We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tons of beer, pretty good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yard House

Yard House
126 Brookline Ave, Boston, MA 02215
617-236-4083
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #331 of 2,881 Restaurants in Boston
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Tons of beer, pretty good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

First off, the beer selection at Yard House is fantastic. They don't have a ton of imported beers, but their selection is extensive and the restaurant is worth a visit for that alone. The food is pretty good for a beer hall. I think Yard House suffers from trying to do too much all at once (Asian, American, Italian, etc. etc.), but the appetizers are delicious. I'd recommend making a meal out of those- they are sized and priced accordingly. We shared truffle fries and the onion ring tower, and I made a meal out of the sweet BBQ Korean beef. All were great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    60
    24
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“So loud, slow service. Lots of great choices and food is delicious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Don't come here expecting a quiet dinner or even one at which you can hear your friends talk. You have to shout, and repeat, to be heard. The service was incredibly slow and we were trying to get to a movie. One of the people at our table waited until 5 minutes before the movie for his meal and the wait staff didn't even apologize. Then we waited and waited for our bill to come. They stacked up the plates at the table before we left which I really don't like.

On the plus side, there are great menu choices and everything we ate was really taste. The truffle fries are delicious, the ahi tuna sandwich, and the fresh guacamole and chips.

I prefer the Yard House at Legacy Place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi wellheeledboston - We are truly sorry to learn that service was so slow and nothing was done to make things right for you and your group. When time allows, please contact us at guestservices@yardhouse.com. We hope to hear from you soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food but too loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Yard House is a chain restaurant. The place was very nice with extra large booths. The food was very good. Everyone loved what they had.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Tasty food - Good time with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stopped in here late night with a group of friends. We got a large booth and miraculously stuffed all 8 of us in it. We all ordered different beers, two of our friends ordered a yard - entertaining to watch them try to drink it. I had the strawberry float (vanilla ice cream in Framboise) - it was delicious, but should have left it for the end of the meal, because it filled me up! Food was delicious, had the tuna burger and loved it. Can't wait to go back here -- the beer selection is phenomenal!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“great sports bar, lots of beers, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Dined here with 13 friends. Service was very good, lots of attention from Jenna. Our glasses were never empty for very long. Food was good pub grub.
The one beer I wanted to try was the only one they didn't have on that evening. Not a problem as there were me than 100 others to choose from.
Great place for after a baseball game at Fenway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yard House also viewed

 

Been to Yard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yard House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.