We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avery Street, Boston, MA 02111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hotel has very good location close to Boston Common, theatres, Boston Opera House and other local attractions. Very good service,quick check in and check out, friendly staff. We stayed in standard room with club lounge access. The room could be bigger but it was comfortable with big and comfi bed. Bathroom well equipped. I recommend club lounge - very good service, good quality of food and decent selection of drinks - soft and alcohol ones. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    111
    52
    39
    13
See reviews for
126
120
19
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Boston hosts many fine hotels, and travelers have a wide array of choices when visiting this historic city. The Ritz-Carlton, however, is a special place. It isn't just the beautiful rooms, the elegant bar, or the glitzy décor that make The Ritz "The Ritz." It's the staff.

The people who work at The Ritz are happy. They are always smiling and always asking if there is something they can help you with. From chamber maid to concierge, from valet to waitress, they all seem to share a joy of being one's host.

Enough has been said of this fine hotel's dreamy beds and spacious bathrooms. My best memory of The Ritz will be its staff. Well done, I say, to you all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed three nights in August in a one bedroom suite. Room was well appointed and spacious. Concierge was friendly and helpful while organizing family activities for us. Only tip is to allow plenty of time for valet to bring your car from the garage. Would recommend the Ritz!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I travel over 100 nights a year for work and stay in the best properties. In Boston, nothing is better than the Ritz. Aside from the recently remodeled building and rooms, the restaurant sports a stunning fireplace and one of the best burgers in town. I'm not sure if the word no has ever come out of the staff's mouth, except when I ask for an upgrade to the concierge lounge.

The location can't be beat. The hotel sits on the beautiful Boston Common, which is steps to Newbury street and Boston's famous Quincy Market.

Finally, if you're a workout buff, the Ritz is connected to the Sports Club LA. In my opinion, Boston's best workout facility.

Note, you don't get the best for a deal, but if you can swing it, it's more than worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

After being told we were staying in a room with a "wonderful city view" we brought up our own bags (could not find a bellhop to help us) we opened the door to out 9th floor hotel room that was located a few feet above the ventilation system. If we could openthewindow and crane our neck there might be a view. The room was noisy and we preferred to keep the drapes drawn. The furnishings were new and attractive. The bed very comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. We will come back but will be careful in picking out our room. Be sure to book on a higher floor!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last December for our anniversary. It's very close to the park and the light display is beautiful and there's a skating rink in the park. The hotel is older and seems in need of some major renovating. The doormen greet you right away by opening the doors for you. Very nice touch. The service is excellent. Our only complaint is that the rooms, at least the upgraded room we had, seemed ordinary. There were two rooms and the bath was huge but nothing very special. The furniture seemed old and worn. We would only go back for the location and if we got a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel has many things going for it. Amazing location, big rooms, comfortable beds in lovely rooms, great staff. My room was on the 9th floor and didn't have much of a view but it was OK. Bathroom was lovely and I really liked having a separate walk in shower. Lovely toiletries. But....no coffee makers in the rooms and coffee at reception not available 24 hours a day. Newspaper only arrived on 2 days out of 4. Checking out at 6am for an early flight I think I woke the receptionist up! Bath menu available - if you have 55 dollars someone will run a bath for you! A nice hotel - just needs a few tweaks to be amazing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common

Address: 10 Avery Street, Boston, MA 02111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common is located in the heart of Boston's vibrant midtown, just steps from the theatre and financial districts. This modern, 193-room hotel features 43 suites and The Ritz-Carlton Club(R) rooms. Located just steps from the Freedom Trail, the hotel is also convenient to the historic Opera House. The most up-to-date technology includes in-room high-speed wireless Internet access for up to six devices as well as HD plasma screen televisions, meeting space with plasma display screens, and complimentary wireless Internet connectivity in The Ritz-Carlton Club(R) Lounge and the hotel lobby. The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common has been awarded the prestigious AAA Five-Diamond Award and has been named to Travel + Leisure's World's Best Hotels List several times and is one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 100 U.S. Hotels.The hotel offers direct access from guest elevators to Equinox Sports Club, a world-class 114,000-square-foot fitness and sports complex featuring basketball courts, squash, junior Olympic pool and complete spa and salon facilities. The hotel's cocktail venue, Avery Bar, reflects a refined, elegant sensibility tempered with midcentury-inspired forms, furniture and lighting. The space is a modern, sophisticated design for hotel guests and local residents longing for a more stylish and relaxed feel. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan Bistro, offers fresh local and seasonal dishes, using native ingredients with subtle bistro influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Boston Common Hotel Boston
Ritz Boston
Boston Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.