We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cool diggs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Charlesmark Hotel to your Saves list
Charlesmark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Salem, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super cool diggs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for his birthday.
It is the most adorable super cool hotel.
The service was outstanding and the lounge in the lobby was great fun too.
I recommend it to anyone wanting to stay right in the middle of Boston!

Check it out- support a small business and have a fabulous time!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    291
    67
    33
    18
See reviews for
42
301
87
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loch Ness
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Location is superb, and the cleanliness of the room faultless. Room a touch on the small side but no great problem as I was travelling alone. Breakfast rather a non-event. Bar downstairs is very good though, with a decent selection of beers - including the local Harpoon IPA which I strongly recommend. Food there is also very good. I'd give it 3 1/2 if I could - better than average, but not quite very good!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The location is great it is right in the center of Boston. The rooms are a bit small but if you won't be at the hotel a lot and you will be using your room only for sleep I believe it is a great option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here for three nights at the end of February. They offered a deal where a two night booking entitled you to the third night free. A very reasonable price for a great location. The hotel is small (perhaps 40 rooms) and is located immediately next to the finish line of the Boston Marathon. There are numerous stores and restaurants within easy walking distance and is located less than 50 yards from the subway station.
The room was small, but clean. They have free wireless as well as 2 desktop computers that are available for guests free usage. The front desk staff was pleasant and willing to answer questions about the area. The place is not fancy, but it perfectly suited my needs. Other than the faiilure to deliver a wake up call, I have no criticisms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our mattress and pillows were too soft which hurt our backs a lot (and not super pregnant-friendly for me). Fortunately, they agreed to give us extra pillows. Even if we are not picky on breakfast buffet, we would have prefered bread and cereals over bagels (w/ no toaster) and donuts. At least they offered fruits. The staff at the front desk was super friendly, the location was perfect but the room was not appropriated for light sleepers like us.

I recommend this hotel if you get a good price for it like we did (Book 2 nights, get 1 free), however, we will book a quieter spot for next time.

Room Tip: Our Queen room (401) was facing Boylston St. and was next to the elevator. We did not hear the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petach Tikva, israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Came to the hotel in cold cold Boston and got a warm welcome. The location is perfect with great access to public transport and the middle of Boston. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The included breakfast was more than enough to take you through half the day even without ordering more. The staff was as helpful as any I have come across. All in all, not a bad word to say about this small hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The CharlesMark is a fantastic boutique hotel with great room amenities and fantastic location. It has a European flavor with a comfortable bathroom and cute furnishings to optimize the space. Lovely bar with excellent cocktails has a menu for the next door Thai restaurant. Can't say enough good things. Very convenient access to the subway (Copley station is closest) and excellent restaurants on Boylston Street and surrounding neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#37 Family Hotel in Boston
#37 Business Hotel in Boston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlesmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.