We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good North End restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Nuovo

Caffe Nuovo
76 Salem St, Boston, MA 02113 (North End)
857.753.4615
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,267 of 2,847 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: North End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: North End
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Good North End restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was craving breakfast foods, and if I lived in Boston, I would never, ever, ever eat at an IHOP or Pancake House ever again. Not with a place like Caffe Nuovo in the city's North End making dishes (even into the late night hours) like the western omelet and the ham benedict.

The cafe, which also serves dinner entrees, has a well stocked bar and friendly bartenders.

The western omelet had a beautiful flavor and the peppers didn't overpower the other flavors in the omelet. Not to mention the size of the omelet, and the homefries. The plate was very large but a nice portion to keep you full.

The ham benedict was perfect. I was concerned that the hollandaise sauce might not be tasty (based solely on my fear of every chef messing up hollandaise), but it was perfect. I found myself going back for bite after bite and finished this very large plate. This is definitely a must-order!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quiet ambiance, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband particularly enjoyed his creamy polenta with mushrooms, and I liked the fusilli with meatballs. My child loved the gelato (which was a HUGE portion). The service was very friendly. The upstairs dining room has a full view of the kitchen.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

The portions are enormous. The cafe was small and personal. Loved the food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
origins80
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food - great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Great food at a great price! Small restaurant with a sophisticated & cute atmosphere - loved it!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food and a good price for the neighbourhood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had dinner here one evening after spending the day exploring Boston.
The food was very good, with plenty of seafood in the seafood pasta and risotto.
Meals were served in a Pan instead of on a plate, which was an interesting twist.
They are a new restaurant trying to attract business in a saturated neighbourhood, so their prices were a little lower than comparable places.
Only complaint was that the A/C was turned up a little high and blew to much directly on you.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Nuovo also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Nuovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Nuovo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.