We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy road allround the roundhouse, trucks enter 24/7 yard next door, avoid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   891 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02118 (Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #61 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Out Islands
Top Contributor
651 reviews 651 reviews
185 hotel reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
485 helpful votes 485 helpful votes
“Noisy road allround the roundhouse, trucks enter 24/7 yard next door, avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Service was nice at the4 frontdesk but pretty incompentent.
worst was the constant noise level, it appears to be a truck repair shop next door, that operates 24h all day long, at least we heard them come in and out at 3 am and it never stopped.

Location is good albeit not within walking distance to center

prices appear all over the place, so try to get a steal and check websites

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites for your recent visit to Boston. I also wanted to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. We take a pride in providing most friendly and superior service to our guests so they come back and recommend us to others. We're truly sorry to hear you did not have a good stay with us due to the outside noise and incompentent front desk service. Due to our city location, some of the outside noise is beyond our control but we will certainly look into it and put in most effort to improve it so we could make it for our future guests.

Your review will only help us improve our service overall so thank you once again. When the future trips bring you back to Boston again, please contact me personally so we could pre block you in a right room. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Sandip Bhojani
Operations Manager
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites
891 Massachusetts Avenue,
Boston, MA 02118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    317
    130
    71
    35
See reviews for
265
184
17
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My room was clean and comfortable and provided what I needed -- a shower, a good sleep, and a quiet place to work. Although the look and feel of the hotel's location aren't spectacular, it was still conveniently located, relatively safe, and really didn't bother me. I wasn't there for the views! While most everything was very good, especially for the affordable price, the staff's service and the hotel amenities were fantastic. I interacted with various people before, during, and after my stay -- from reception (Daniela), housekeeping, and shuttle drivers -- they were all responsive, friendly, helpful and very efficient. The shuttle was very convenient and the complimentary breakfast offered wide and diverse options. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites for your recent visit to Boston. I also wanted to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to provide your positive feedback to us. We take a pride in providing most friendly and superior service to our guests so they come back and recommend us to others. We're thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us. The Management constantly spends a lot of time, money and effort with the staff to improve our services and we're truly happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your review has been shared with the staff and it will motivate us to make it even better. We truly hope, each and every one of our guests have as memorable experience as you did. When the future trips bring you to Boston again, please come back and stay with us. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Sandip Bhojani
Operations Manager
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites
891 Massachusetts Avenue,
Boston, MA 02118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This Boston hotel was the most affordable and the closest proximity to the city that I could find, and I really searched. For the price, it's good. For the location, it's average. The room was spacious, and housed 4 adults and a baby just fine thanks to the two double beds, a large vanity area outside the bathroom, and a sitting area with a sleeper sofa and overstuffed chair. Good open layout. Plenty of outlets for charging electronics, which came in handy thanks to the 4 iPhones and 3 laptops we had in our group. The interior is clean, but looks older. Somewhat noisy location since it's right on a busy street, across from a large hospital, and a (very cool looking) historic building that may not have the newest insulation. We had a room facing the street, so I think a room on the side or back would be much better. Still, we slept just fine with a set of earplugs.

There is a gas station next door for snacks or bottled drinks, a few cafes and diners within a short walk, and a liquor store with a decent selection and fair prices. South Boston is a very short drive (5 minutes), though parking can be hard to find. Great places to eat: we tried the Beehive, the South End Buttery, and Mike's Diner (featured on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives!). Our only complaints are the shuttle service: it is not as convenient as advertised. Due to a complication with our rental car situation, we called the hotel to see if the shuttle was available. We were told airport service required 24 hours notice. So, that was a no. There is a large sign boasting the shuttle service perks in the lobby of the hotel, but it was of no help to us. Only other problem was that our room wasn't ready. After arriving 25 minutes before check-in time and being asked to wait that amount of time in the lobby, we returned to the desk and were told the computer needed to "switch over" and asked to wait another 5 minutes. When we finally got our keys and walked up to our room, we found housekeeping blocking off the area. We had to go back downstairs to get a different room assignment. Annoying, but turned out fine in the end. Plenty of free parking space was a plus, as well as an in-room mini refrigerator.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the sides or rear of the hotel for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites for your recent visit to Boston. I also wanted to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. We take a pride in providing most friendly and superior service to our guests so they come back and recommend us to others. We're happy to hear you had a good stay with us, but truly sorry to hear you did not have a great stay with us.

The Airport shuttle service is an outside company. Due to the low cost, and the higher hotel occupancy, they require the guests to book it 24 hours in advance. Our normal check-in time is 3 pm, but there is nothing we haven't done to please our guests as long as we do have clean rooms. Due to our hotel being in the city, we have many sold out nights. You may have arrived when the hotel was sold out on a previous night. We're sorry you had to wait longer than you expected. Regardless, your review has been shared with the staff so we could improve our services. It is only my hope, you will come back and stay with us again when the future trips bring you to Boston. When you do, please call us ahead of time so we could preblock your room.
Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us.
Sincerely,

Sandip Bhojani
Operations Manager
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Suites
891 Massachusetts Avenue,
Boston, MA 02118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A group of us went over to stay in Boston for the weekend to race at the Head of the Charles regatta. Cost was the most important thing, so we had 9 of us split between two rooms, but this was not a problem at all. There was plenty of space, and my sofa bed was comfy (once I'd had them bring me a duvet rather than just the sheet that was there when I arrived!).

