We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pot Pies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Chowda

Boston Chowda
Quincy Market Building, Market Place, Boston, MA 02109
(617) 742-4441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 2,670 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Chowder
Restaurant details
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Excellent Pot Pies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Loved the haddock pot pie - sumptuous! Since it was served in a bowl, it seemed like it might be a small portion but it was quite sufficient for a light dinner.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Awesome lobster bisque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

LOVED the lobster bisque bread bowl. Was worth the wait in line. Lively and friendly staff. Personally the best bisque in Faneuil Hall.

Would recommend for the bisque. Haven’t tried anything else there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Clam Chowda please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Okay, so everyone in Boston claims to have award-winning chower...this one, in the Quincy Market, gets my award! This was THE best chowder that I had over the 4-day Easter weekend, and I had a lot of chowder! The clams were abundant and sweet and juicy! If it weren't so filling, I would have had thirds!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Top Contributor
695 reviews 695 reviews
462 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Very Good Chowder, so-so lobster mac & cheese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Had New England clam chowder and lobster mac & cheese at this counter-store in Faneuil Hall. The clam chowder was creamy and good with a decent amount of clams. It is worth a try; I've had some better and a lot worse.

I was a bit disappointed in the lobster mac & cheese. It had a decent amount of lobster but was somewhat bland with to much filling - and not enough cheese for my taste. There are lots of other choices (see photos) and I'd certainly go back to try some other chowders next time I'm in Boston.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“mmmmmmmmmmm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

mmmmmmmmmmm

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Chowda also viewed

 

Been to Boston Chowda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Chowda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.