We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights as tourists in downtown Boston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Charlesmark Hotel to your Saves list
Charlesmark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Taby, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Two nights as tourists in downtown Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

First time as tourist in Boston I picked out a downtown hotel with good rating from Tripadvisor. My wife and I arrived in a rental car and dumped our luggage in the lobby. We had to return our car. When returned to the hotel, the luggage was brought to our room which was very appreciated.
The room was newly refurbished and nicely decorated but the view from the only window was a backyard alley. Since we only was using the room for sleeping we did not bother about the view.With the AC control it was easy to set the temperature.
The bathroom was close to luxury class.
In the morning a continental breakfast was served with coffee/the, bagels and cream cheese or jelly - not very exciting.
On the whole the hotel served our purpose for two nights as tourists in Boston

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    291
    67
    33
    18
See reviews for
42
301
87
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hazlet New Jersey USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent three days at the Charlesmark in the beginning of July. It is located across the street from the Boston Library and adjacent to the Boston Marathon finishing line. The rooms are comfortable but extremely compact - just enough room for my wife and I but not much more. This was not a problem as we spent most of the day exploring the city, which we could do easily by walking from the hotel. Very reasonably priced for its superb location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for one night and took a room with a pull out couch as we were 3 people sharing a room and was told that was the only option. Upon arrival, everything seemed great except for the fact that the air conditioning of our room was not very effective. The front desk staff told us they would do something about it, but the attitude was so rude and non helpful that it just ruined the experience. They showed us another room as an option and as we were still thinking whether to move or not, the hotel guy said well that's your only option. It was the attitude of that person that just ruined the whole experience. He was totally non-helpful and not once were we offered the option of an upgrade or taking another room at maybe a discounted price. The pull out couch in the other room was broken, had a dirty old sheet on it, and my husband who slept on it got an insect bite, so that pretty much explains the hygiene levels. I am surprised that this hotel has a good rating on trip advisor, which was our main reason for booking the hotel. I shall never return to this hotel. And may I add, these guys at the front desk can surely do well with an etiquette class in hospitality. The hotel is nice but the attitude of the front desk left much to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Andrew made the most wonderful suggestions possible for things for us to see and do. He is a true asset to you hotel. We would have expected the service he gave us from a 5 star hotel. If you are comfortable with small rooms this place is the best you could ask for. When booking think cruise ship cabin.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect for us. Right next to Copley Square with easy access to transport and lots going on around. We couldn't have asked for a better location.

We were very impressed by the boutique style room and the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, the rooms were clean, quiet and spacious. The guys at the front desk were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble. The only thing that wasnt 100% perfect was breakfast. The breakfast was included in the price and consisted of fruit, doughnuts (2 choices), a variety of bagels and instant Oates. There was also tea and coffee and you could just help yourself. It was fine and tasted good, but did get a little boring as we were there for a few days, also it would have been good to have tongs to pick up the bagels and doughnuts. However I would defiantly recommend staying here and would do so again!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Boston from June 4th 2013, we had two rooms. All the staff were fantastic especially Andrew, Rachel and Ferguson. The main part of our trip was to go to Fenway Park being Boston fans to celebrate our 50th birthdays and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff to make our trip one to remember. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and the location was great. We were also lucky enough to get arms distance from Dustin Pedroia after a game which was a massive highlight of our trip. Boston is a beautiful city,so clean and we plan a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#37 Family Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlesmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.