We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   891 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02118 (Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #65 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Oreland, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Older site, in commercial section of Boston, interesting "round construction" with corresponding internal match. Parking limited to small number of spaces surrounding hotel with 2 handicapped spaces available, additional parking across back street in lot, ( I would not leave anything in the car). Room, (king suite) was clean, comfortable, if a bit small. A plus would be a hotel shuttle to and from various locations around Boston, also quite close to the Black Falcon cruise terminal. Thelma, at the desk was very helpful to us as we asked our questions

Room Tip: try to stay away from the corner of the hotel next to the gas station, for less noise, day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, AGM at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi There Traveler,

I appreciate that you took time out of your day to stop by our page and review your experience at our hotel. I'm glad you were able to partake in our limited but free parking and that your room was prepared to your expectations. I'll be sure to share your compliments with Thelma, thank you for you review!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    291
    120
    67
    33
See reviews for
243
170
15
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashton, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our room was very nice and clean. However, it was across from Boston Medical center so I heard ambulances all night. The hotel was pretty full so couldn't change rooms and we didn't have time because we had graduation events to attend. we had to leave early in the am and came back late.

The continental breakfast was more than we expected. It was actually a full breakfast with eggs, waffles, fruit, etc.

Room Tip: stay on the side away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, AGM at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello Traveler,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share a few remarks about your stay at our hotel. I am glad you were able to enjoy our breakfast and that your room was expertly prepared for you! We will be renovating later this year and would love for you to keep in touch so that we may invite you back to experience the changes!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is not bad for a quick visit. Neighborhood is tough and there's nothing good at walk in distance. Not very centralized but staff was friendly and accommodating and place was clean. For the price it served the purpose. Got to take under consideration PAX is a very large convention so having the shuttle was a plus. Breakfast could be a bit more appealing.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, AGM at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for stopping by our page and reviewing your stay at our hotel. I am glad you were able to take in the various amenities offered by the hotel (free breakfast and complimentary shuttle). We hope to at least see you again at next years PAX conference!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fork, of LI
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Let me state off the top that we weekend in Boston on a regular basis, and 90% of time we take the train and stay in the HUB center. There are a few times when we opt to drive to Boston and this is where the BW Roundhouse fits the bill. This hotel is located right off of Route 93, and because it is located a bit out of the way, this hotels offers free onsite self parking. You also can come and go with your car as you wish. I bring this up as free parking and unlimited in/out parking is not an easy thing to find in Boston.

The hotel itself is a good basic hotel with some nice features like 24/7 coffee and juice in the lobby, and an above average free breakfast served every morning. The staff could not have been nicer, and I saw several times the staff being challenged by high maintenance guests, (if you are that demanding, stay at the Taj next time). We had an issue with the TV, and it was addressed in no time.

The hotel also provides a shuttle to the convention centers and to the Red Line subway, but you are only a 3 block walk to the Silver Line at the corner of Mass Avenue and Washington Streets.
The hotel sits in an industrial area across from Boston Medical Center a hospital that serves a wide demographic including those in need of social services, you'll see some characters about, but I have never had an issue. Speaking of across the street, there is a great car wash, Bubbles, if you do drive in, treat your car to a full detailing.

Ken

Room Tip: Rooms on the southern side of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, AGM at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hey Ken,

Good sir, you are a fashionable wordsmith and I deeply cherish your extensive, well thought out review. We will be renovating the hotel later this year and would love to invite you back to take in the luminescence our renovation is sure to bring.

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Pros: Close to airport, fairly clean, quiet and comfortable, good breakfast, shuttle service is useful, close enough to downtown, shuttle service works in a 2 mile radius, which covers many attractions, and if it doesn't go to them directly will take you to public transportation to your destination; Airport shuttles pick up and drop off at the hotel; If you are attending a conference at the Hynes Convention center, this hotel with the shuttle service is convenient. Cons: shuttle service can be erratic, front desk not always helpful with arranging shuttle service or specific requests like wake up calls; some distance from good restaurants and shopping. Overall: Fair value for money as compared to other bigger hotels

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, AGM at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hello Traveler,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to review your experience here at the hotel. I appreciate your comments about the shuttle and front desk, I have shared your comments with their managers and reviews like yours help us find the cracks in service. We will be renovating the hotel this year and would love to have you back once our facelift is complete.

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had a very unique experience staying at the Roundhouse property. Free parking was an added bonus. Breakfast was great too. The shuttle staff were great! What a wonderful service as we'll. Fenway Park is also very close?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, AGM at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Colleen,

Thank you for your review! I am glad to see the shuttle staff were so supportive and that your breakfast experience enhanced your stay. We'd love to have you back, soon!

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Yikes!! Where do I even begin.. Awful location, zero view outside the room.. No cleanliness whatsoever.. Filthy bed linens and window curtains.. Substandard washroom.. Washbasin/ bathroom sink outside the washroom??
Only good about the hotel was the staff.. Friendly and helpful.. Thank god for them we didn't spend even one night there.. I couldn't bring myself to even rest on the couch or bed for a couple of minutes.. Everything was so filthy and dirty..

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, AGM at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Traveler,

It's always frustrating when your expectations aren't met. In the future you should always ask for a manager or have an employee venture with you to your room to discuss and more importantly document the way you found your room. We strive to exceed your expectations here but we cannot know that you are unhappy unless you inform us.

John W
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Address: 891 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Hotel Boston
Best Western Roundhouse Hotel
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.