away. The North End, Beacon Hill, Copley Square, Newbury Street were an easy walk. The eclectic decor of this hotel sets it apart from others. Our king premier room was very well appointed with a very comfortable bed, magnifying make-up mirror in bathroom, and plenty of outlets for a couple to manage getting ready at the same time. Housekeeping did an excellent job of keeping the room spotless with ample towels and amenities. Since it was my birthday weekend, I was treated to cupcakes and champagne. As a Kimpton In-Touch member, we also had access to free WiFi. Concierge service was very helpful and informative. The Nine Zero is a reasonably priced hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the larger premier room rather than the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Helene,

A happy belated birthday! I like to pretend everyday is my birthday and treat myself to cupcakes.

Walking to the places you mentioned is easy - walking back with all of the shopping bags is hard. Sounds like a fun weekend.

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    477
    101
    28
    19
See reviews for
307
792
115
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Chic and modern decor but not worth the price. Marble baths, very nice, but no towel bars and only one hook to hang everything on? Rooms are modish, contemporary, beds very comfortable with fresh white linens and a faux fur throw which smells of Fabreze. What's lurking in it? Lobby looks very chic in the photos but it's just one small room with threadbare purple velvet couches and faux leather (read: vinyl) chairs. No other spot in the hotel to gather! Restaurant under renovation so a continental breakfast with a paltry selection to choose from--$15!! Windows look out on an alley filled with trash cans and noisy trucks collecting it. Other hotels on the same block offer more for the same money. Tiny fitness room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Tsutziq,

The throws on our beds certainly stimulate a lot of dicussion between the lovers and the haters out there. If it swings any votes - they are regularly and routinely dry cleaned - so the only thing lurking out there might be "what are they?" Synthetic ostrich feathers of course! This place is a designer's dream fulfilled - with velvet, real leather, faux leather, eel skin, and others all featured throughout the hotel.

Also a dream fulfilled is our lounge that will be re-opening this fall. It's going to be a lot of fun.

Regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at the end of September. The location was perfect for sight seeing and our room was large and very nicely decorated. All staff we saw were extremely friendly and helpful. We were given complimentary continental breakfast with our package but I don't think we would have wanted to pay for it. Unfortunately the hotel is refurbishing its restaurant and so there appeared to be no food available anywhere other than a cold breakfast which was somewhat limited. There was tea and coffee available at breakfast and for part of the morning but it would have been nice if that could have been available all day. All in all a very nice hotel which will be great once the restaurant is up and running.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
SueC22,

The good news is that we always have hot food avaialble through our in-room dining department. The bad news is you already left. Sorry we did not communicate that more clearly to you while you were here. Thank you for the assurance that we will be returning to greatness once our lounge re-opens (which will definitely be this fall).

Take care,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Nine Zero Hotel is very convenient, quiet and comfortable. Close to many restaurants, train station and tourism! Great place to stay. Short walk to the North End and Back Bay area. Very Friendly staff! Really enjoyed staying here. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mr. beagle,

We enjoyed having you here...thanks for the recommend (and taking the time to post)!

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The nine zero hotel is a average hotel with a luxurius branding.
Rooms are areage size, but with some funny twists like a yoga mat in the room.
Average bathrooms and average food.
They host a wine reception in the lobby every evening and staff is quite welcoming and accomodating.
Given that it was quite good value for money and very central it offers a different experience than the undistinguishable "normal brands".
I stayed there for 8 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear E S,

Average feels like a four-letter word here but I know it's not intended to be. We want to be far from average - so you have certainly given us motivation to further distance ourselves from the "brands".

Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to provided us with your feedback.

Regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We picked this Kimpton hotel as we had stayed in one in D.C. and loved it. The Nine Zero had all of the nice Kimpton touches - wine hour, free wifi, cold water in the lobby and free coffee in the morning. It was also very well located, within walking distance of most Boston attractions. We booked through Amex and got a room upgrade to one with a city view. It was not huge but big enough for the 4 of us and the view was a nice plus.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A very cute boutique hotel. Nice central location to some good eats and sights. The rooms are an adequate size, but the walls are paper thin. I could hear my neighbor talking on her phone. That was disappointing.

It was clean and cozy otherwise. The service was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#5 Green Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.