We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT as bad as people say! Take it from a local.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn - Boston to your Saves list
Comfort Inn - Boston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Morrissey Boulevard, Boston, MA 02122 (Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #69 of 77 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“NOT as bad as people say! Take it from a local.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Had to stay here two weeks ago for a night because the heat in my condo went out. I live about two miles away from this property, but honestly never even acknowledged it existed despite driving by near daily! It's tucked a bit back off the road, on a curve, so it's easy to miss.

FIRST off: Location. It is in the city of Boston proper, in the Dorchester section of the city. Dorchester is a working class area with a very diverse population; parts of Dorchester are undergoing serious gentrification and you can find some stunning renovated Victorians not too far from this Comfort Inn. The property is just South of downtown via I-93. It is on a major roadway, Morrissey Blvd, in a business district with some run down houses near by. This does NOT equal unsafe. It is not a fabulous place to stay if you want scenery or quaintness. Frankly, the curb appeal is awful. BUT, it is convenient to both the Interstate and public transportation -- not to mention Lambert's grocery, Dunkin Donuts, and numerous convenience stores. Lock your vehicle, yes. It's a major city, but among the safest of all major cities -- why WOULDN'T you lock your vehicle if there were valuables in it anyhow? I am at odds as to why someone would lower their rating of a property because of this.

The hotel is typical Comfort Inn -- appears to be renovated within the last 5 years. My top-floor room was immaculately clean, and had a sofa and wing chair in addition to the adequately comfy queen bed. The bed was no Westin Heavenly Bed, but it was better than the one in my home. Flat-screen LCD TV had all the usual channels, and there was a micro-fridge in the room. The breakfast was in the top half of complimentary hotel breakfasts I've had. Be sure to request a room on the FRONT side of the building. Otherwise, you may hear the rumble of the Red Line subway near the rear of the hotel. The Red Line stops running at about 12:45AM and resumes service around 5AM, FYI, so you won't have any noise issues in the rear of the hotel during the middle of the night.

Overall value for this Comfort Inn is an A+. Decent room, good location, convenient and good service for just over $100 a night in Boston? That is almost unheard of. I would recommend this place for budget-conscious travelers who are realistic in their expectations. It would be good for families visiting Boston universities, utilizing Boston-area hospitals, any people not afraid to use public transportation, and road-trippers looking for an overnight stopover. If you want a resort experience, look into the Seaport Hotel in the Seaport district and be prepared to pay $300 per night, $20pp for breakfast and $30 a night for parking.

Room Tip: Request a room in the front of the hotel to avoid possible subway rumble. The MBTA Red Line tracks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    90
    84
    34
    27
See reviews for
67
89
16
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

we spent a night in boston recently and after researching alot of hotels in boston i realized that prices were steep right downtown and i didn't want to chance priceline. i decided on this hotel which is 7 miles south of boston right off the interstate. it was clean, had restaurant, chocolate factory, supermarket all next door. the best part was that it ran a shuttle every half hour till 11pm to get you to the closest T station. (jfk u/mass). there was a continental breakfast and 24 hour coffee and the staff were friendly. also a business computer in the lobby if needed. free wireless in the room and also a mini fridge and microwave too... we paid $128 including taxes which i think was very good value for boston.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I booked this hotel because I wanted to stay near Boston proper but save some money as well. This hotel was a pleasant surprise! Although the location was not in an "ideal" location, my daughter and I were pleasantly surprised by what this hotel had to offer.
With traffic backed up on I-93 Northbound, I did not know how to return to Boston. The hotel receptionist on duty at the time recommended that we take the "T". This hotel provides a free shuttle every hour and half hour to the JFK/UMass station [Red Line] from 6am until 11pm, and parking our car was free. From the station, we picked up a "Charlie Card," activated it with a credit card, and had an easy time of traveling to and from Boston. We did have to wait for the shuttle to return to the hote,l but it was worth the time and parking fee that we would have had to pay had we driven the car.
There was also a Dunkin Donuts within easy walking distance of the hotel as well as a very nice restaurant, Freeport Tavern. There is a candy shop that was even closer.
We were also able to make a reservation for the airport shuttle even though we had checked out in the morning. So this was an unexpected surprise.
The room itself was clean and everything worked properly. The pillows were great, 4 to each double bed, and the bed itself was pretty comfortable.
The location of the hotel is not in a very nice area, but we did feel safe walking to the restaurant in the early evening and to Dunkin Donuts in the morning. Breakfast was OK except for the crowd of people from the bus tour that had stayed in the hotel. We managed to put a plate together and eat in our room. There was a decent selection of breakfast items including cold/hot cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, waffles and pastries, but the scrambled eggs were not very appetizing.
I would stay in this hotel again if we visit Boston again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I made a lot of calls before our cruise out of Boston and every hotel we called was much more expensive and did not have shuttle service. We caught the shuttle at the airport and had a pleasant trip with a very friendly driver. He gave us lots of information about which train to catch for all areas of Boston. We were close to a number of restaurants and a grocery store across the street. We walked to a very nice market where we got some delicious clam chowder & salad. (Wish I could remember the name - Lambert's ?). We had been concerned about the area of town since we didn't know anything about Boston but we were pleased with the neighborhood. The next morning we took the shuttle to the Port of Boston and our cruise to Canada. This hotel was a good start to a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We booked this hotel on an online bidding website and won a night for 95 dollars before tax. For Boston, this is a bargain. However, the hotel had some issues that would make me wish I were elsewhere for any stay longer than one night.
We were given a room across from the elevator and in the back of the property literally feet from the train tracks. I could hear the elevator ringing all night long and about 6am the train running every few minutes.
The bed which was supposed to be a double was tiny, as was the bathroom. The room was spotless so that made up for some of its shortcomings.
We did not use the shuttle or have the complimentary breakfast.
I would definitely recommend looking up the directions for getting to the hotel. It is not visible from the interstate and required a phone call to the hotel, several U turns and getting lost in the process.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We booked this hotel for three nights. Everything seemed fine in the reception area, but on getting to our room the doors were very loose in the frames, so it was hit or miss whether your room card worked or not. Room was basic standard room, unfortunately what wasn`t mentioned in the brochure was a busy train line only a few yards behind the hotel. Trains every other minute. The service door which the staff used, was below our room and it was contantly banged. Also when other guests left their rooms, there was banging of doors which rattled ours. The second morning we had no water due to a burst water pipe so all we were given for the day was a small bottle of water. The breakfast area was much too small to cater for all the guests. The only good thing I can say is that it was free parking. Would not recommend staying longer than one night, and only if you are hard of hearing or deaf.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

ALl hotels in Boston are expensive because of the taxes on top but 130 bucks for a room where the carpet had seen better days and the plugs were all naked with wires hanging is still too expensive. The breakfast is alright and complimentary, the receptionists are not too unfriendly. THe complimentary "High Speed" internet is slower than using a 56K modem. If you drive, I guess it's good to have a free car park with a shuttle to the nearest T station just 4 stops from downtown Boston or if not one to the airport.

Room Tip: Shuttle is convenient but don't expect a clean and modern hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn - Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Boston

Address: 900 Morrissey Boulevard, Boston, MA 02122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn - Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn - Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn - Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.