We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Staying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   891 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02118 (Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #61 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth Staying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were a little concerned about staying at this hotel after we read some reviews on Tripadvisor, after we had booked! We were going to see the Red Sox play at Fenway Park and just booked the Roundhouse without checking on it first. What others had said about the outside of the hotel is true, however inside is fantastic. Free continental breakfast was very good. The outside did not bother us too much because we were only there for one night. The room is gorgeous, we stayed on the 6th floor and had a separate lounge room included, very lovely. The location was fantastic to Fenway park and they had a Shuttle Bus come by and pick us up right outside the door, staff were great and room was clean, cannot complain at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Fantastic!

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Roundhouse. I loved reading your review and definitely sure future travelers will find it very helpful as well. We take pride in our hotel and make sure each and everyone of our guest are happy and safe.

Hope to see you in your future travels in Boston,

Daniela DePina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    317
    130
    71
    35
See reviews for
265
184
17
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Friendly staff, clean, great location with free shuttle to downtown sites (airport service was a charge) and budget friendly! Free breakfast was great also! And free parking!
Pablo the shuttle driver was great! His suggestions for lunch/dinner were perfect. The "No Name" restaurant by pier was great--great food with great prices. He even dropped us off right at restaurant!

Room Tip: Small hotel so books up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much,

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and Pablo and the Team treated you great. We take great care of our guest and try our best to make sure they return.

Hope to see you in the near future!

Sincerely,

Daniela DePina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The level of service we experienced from the staff from booking to arrival through to leaving was exceptional nothing was a problem. Although the room decor was a little dated everything was cleaned to a high standard and we felt very safe and well cared for. The only negative point is the location, it is on a busy road which is a little run down in appearance, but don,t be put off , everything else makes up for it! That includes the courtesy shuttle bus and the very patient drivers who together with all the staff helped our stay be so much easier! Thank you

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Never judge a book by it's cover!

Thank you for sharing this review with us and most importantly with all future viewers. We know how important it is to travel and feel safe, and you just eased alot of minds! We care for our guests and make sure they feel safe and get to where they need without any doubts. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Daniela DePina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our third wonderful stay at the Roundhouse, quite fond of it, more so than Boston itself. Lovely staff. Outstanding, hard-working Orlando, at Reception, assigned us preferred suite on the 6th floor so perfect visit. Extremely busy, popular hotel because it is outstanding value for money in Boston and has free guest parking across the road from hotel. Hotel air-conditioned, spotlessly clean, has 2 guest elevators and is near Boston Hospital but on outer ring of Boston CBD. Not such an issue. The free hotel shuttle is available for guests. Suite fitouts excellent. Free Wifi always worked. Separate bedroom with TV, roomy bathroom and compact but efficient lounge area with second TV and very practical wet bar with sink, mini-frig, coffee maker and a microwave. A MacDonalds and a Greek takeaway across the road from the Roundhouse. Fuel station is next door, Retail strip a 15 minute walk down Mass. Ave., includes grocery store, Target, Best Buys, Shoe store.
The free breakfasts at the Roundhouse are very good, with a lot of choices, so they are very popular and the breakfast room usually crowded. We were told this stay that an area has also been made available in the basement to take the overflow. Smart move. We highly recommend the Roundhouse Hotel.
Had an excellent dinner at the very popular Petit Robert Bistro Columbus on 480 Columbas Ave., Great food and attentive staff. $10 taxi from the hotel to city.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Third times a charmer!

Wow, thank you again for pointing out everything guest would need and want to know where they're located. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay again, and would wish for when you return to continue to keep us in mind!

Happy travels,

Daniela DePina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were greeted efficiently and always called by name. The rooms and large for a city hotel and the history of the hotel is fascinating. Parking was free as was the shuttle to take you to the subway stations and the harbor. It was a wonderful service. We enjoyed the included breatfast, 24 hour coffee, and the afternoon warm cookies. They have some hard working people on staff and they treated guests with respect and shared their knowledge of Boston with us.

Room Tip: If possible, choose a room that is not facing the 24 hour McDonalds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Good to hear!

Thank you very much for your beautiful and very thoughtful review. I have a GREAT Team here at the Roundhouse. Always willing to help and love to answer questions. I will share your review with the Team and let them know they left a lasting impression on you.

Hope to see you in the near future!

Daniela DePina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel has a complimentary bus to take you to and from the city, which overrides any disappointment we had with the unattractive location of the hotel (surrounded by very busy roads, petrol stations, industry).
It think it was probably unfotrunate timing, but when we arrived the national grid were working outside and had cut off the main supply, which meant for two mornings we had no hot water. The hotel were apologetic and did agree a reduction to our bill. Fortunately we had a microwave in the room and were able to heat up water to wash with.
The rooms were well equipped and cleaned to high standard. Considereing it was a budget hotel, i wasn't disappointed with our choice. Breakfast was included, don't expect luxury, but it was ok and the kids loved making their own waffles.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the bus driver recommened a fantastic authentic diner called 'Charlies'. Get there very early as people were queuing for breakfast out the door before 8am.
Boston was a wonderful city to visit and despite the lack of hot water, if you plan to spend most of your time out and about then i would recommend this hotel as a good base, just so long as they keep the free bus service.

Room Tip: Make sure the net curtains are thick - the veiw from any direction is not pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much,

Your review is very helpful and thoughtful, and thank you again. We take pride in our hotel and even more with our guest. We appreciate your thoughts and better yet our future guests will too.

Hope to see you in the near future!

Sincerely,

Daniela DePina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, de
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you would like to spend your hard earned dollars enjoying the wonderful dining in the South End, seeing the sights of Boston or just vsisiting friends, we highly recommend this hotel. If is well equipped, clean and pleasant. The breakfast was a lovely surpise, more than just corn flakes and bagels! Oh, and parking...ample and free!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms may be a bit noiser becasue it is close to the street but we weren't bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmroundhouse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much,

Your review is very helpful and thoughtful, and thank you again. We take pride in our hotel and even more with our guest. We appreciate your thoughts and better yet our future guests will too. Hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Daniela DePina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Address: 891 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Roundhouse Hotel Boston
Best Western Roundhouse Hotel
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.