We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“+ outstanding food, + friendly staff, - creepy neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecco

Ecco
107 Porter st, Boston, MA
617-561-1112
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ecco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #137 of 2,831 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Chelsea Street
Transit: Maverick T- Stop and Airport T- Stop on Blue Line
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“+ outstanding food, + friendly staff, - creepy neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Ecco is a real hidden gem in East Boston, an area you should make sure to head for by car or cab. The food is outstanding and the staff friendly and complaisant.

It is a nice place to celebrate a special occasion or meet friends and family here to grab some drinks or just enjoy the food. If available try their seafood platter that is excellent.

The only downside is the area where the restaurant is located. As said I do not recommend taking public transportation unless you travel in a larger group!

+ Outstanding food,
+ great wine and beer selection,
+ friendly staff,
- creepy neighborhood.

Average entree: $30, credit cards accepted.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ecco was recommended to us by our hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with the food. We went for a family meal and found the restaurant to be a bit dark, however it would be the perfect atmosphere for a romantic meal. The food was amazing! It is apparent that the chef puts a lot of care into creating a wonderful meal. Everyone loved their food. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Food, Near Embassy Suites - Logan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites - Logan. The concierge had recommended Ecco, as it was walking distance. It was a five block walk, a short trip. We were seated immediately. Nice ambiance. The wait staff was very pleasant. My other half ordered a Pinot Noir, and the bar tender followed the waiter; she explained that she had finished the bottle and was opening another when the waitress had taken it. It was a nice touch. It is a creative touch to serve the bread in a cigar box. The butter was excellent with a hint of garlic. The Lobster/Roasted Corn Chowder was excellent as was the flat bread pizza. The pork belly was delicious. The desserts are good. It sure beats room service...unless it is snowing. Worth a visit

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Embassy Suites near Boston Logan Airport while on vacation in Massachusetts. I was tired of trekking into the city center and wanted to eat somewhere close to the hotel. A quick yelp/urbanspoon search showed me Ecco, an Italian restaurant about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The sleek yet inviting atmosphere was second only to the wonderful service. The hostess was incredibly friendly and generous, even giving me a lovely cigar box they cleverly serve homemade bread in after she noticed me admiring it. The food was delicious and I enjoyed hearing the staff speak beautiful Italian to the family sharing a bottle of wine at the table next to mine. I had the lobster ravioli and it was truly divine, rivaling the Italian food I had on Hanover Street in the North End. If you are anywhere near the airport and want a delicious Italian meal or just a martini from their expansive bar, Ecco is your place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

For those staying at the Embassy Suites near the Boston airport it is absolutely worth the walk to ECCO. Just 6 minutes or so up the street lies a truly great dining experience.
For starters the Lobster Chowder was fantastic and they serve a generous portion that is off the charts!
Sarah, who served me, is an absolute delight and the entire staff works very well together.
Catch of the day was haddock with rice and veggies. Priced fairly and so tasty that I just cannot wait to go back.
Worth the trip to Boston in my view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecco also viewed

 

Been to Ecco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.