We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming boutique with fantastic service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlesmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Charlesmark Hotel to your Saves list
Charlesmark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 77 Hotels in Boston
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A charming boutique with fantastic service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I first stayed here when the hotel originally opened and only just returned after years. This return would have been sooner, but others have obviously found this little treasure as it is frequently booked solid.

The rooms are designed with a modern style and have comfortable beds. The negatives? The closet space is not designed for women's business dresses, but luckily the hotel was accommodating and provided me with extra hanger and I just hung them up on the coat hooks. The wifi is pretty good speed, so no complaints there. I did wish that they had a small table that I could use to place my coffee on or my computer to work on. But, I survived without it, so it wasn't a big deal.

The one thing I will rave about is the service. The personnel is very nice and very helpful - I really can't say enough at the quality of service at this hotel. The location is great and overall, a wonderful place to stay in Boston!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    303
    71
    34
    18
See reviews for
44
307
95
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great room with the added bonus of a couch. Great location, staff friendly and full of helpful hints on how to get around. Breakfast was of bagels / oatmeal and coffee was basic, but hit the spot. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRo70
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Charlesmark Hotel is in a prime location in Boston's Back Bay, in the heart of a fancy shopping district. I came prepared for the small rooms, and they were small. Mine didn't even have a desk, and the bed took up most of the space. But the quality of the furnishings and the room's design was excellent. The staff was very helpful and friendly; for instance, they checked me in rather early. I wouldn't come to the hotel for the breakfasts; they were below average: bad bagels, bad donuts, etc. Better to just go to one of the restaurants nearby (I wasn't a big fan of the Thai restaurant next door, fwiw). But if you're looking for a hotel in Back Bay, I'd seriously consider The Charlesmark.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Centrally located, comfortable bed, good pillows, soft sheets, great shower. Very accommodating staff, good vibe, and a nice value for a city stay. Basic coffee and bagels for breakfast, simply done, but good.

Room Tip: Great views of the Boston Public Library out of the front rooms probably worth the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shokan, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Lovely central place to stay; convenient for the T and everything in the Back Bay. Simple continental breakfast; great martini bar. Only gripe - very little hanging closet space and no desk. But clean, modern, small rooms with a comfortable bed and good pillows.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent one night at the Charlesmark. The location is great, one block from a subway station, but ideal for walking in this most historic of American cities. The staff was very professional and helpful. This is not a $400 a night hotel with all the amenities and multiple doormen and concierges, but the staff is very knowledgable about restaurants, airport directions, etc. They are friendly, informal, and treat you as a valued customer. There is a printer available, not simply computers. Wi-fi works well. Many restaurants in all price ranges in the immediate Back Bay neighborhood. Limited room service is provided by an adjacent Thai restaurant, though we did not try it. The rooms are small, mostly with no view, but the price is right folks! If you are driving, factor in approx. $30 additional for parking about 4 blocks away; you can pull up and unload at the hotel. We found this not to be a problem, but if you have mobility issues it could be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines, AK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed one night at the Charlesmark, which is located in the heart of the activity of Boston. Very close to the T, and surrounded by dining and shopping, and the ritzy Newberry Street. Close to Boston Common as well.

The room was very nicely appointed and comfortable, albeit somewhat small. I had a view of the alley behind the hotel, but I guess someone has to have that view. The hallways to my room were very narrow, making it difficult for me to pull my two pieces of luggage easily.

I found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlesmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesmark Hotel

Address: 655 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#42 Family Hotel in Boston
#46 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European styled boutique Hotel set in former private residence dating from 1892; situated in the Back Bay neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Charlesmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesmark Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlesmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.