We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel with Marvelous Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avery Street, Boston, MA 02111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #23 of 77 hotels in Boston
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Luxury Hotel with Marvelous Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Boston hosts many fine hotels, and travelers have a wide array of choices when visiting this historic city. The Ritz-Carlton, however, is a special place. It isn't just the beautiful rooms, the elegant bar, or the glitzy décor that make The Ritz "The Ritz." It's the staff.

The people who work at The Ritz are happy. They are always smiling and always asking if there is something they can help you with. From chamber maid to concierge, from valet to waitress, they all seem to share a joy of being one's host.

Enough has been said of this fine hotel's dreamy beds and spacious bathrooms. My best memory of The Ritz will be its staff. Well done, I say, to you all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    89
    42
    28
    12
See reviews for
92
104
13
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed three nights in August in a one bedroom suite. Room was well appointed and spacious. Concierge was friendly and helpful while organizing family activities for us. Only tip is to allow plenty of time for valet to bring your car from the garage. Would recommend the Ritz!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I travel over 100 nights a year for work and stay in the best properties. In Boston, nothing is better than the Ritz. Aside from the recently remodeled building and rooms, the restaurant sports a stunning fireplace and one of the best burgers in town. I'm not sure if the word no has ever come out of the staff's mouth, except when I ask for an upgrade to the concierge lounge.

The location can't be beat. The hotel sits on the beautiful Boston Common, which is steps to Newbury street and Boston's famous Quincy Market.

Finally, if you're a workout buff, the Ritz is connected to the Sports Club LA. In my opinion, Boston's best workout facility.

Note, you don't get the best for a deal, but if you can swing it, it's more than worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

After being told we were staying in a room with a "wonderful city view" we brought up our own bags (could not find a bellhop to help us) we opened the door to out 9th floor hotel room that was located a few feet above the ventilation system. If we could openthewindow and crane our neck there might be a view. The room was noisy and we preferred to keep the drapes drawn. The furnishings were new and attractive. The bed very comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. We will come back but will be careful in picking out our room. Be sure to book on a higher floor!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last December for our anniversary. It's very close to the park and the light display is beautiful and there's a skating rink in the park. The hotel is older and seems in need of some major renovating. The doormen greet you right away by opening the doors for you. Very nice touch. The service is excellent. Our only complaint is that the rooms, at least the upgraded room we had, seemed ordinary. There were two rooms and the bath was huge but nothing very special. The furniture seemed old and worn. We would only go back for the location and if we got a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel has many things going for it. Amazing location, big rooms, comfortable beds in lovely rooms, great staff. My room was on the 9th floor and didn't have much of a view but it was OK. Bathroom was lovely and I really liked having a separate walk in shower. Lovely toiletries. But....no coffee makers in the rooms and coffee at reception not available 24 hours a day. Newspaper only arrived on 2 days out of 4. Checking out at 6am for an early flight I think I woke the receptionist up! Bath menu available - if you have 55 dollars someone will run a bath for you! A nice hotel - just needs a few tweaks to be amazing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had a pleasant meal. Comfortable and casual, convenient to theater. Since it's the Ritz I was expecting it to be pricey but still shocked when my son's drink was the price of an entree. Will never order champagne cocktails here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common

Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Boston Common Hotel
Ritz-Carlton Boston Common Hotel Boston
Ritz Carlton Boston
Ritz Carlton Boston Common
Ritz Boston
Ritz-Carlton Boston
Boston Ritz
Boston Ritz-Carlton
Address: 10 Avery Street, Boston, MA 02111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common, which opened in 2001, is located in the heart of Boston's vibrant midtown, just steps from the theatre and financial districts. This modern, 193-room hotel features 43 suites and The Ritz-Carlton Club® rooms. The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common at 10 Avery Street, across Tremont Street from the city's historic and scenic gardens, is a showplace of sophisticated style and design. The exterior features two dramatic crystalline towers. Located at center stage in the newly expanded Theatre District and just steps from the Freedom Trail, the hotel is also convenient to the historic Opera House that reopened in July 2004. The hotel and its dining venues all draw on the artistic energy of their surroundings for special arts-related packages and menu inspirations. Inside, a $1 million art collection of contemporary sculpture, paintings and prints by noted New England artists set the stage for a sanctuary of refined yet relaxed luxury. The most up-to-date technology includes in-room high-speed wireless Internet access and HD plasma screen televisions, meeting space with plasma display screens, and complimentary wireless Internet connectivity in The Ritz-Carlton Club® Lounge and the hotel lobby. These special features make this hotel the choice for today's business and leisure traveler. The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common has been awarded the prestigious AAA Five-Diamond Award and has been named to Travel + Leisure’s World’s Best Hotels List several times and is one of Condé Nast Traveler’s Top 100 U.S. Hotels.. The hotel’s amenities are designed for the most discerning guests, and include fashionable Frette Italian bed linens, feather beds, marble baths with separate showers, Bang & Olufsen sound systems in suites and the services of a Technology Butler®, CD Butler and Bath Butler. Asprey London has its only Boston boutique in the hotel’s lobby.For leisure travelers and executives who like to keep fit on the road, the hotel offers direct access from guest elevators to The Sports Club/LA, a world-class 114,000-square-foot fitness and sports complex featuring basketball courts, squash, junior Olympic pool and complete spa and salon facilities. This urban country club resort provides to guests the luxury of convenience, comfort and personalized service matched by the most extensive amenities in the city. The synthesis between The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common and its direct connection to The Sports Club/LA creates an exceptional environment for successful business travel, meetings and corporate retreats. This distinctive, contemporary destination creates custom-designed experiences offering a luxury comfort zone that sharpens the competitive edge. The hotel’s Business Conference Concierge, unique high-tech meeting spaces, Technology Butler®, and Business Center complement The Sports Club/LA’s selection of themed activities and group breaks for relaxing or energizing: team-building sports like obstacle courses on the basketball court, water volleyball, group ergonomics or stress reduction with stretching exercises. There are also lifestyle enhancement group classes focusing on spa treatments, fitness training and nutrition. The hotel’s cocktail venue, Avery Bar, reflects a refined, elegant sensibility tempered with midcentury-inspired forms, furniture and lighting. The space is a modern, sophisticated design for hotel guests and local residents longing for a more stylish and relaxed feel. Modern craft cocktails, including ten signature martinis [dubbed “the Avery Ten”] pay homage to the bar’s address at 10 Avery Street. Dry, dirty, sour, sweet, and Russian are just some of the “Avery Ten” showcased on the cocktail menu; along with an impressive wine list, beers on tap and cocktails that call to mind pre-prohibition and early 1950’s classics while boasting their own modern style and taste Artisan Bistro serves as a meeting place, a gathering point where hotel guests and residents mingle for breakfast and lunch meetings, socialize after-work or mix over post-theater cocktails while enjoying approachable artisanal cooking. As for the menu, it offers fresh local and seasonal dishes, using native ingredients with subtle bistro influences. The restaurant’s bar is an integral part of the fun. The cocktail program will include local favorites, numerous microbrews and a signature Bloody Mary menu. The handcrafted wainscoting and whitewashed wood floors bring a sophisticated European bistro motif. The mood at the bar, like the restaurant itself, is lively and inviting, yet relaxed and casual at the same time. This unparalleled destination, The Ritz-Carlton Towers complex featuring The Ritz Carlton, Boston Common includes the 19-screen AMC Loews Theatres Boston Common. In this lively setting, wired with the latest technology, the hotel's catering department can create corporate teleconferences or movie parties. The Ballroom, Washington Room, Hamilton Room and The Studio are dramatic spaces for events for up to 350 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.