We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Convenient, excellent Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Save Saved
You added Charlesmark Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charlesmark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 77 hotels in Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly, Convenient, excellent Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Charlesmark in Boston's Back Bay, convenient for museums, libraries, the Copley/Green line stop on the MTA, and shopping. My room was a double bed 'room with a view' over the rooftops in the rear of the building, comfortable for one, possibly cramped for a couple. The bathroom is nicely decorated, great water pressure, limited shelf/counter space. With winter coats it wold be helpful to have more hooks to hang clothing and wet coats. The platform bed was very comfortable, with large storage drawers underneath. The continental breakfast was plenty to start the day, I would have preferred stronger coffee. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, they apologized in advance for potential noise from an evening wine tasting....which I couldn't head once the elevator doors closed. Being busy out of the hotel all day I found the Charlesmark filled all my needs, and was comfortable and very friendly.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    270
    63
    30
    18
See reviews for
38
263
77
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Charlemark Hotel is very close to the T, across the road. A quick walk to the Hynes Convention Centre for a conference. The room was clean and comfortable directly opposite the Boston Library. The staff were friendly and the price was great compared to the conference hotels as it included hi speed internet, a simple breakfast (24 hour coffee) including free use of the printer in the business centre. Overall we will return to this hotel in the future, we have stayed at a number of hotels in Boston and this one come out on top.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So.Cal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I truly enjoyed my stay here in October. I had a queen size room and was glad I had it. Bed was very comfortable. My room was on the 2nd floor, overlooking the Public Library and the Boston Marathon Finish Line. I did not notice any noise. Possibly in the warmer months when the outdoor cafe would be open then that would be an issue.

The front desk staff was truly amazing. They gave us restaurant suggestions (all were good) and then were interested in knowing how we found the places. The hotel is on the same block as the Old South Church. One afternoon in the park kitty corner from the church there was a farmer's market going one.

We were busy sightseeing during the day and still have places left to see.

The continental breakfast was really basic. The last day we had breakfast at a hotel restaurant down the street they suggested.

I would certainly returm here and would also consider trying their sister hotel by the water.

Room Tip: Go for the queen size room. It has a love seat in it and also a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

When we go to Boston for an overnight, we stay at either the Charlesmark or its sister hotel the Harborside Inn, depending on what we're doing. The Charlesmark is steps away from the Copley T/Green Line and easy walking distance to the Prudential Center, Huntington Theater, Calderwood Pavilion, the Boston Symphony and the Museum of Fine Arts. We're not shoppers, but enjoy window-shopping the galleries and boutiques along nearby Newbury Street. Over Thanksgiving we paid just $119 for a queen-size room. Clean, comfortable. AND a continental breakfast! (choice of instant oatmeal, bagels, bananas, oranges, apples, donuts, coffee/tea). Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking Boylston - can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Lovely independent hotel in the Back Bay area of the city. Conveniently located to reach all areas of the city easily.
We had a very comfortable room on the top floor overlooking Boylston Street. The room was a little noisy but you are warned about this in the hotel blurb. It didn't bother us but take ear plugs if you are worried.
The staff could not have been more helpful and all our requests were met immediately.
The breakfast is pretty basic but enough to get you on your way in the morning, in addition there is complimentary coffee at all times.
Hotel also houses a smallish, but lively cocktail bar frequented by both locals and visitors.
If you want a great hotel near the centre at a reasonable cost; this is for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I and another coulple spent 3 nights at the Chariesmark Hotel and loved it.
The location is very close to the action, across the road from the State Library, Copley Square and the finishing line of the Boston marathon is at the front of the hotel.
It is only a short walk to many restaurants, shops, cafes, bars and sights of Boston.
Reception: staff were extremely friendly and helpfull, giving us great ideas on restaurants and bars in the area.
Rooms: the rooms are small but well designed and compact with very tasteful decor.
The rooms had free Wi Fi which worked well, fridge,TV, ironing board, no safe, and a very small amount of hanging space. Also a great sound system.
The beds and pillows were comfortable and the street noise did not worry us and we are light sleepers, but I would request a room on the upper levels with views of the library.
Bathroom: small and clean with only a few toiletries, shower has good water pressure.
Breakfast: very average tea/coffee, OJ, basic fruit, bagels,jam,butter, cream cheese and instant porridge, all served on paper cups, plates and plastic utensils. Go else where like the Wired Puppy on Newbury St for great coffee and a fresh muffin.
Bar: the Charlesmark has a very nice bright bar area with very friendly service and reasonable prices, open until 1am.
All in all the Charlesmark Hotel was a lovey place to stay when in Boston and we would highly recommend that you stay here, but skip the breakfast.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper levels as they are quieter with street views, rooms at the back of hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I'm developing a love affair with independent hotels. This is a small, independent property in the Back Bay area only a block away from the convention center hotels charging a heck of a lot more. We arrived way early but they had a room available and checked us in at 11:00 AM! Rooms are smallish but this is a big city, so what else is new? They must use a hiring profile that emphasizes youth and enthusiasm because everyone we encountered from check in to check out was young, positive, competent and engaged.

Room Tip: the street rooms look out on the Boston Marathon finish line!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#46 Family Hotel in Boston
#51 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlesmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.