We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great buffet for a special day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freeport Tavern

Freeport Tavern
780 Morrissey Blvd, Boston, MA 02122
617-282-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #615 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A great buffet for a special day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We've been going to Phillips Old Colony House in Dorchetser for occasion buffets for years. They recently did it over and changed the name to Freeport Tavern. It is done quite nicely. Two large rooms, one with a circular buffet, and a separate bar. They also have rooms for weddings, showers, etc. They've added some nice touches, outdoor seating and open fire pits, there is also small fountain outside that has always been there. Plenty of parking. I've only been on Sundays for brunches or other occasions but I believe they have a sit down menu as well for lunch and dinner. I would recommend brunch reservations. We had reservations for late in the day 2:#0 but we still had to wait approx 20 mins. Price is as expected approx $20+ per person. Food includes omelets made to order in front of you, fresh carved roast beef and turkey, all things breakfast and a few entrees for lunch, breaded sole, chicken marsala. The desserts left a little to be desired. Tiramisu and Boston Cream Pie with a couple of other types of pies and brownies. Mixed drinks and juices are separate I believe. There are several local buffets you can go to. Another is Granite Links in Quincy (I've been for dinner but not the buffet) I've heard good things about that buffet as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    15
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omro
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL FOOD and SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My best friend and I took a long weekend trip and decided to go to Boston. The food was fantastic, the drinks were terrific!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First Time/Decent... week and a half/ Not So Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Week and a half ago we visited this restaurant because we stayed at the hotel close by before our flight out of the states. Food was pretty decent; Wife got a Chicken Ceaser Salad I got a hamburger. We also got the Scallops Wrapped in Bacon which were VERY GOOD!! Food was fine with the exception of my burger being a little pinker than I like (ordered medium came out medium rare). When we came back to the states, we ate here again because our car had been parked there for our trip. Ordered Scallops Wrapped in Bacon again. They came out dark brown and WAY over cooked and tasted burned. We told the waitress and all she said was " oh... I'm really sorry about that..." and walked off. Wife got the salad again and I tried the 3/4lbs of steak tips. Although the tips were VERY good, the portion seemed small.

Prices seemed high also... Clam Chowder (which was OK but over priced)... $8.00, Ceaser Salad... $12.00, Tips... $21 (over priced for what you get).

Might come back again, but only if we stay in same Hotel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Challeging for vegies but not impossible!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Quite a challenging menu for vegies in this very popular bar and restaurant. Good choice of beers on the board but sadly first two choices unavailable. However, the food and drinks were impeccably served by a very courteous waitress who was immediately on hand when needed. The food itself was good but the portion size was what we expected, huge and it looks like my wife and I will be sharing whilst in th US. Overall a great night was had with good food, live music and very friendly staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURTONSVILLE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Wow, just so much good food. It was the only good thing about my stay at this complex. Service was good, food was fresh. Many people working hard to make it so. Cook to order omelets and waffles!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freeport Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Freeport Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freeport Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.