We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs attention to detail and more customer responsive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Charlesmark Hotel to your Saves list
Charlesmark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Needs attention to detail and more customer responsive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I particularly asked for a quiet room, if that was it, I would hate to experience a noisy one! There is a constant hum from a fan (I think) in the back yard. Then occasionally about 2am a truck does some noisy work, just in case one had managed to fall asleep. Trash truck I assume.

Later response from Hotel said staff allocated wrong room!

The room was cold in winter, no extra bedding in the room The heater fan is way too loud to be left on. It was 24 degrees outside. So it's a case of either feeling cold with less noise, or noisy fan and warm, but little sleep.

There is NO chair! The wardrobe is fit for a single midget with no jacket.

This is the first hotel (from 1000's) not to have an international shaver socket. I was told to go out and buy an adapter - for a 3 night stay!

The heating duct is at ceiling level, how crazy is that? heat rises!

There was no coffee in the lounge once breakfast had finished.

Room tv, it works fine except it is impossible to use the remote from bed level as the receiver is high up and tucked at the rear on a short cable.

Management, I am assured, are addressinbg some of these issues. I remain unconvinced.

Would I stay again or recommend it? Only for it's location.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room, in advance or visit. Management tell me that he would have not have chosen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    291
    69
    33
    18
See reviews for
42
302
88
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

So I used to live in Boston. So I know the city and I have stayed in many great hotels in the city - but the prices have gotten a little out of hand as demand increases. Where should you go when you just want a clean room, comfortable bed and a hot shower in the morning to get your day started right? Look no further. Of course this review comes with some reservations - because it might just get too busy - and their rates will go up. And that would suck for me. But for now - it has it all. Clean, great location, and friendly staff. Throw in a basic breakfast and just down the block from starbucks - and you will not be disappointed! But remember - this is a classic city hotel with European sized rooms! And let's not forget the hip bar in the evenings and they even have food! Great place - check it out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, TX
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was here for three days on business. The room is small, but clean and new-looking. Nicely appointed. Great staff. Nice (but small) bar. A few hundred yards from the subway (I had six meetings and never had to take a cab). Negatives: the front desk is easily overwhelmed so check-in was friendly, but slow. Housekeeping just emptied my trash and quickly made the bed - left a used washcloth in the shower, some obvious trash on the bathroom counter, it was a fast and sloppy cleanup job. I don't consider the road noise a big negative since you're going to get that anywhere you are on a low floor facing the street, and they do offer quieter rooms on request. One of the best hotels you will find at this price point. I will likely be back.

Room Tip: Don't like road noice? Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel! Perfect location if you are exploring Boston on foot. We came in by train - literally a five minute walk to the hotel. Two minutes from the Copley "T" - we used the subway to get to Fenway Park and Harvard - easy!! Hotel directly opposite the Public Library and a couple of doors from The old South Church. Endless dining and shopping options along Boylston St and nearby Newbury St. We even walked to the Freedom Trail from this hotel!!
Great service, great room, comfy bed, attention to detail unmatched ( air freshener in bathroom ) Onsite bar and restaurant. Good meal options for breakfast ( but lacking a toaster for those yummy bagels).
Highly recommend this hotel for visitors to Boston!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice bathrooms, in the best location right across from the Boston Public Library and next to the Old South Church. Has a little bar/restaurant downstairs in case you don't want to leave the hotel in the evening but plenty of other restaurants in walking distance. The bed was comfortable. As it was winter, we didn't stay out too late in the bitter February cold so the fact that there was a little loveseat couch in the room was a nice touch. The hotel staff was very helpful. Breakfast was nice, not too elaborate but more than adequate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Loved it here. The staff were really friendly especially the bar staff - really informative & happy to give directsion/recommendations for places/restaurants to try, etc.
So close to Newbury st & Prudential for shopping (good shopping)!
I would recommend to anyone!
The restaurants close by are a little touristy & arent great for the price, but head to the South end of Tremont st for great bars - & also get to Shawmut st - the southend buttery is a must for great food!
Only down side to this hotel - no safe in the rooms... I def think this is a must for all hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in Feb. Location is great by Copley Square and adjacent to Newbury Street shopping. It's also easy to get to from the airport via a shuttle bus to the T blue line (underground) which has a station 200 yards away from the hotel all for a cost of $2.50. The reception staff were helpful and we purchased trolley tour tickets for about $37 each which we could use for up to a week, these were really informative with really friendly tour guides and you also got free admission into the Boston Tea Party Museum. Don't expect too much from a continental breakfast but there are plenty of other places to eat In the area (Atlantic Fish is down the road and recommended for dinner). The hotel room was nice but the bed was very small for 2 people but manageable, would recommend hotel nevertheless.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#37 Family Hotel in Boston
#37 Business Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlesmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.