We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located and Upscale in Boston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avery Street, Boston, MA 02111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Corona, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Well Located and Upscale in Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This property is well located, being ON the Common, near Back Bay/Boylston and between Historic Boston and Cambridge. As you would expect for a Ritz property, it's upscale with terrific rooms and a nice restaurant with a separate bar. The staff are welcoming and well trained to remember you and call you by name. Those are the upsides. The downs - very pricey, no store in hotel (although there IS a Rite-Aid/CVS establishment around the corner), and the lobby is singularly unimpressive. Internet is an over-priced extra. The breakfast is extra and some of the waitstaff surly (maybe under different management than the hotel). The street in front is a wind tunnel. Good property for business or romance, I would not recommend for a family vacation or a stay with friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    108
    51
    36
    13
See reviews for
121
118
17
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
goose creek, sc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My every expected need and then some were taken care of. Beautiful hotel. The decor is well done. The room was very large, beautifully decorated, well appointed. I left roses on the table and my wife and I went out to explore the city. When we got back that evening, the room lights were dimmed, the honor bar was displayed, the tv armoire was opened, the bed linen had been pulled back with two robes displayed on bed with remotes for entertainment system and mints. Oh, and the roses were trimmed and had been put in a vase with water. The next morning, I heard a light knocking on the door; I was like, who the hell is that. I opened the door to find a stainless tray with a pitcher of water, glasses and a newspaper. Nice touch. I have no complaints. Yes, it is more expensive. The Ritz prides itself on service. There's always a cheap hotel in town if that's what you're looking for. But I would recommend staying in a Ritz once in your lifetime.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everything was fine, but certainly not outstanding given the price. Check-in was efficient and polite and the room was comfortable and clean, with a large marble bathroom. Service and food in the hotel restaurant were both acceptable but mediocre. No real complaints, except my bill for one night was over $700, and I didn't see the value over a Westin or Marriott for $300 less.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed there for 3 days. The hotel location is good. But this place is far from being a 5 star Ritz Carlton property!
The lobby , the bar and the restaurant have a the most ugliest terrible decor I had ever seen in a 5 star hotel! Cheap look!
The pool has no chez lounges , nobody gives you towels at all.
Service was good. Food was averege. That is why i am giving them a two star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We can't say enough good things about this hotel. The staff were wonderful, the room lovely, the location perfect. The only thing that we could possibly complain about was the weather. Too bad it rained all weekend. The upside is that we decided to eat in the lobby restaurant (Artisan) because we didn't want to venture out in the pouring rain. Are we ever glad we did. The food was exceptional and the service wonderful. We liked it so much we ate there twice! Special thanks to the doorman for arranging our ride to the airport. So friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for a rainy weekend in September, the service was outstanding and we had a great time. I love the location and the Lounge area was really comfortable and well appointed.I plan to stay the next time I am in Boston!

Room Tip: Choose a high-floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have not often been to Boston and my first experience dates back to 1984. I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton and enjoyed a magnificent view on the Park, excellent service and a distinguished restaurant ith exellent food. I stayed there also in 1997 or 1998 and it was the same experience.
Thus when I had to go to Boston again I thought that I should not change a winning team.
I was slightly surprised when noticing that the hotel had moved location and the view on the park exists only for the happy few that an afford the suites. But I had the benefit of a lounge which did not exist in the past and which offered a quite enjoyable breakfast and other things during the day. The service was still excellent, but I regret this beautiful vers traditional restaurant of the old hotel, which they replaced by some sort of a coffee shop, which did not tempt me. So I got a room with some view on the park, which was large, but with a somewhat old-fashioned inelegant furtiniture, However the service was speedy and excellent. The prce is rather on the high side, but that seems to be a problem in most major US cities. Boston is almost as expensive as Paris or London.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on the park. it will not be the direct vie which was available in the pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common

Address: 10 Avery Street, Boston, MA 02111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#21 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Family Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common is located in the heart of Boston's vibrant midtown, just steps from the theatre and financial districts. This modern, 193-room hotel features 43 suites and The Ritz-Carlton Club(R) rooms. Located just steps from the Freedom Trail, the hotel is also convenient to the historic Opera House. The most up-to-date technology includes in-room high-speed wireless Internet access for up to six devices as well as HD plasma screen televisions, meeting space with plasma display screens, and complimentary wireless Internet connectivity in The Ritz-Carlton Club(R) Lounge and the hotel lobby. The Ritz-Carlton, Boston Common has been awarded the prestigious AAA Five-Diamond Award and has been named to Travel + Leisure's World's Best Hotels List several times and is one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 100 U.S. Hotels.The hotel offers direct access from guest elevators to Equinox Sports Club, a world-class 114,000-square-foot fitness and sports complex featuring basketball courts, squash, junior Olympic pool and complete spa and salon facilities. The hotel's cocktail venue, Avery Bar, reflects a refined, elegant sensibility tempered with midcentury-inspired forms, furniture and lighting. The space is a modern, sophisticated design for hotel guests and local residents longing for a more stylish and relaxed feel. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan Bistro, offers fresh local and seasonal dishes, using native ingredients with subtle bistro influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Boston Common Hotel Boston
Ritz Boston
Boston Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Boston Common, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.