We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenominal Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sale - 10% Off!
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Highlands Ranch
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Phenominal Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Incredible location, just steps from Boston Commons and the Freedom Trail. Large, modern rooms with views all the way around. Friendly staff and unbeatable location. I did not eat at the hotel, primarily b/c of its proximity to the best of Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for a view facing Boston Commons
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear tboz1976,

I am going to go out on a limb say you liked our location. Thank you for staying with us!

Take Care,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    541
    115
    30
    24
See reviews for
384
889
128
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

love visiting boston and have always had good stays with Kimpton - this was a totla disappointment - dirty room, bad service and cigar smoke wafting through the room all night - will not be a repeat performance here

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear frequenttravelusa,

It certainly sounds like your stay could have and should have gone better. I would love the opportunity to discuss the items you referenced in greater detail,particularly the service and room condition. My direct line is 617-772-5848 if you have the opportunity to call me. With regards to the cigar smoke, we are a 100% non-smoking building, and ask all of our guests to respect each other and their room by complying. There are measures that we have in place to further ensure that this smoking in the guest rooms is discouraged. On behalf of the cigar smoker, I do apologize for the impact they had on your stay.

Regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Nine Zero while attending a weekend family event in the Boston area. The Nine Zero is located in downtown Boston close to Boston Commons and is walking distance to the main train station as well as easily accessible to freeway entrances. The hotel is located within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. We choose the Nine Zero partly as result of being a Kimpton InTouch Loyalty Program member and partly because of the relatively good rate for a downtown Boston luxury property. I believe being a Loyalty Program member paid off as we were given a very nice room on the top floor. For a downtown Boston property, the room we were provided was more spacious than I had anticipated and more than adequate for a couples weekend stay.

I made good use of the hotel's fitness center. While I did not eat in the hotel's breakfast room, I did like the complimentary coffee set up on the second floor (although, I always prefer in room coffee makers which was not a feature here).

I certainly would recommend and return to the Nine Zero. The only drawback was the difficult valet parking setup as access was on a small narrow side street off of Tremont.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear TripTex,

Being a loyalty member always pays off. Even in ways you may not expect. Like we can add a coffeemaker to your pre-arrival request so you have one waiting for you in the room. The best of both worlds!

Safe travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Decided to explore Boston before a week of work in MA. Nine Zero was a perfect base to explore the city. A great selection of restaurants around. Two T stations nearby, and walking distance to the Boston Common is easy. We decided not to take up breakfast at the hotel, but explored Newbury Street instead - a short walk away. The room was neat, tidy but quite small. Good idea to try for an upgrade from the Deluxe room.

Room Tip: The Queen Deluxe is smallish for two to share. Rooms on the highest floors have a view of Boston I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Grant H.

Nine Zero: Exploration Station. That probably won't make it through marketing, but it is very true for all the reasons you listed above. The Queen Deluxe rooms probably have the largest variety in room size depending on where they are situated on the building, but for a view, I would defintely inquire at check-in about available upgrades if that is what you have booked.

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Nine Zero is a very smart joint, slap bang in the middle of Boston. There are several T stations nearby, Boston Common is a stone's throw away, Macy's is just around the corner, and the rest of the city centre is easily walkable. The hotel staff are friendly and efficient, the breakfast room is nice, and the room we had was large, stylish, well fitted-out, quiet, and had very comfortable beds. Highly recommended for a stay in this lovely city.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear jghastings,

Thank you for staying with us as well as taking the time to offer your feedback. Hopefully we'll see you again soon - maybe in warmer times.

Safe travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Nine zero has a lot going for it - just off Boston Common; a modern feel and excellent staff. In particular, the concierge, Andy, was very helpful both arranging things before arrival and once there. As others have said, the downside to the location is noise and no view in rooms lower down, but we were near the top of the hotel and there were no problems. If I had to say anything negative, the double queen rooms are a bit tight on space.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Dullardd,

Thank you for visiting us on your recent trip to Boston. We never say tight on space here...just "big on opportunities to get reacquainted with your roommates". In all seriousness - our hotel rooms are actually of above average size for a downtown property. The din near the ground floor actually is not too bad either as this part of Boston gets awfully quiet after 9pm due to the government and financial institutions surrounding us.

Hope to see you again soon,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

i on arrival paid cash and was regardsed as a drug dealer, the staff were looking at a customer as an inconvenience,i asked for room service for my shirts to be washed and ironed at 11.00 rmonday morning, by wednesday the had been no sign of room service for two days.i saw around 10 people staying this is why the is so few people,no service "don't give a dam staff"
i complained three times no one did anything. afhet i left and as british when i had arrived in london $100.00 had been deducted from my account,i complained by e mail,phone,here is the reply. phone "$100.00 is expences" what expences???
e mail here is your bill" i have the bill why did you charge me $100.00 ???
do not stay here

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear LondonTourman,

Please accept our deepest apologies for the quality of service you received during your stay. By your standards and ours, it fell far short of what we expect of ourselves. We work with our guests on payment options that run the whole gamut of possibilities and I assure you we do not judge a cash paying guest any differently than a guest paying with credit card. I am sorry that you felt you were receiving different treatment and a lower level of service because of that. I would be happy to speak with you personally regarding the other issues you mentioned. My direct line is 617-772-5848. I promise you that our entire staff gives a da[rn] and would love the opportunity to prove it on your next trip to Boston.

In Service,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
South Boston
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,031 reviews
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#36 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 5,005 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,724 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Boston Harbor
Hyatt Boston Harbor
#32 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#9 Green Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.