The free breakfast is a bonus as they are rare in the US. Although it's not massively exciting, it does the job and has a pretty good range. You can even make your own waffles! The dining area is small, but they let us eat in a downstairs conference room which was a good alternative. The evening cookies are also yummy.

The hotel shuttle is also really useful. It only drops and picks up from 3 places, but these are stations that will get you pretty much anywhere else in Boston. It is also walkable from areas like Prudential and Symphony, past the lovely South End houses on Mass Ave. The area gets a little rougher once you're past the Boston Medical Center, but I didn't have a problem with it.
Also, the number 1 bus runs right from the Medical Center all the way to Harvard which is really useful for getting over to the other side of the river, and much quicker than taking lots of different trains, as long as the traffic isn't bad.
It's also nice and close to the airport - a bonus when you're on a morning flight.

It's great value, and I'd recommend it to other groups of friends needing somewhere good value to stay in Boston, but you will need the shuttle, buses or cabs to get to most places!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review,

Im happy to hear you and your group of family and friends enjoyed your stay with us here at the Roundhouse. Not being centrally located but at only a few miles away from the city is a plus. We offer the shuttle to a couple of places along with the train station to help with traveling into Boston. Very happy to see you enjoyed Boston and hopefully you'll stay with us again when your in our neck of the woods!

Sincerely,

Daniela DePina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a really outstanding city hotel. Daniela and all her staff go out of their way to help you enjoy your stay and make you feel very welcome. Although the surrounding area is not great and you are a little outside the Downtown area, ( but still the closest Best Western to it ) this is more than compensated for, by this excellent hotel and it facilities. There is some very nice touches that you would normally expect to find in a hotel in a city location; free breakfast with plenty of choices, free cookies daily, free coffee in the lobby 24/7 and an excellent free shuttle service to the fringe of the downtown area. They also provide a airport shuttle for a modest fee. The service all-round was exceptional, whether it was Orlando on reception, the shuttle bus drivers or the lady who ran the breakfast restaurant. They were all very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble, when the very popular breakfast room became over crowded a overflow room in the basement was quickly provided. Our Suite was very clean, spacious and comfortable with all the hotel facilities you need. We did have some difficulties in obtaining a WiFi connection in our room but the connection in the reception/lobby area was excellent. Overall this is great value for a city hotel and with facilities and a service level you would find difficult to match anywhere.

Room Tip: If WiFi is important it would be worth asking for a room with good reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you!

I truly appreciate your review of the Roundhouse and all of the great features and amenities we offer. We offer great service and put each guest first. The cookies are a treat, if you can get some since we have cookie monsters on property. Free shuttle is always good along with the parking. We wouldn't have it any other way.

Keep us in mind for your future travels in Boston!

Sincerely,

Daniela DePina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The check in process was very quick, even though the hotel was very busy. We asked for and got information on the complimentary shuttle service and an overview of how the subway system worked. Our room was spacious and clean. Unfortunately we missed the evening cookies as we had a tour scheduled.
The shuttle driver picked us up on time, but did not take us to the correct subway station-we were late in being dropped off and ended up on the wrong train. Unfortunately we missed our tour that evening. After visiting downtown and having dinner, we called the hotel for our pick-up at the subway station and was told they were about 10mins out-we waited almost 25 mins for the pick-up.
The breakfast was very good and had more than the usual choices, but the seating area was very not adequate, the good part was we met new friends and got tips on the town from them!
We were able to park right behind the building (FREE) and it looked like they had several other lots available for parking if the main one was full.
The check out process was quick-the front desk staff were exceptionally friendly during our whole stay. We opted to drive to town for our morning tour, but the staff did offer to store our luggage if we wanted to use the shuttle-but after the evening fiasco, we thanked them and drove.
I would recommend this hotel, especially at the great price and location close to town-just do not plan on using the shuttle if you have any time sensitive needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Wow!

Thanks for an awesome review of our hotel, I will definitely share this with the Team. Happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast, had a clean room, along with the Team treating you great. We try our best and hopefully we achieved that with you. Please keep us in mind when you next visit Boston.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This place was lovely inside, staff good, breakfast good, room really gorgeous, we got a suite and it was great, we had read about people begging outside and yes there are, however we only stayed one night and were more than happy with everything. The shuttle service to Fenway Park was wonderful too, you are dropped off about 2 blocks from the park and picked up at the same spot, made the trip to the baseball really easy. Most impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks!

Glad to hear you enjoyed your suite and everything went well. We try our best to WOW each guest! We like when guest utilize our conplimentary shuttle and receive the mini tour from our drivers.

Enjoy your traveles and see you for the next game at Fenway!

Sincerely,

Daniela DePina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Address: 891 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Hotel Boston
Best Western Roundhouse Hotel
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.