We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Save Saved
You added Charlesmark Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

In a good location, friendly staff, and nice rooms. Rooms were very clean comfortable. Perfect for travelers seeking some creature comforts without going overboard. Would definitely recommend to others looking to stay in Boston. Stayed for a couple of days and had no major dramas at all.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    274
    65
    30
    18
See reviews for
41
276
82
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, NJ
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Lots of complaints on this site about the size of the rooms. Definitely they are not large, but by European standards (Oslo, Paris, London, even NYC) they are similar unless you are going for the Ritz. The room is arranged very well and is a bit stylish with its grey and red color scheme. The location cannot be matched (unless you spring for the Copley or the Westin), services are nearby and transit is right in front of you. We did not notice any street noise. Choose an upper floor, facing the Boston Public Library. Breakfast is continental, which in the US means carb and sugar loaded, but the bagels are decent and the coffee is too. Someone mentioned this is not an appropriate venue for a business meeting for lack of size. Probably true, but it should not keep the rest of you from giving it a try.

Room Tip: Facing the library, upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

What do you expect at this price point? The location could not be better, and the rooms could not be much smaller. Still, this is a busy, fun place to stay, especially if you're planning on using your room only to sleep. I would not recommend the Charlesmark if you need to do a business meeting; your hotel room is out of the question, and the coffee bar is always busy (which is not necessarily a bad thing), but lacks privacy. Still, if you're just looking for a clean, affordable, sort of hip place to stay in the Back Bay, you can't do better than this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed in Charlesmark for 3 nights! As we are 2 college students we wanted something cheap and cheerful!! The Charlesmark was brilliant!! Had great location as you could walk or take the T anywhere in Boston!! Staff were friendly and helpful! Breakfast was included although it was small and basic it kept you going until lunch!! I would definitely stay here again!! :)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at the Charlesmark over the July fourth weekend. It’s a fairly average hotel with some location conveniences and definitely less expensive than some other hotels in the area. We would consider staying here again.
Pros:
Very clean room
Less expensive than neighboring hotels that were available
Free wifi
Back Bay area location
Very close to transit station and Back Bay Express bus stop
Two of the front desk staff were very helpful directing us to locations of interest
Small but friendly bar
Walking distance to Fenway
Cons:
We could plainly hear noise from neighboring rooms and especially from above. This includes the maids vacuuming which started about 8am
Very small room
No king size beds available (probably due to the small rooms)
One of the front desk staff lacked any ability in directing us to locations of interest

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was looking for a nice hotel within walking distance to most of the standard sites in Boston for the days leading up to July 4th with a budget of around $200/nite. No mean feat, especially when you've waited to less than a month before to book. I enjoy functional, contemporary design, and this hotel has it in spades. We were in the smallest room style they offer, and although we did have to keep things picked up in order to maintain functionality, we never felt cramped. Rooms were very clean, the funky hallways didn't bother me (and we were carrying two weeks worth of luggage), and, as the other reviews have explained, the location was awesome. The service was very good, providing restaurant recommendations we really enjoyed, and not batting an eye when we came in after the fireworks absolutely sopping wet. (The front desk immediately offering to bring up extra towels to our room.) I didn't feel the elevator speed was a problem (I took a guess that there really couldn't be more than about 40 rooms in the place), and yes, breakfast wasn't anything fancy, but as it was only advertised as continental, I wasn't expecting much. The TV sound being hooked into the stereo was odd, but just turn off the stereo and you can listen to the TV with normal sound. The only thing I felt could be done much better is getting rid of the bar and enlarging the main entrance/check-in area - it seemed we were always having to dodge others when entering/exiting the hotel, but, all in all, this was a very minor negative. If you're looking for the standard, US chain type hotel, this may not be for you, but if you're looking for character and style at a good price, consider the Charlesmark.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Charlesmark in June. The first night we were there the smoke detector started chirping in the middle of the night likely a low battery. Needless to say we were up all night. When we discussed this with the desk attendant and her with the manager we didn't receive as much as an I'm sorry. They said there's nothing they could do.

I will tell you that friends of ours stayed at the Seaport and had a similar issue and not only did management make a pointy of apologizing for the problem, they didn't charge them for the room the night of the incident, they were relocated to a suite at no additional charge and candies were provided the following night . I wasn't looking for any of this although a discount of some kind would have been appropriate.

In this particular case, an I'm sorry would have gone a long way.It's obvious to me that this hotel doesn't care about their patrons only the bottom line and for this reason I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. For the record, this is the only time I've ever complained on line about the service or lack there of I've received

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#47 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlesmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.