We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from just $129!
Ranked #37 of 77 Hotels in Boston
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was in Boston for business and needed a downtown hotel at a reasonable price. The Doubletree was an excellent choice. Great location - right next to the Metro station so transport is easy, Chinatown is a block away and all of downtown is a reasonable taxi ride.

The hotel itself is pleasant and comfortable, staff are helpful and my room was comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    150
    53
    16
    6
See reviews for
94
87
15
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This Doubletree was a little fancier than most Doubletree hotels, but still relatively average. Nice large foyer with restaurant and bar. The room was basic with a king size bed. The mattress was extremely hard.

If your interested in an affordable hotel in an excellent location, this place is a good option. There are so many things to do within a short walk of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Actually staying here right now and wanted to share experience while it's fresh. Overall - very nice place to stay.
Pros: the room is clean and equipped with everything you may possibly need; the bed is comfortable; I got a room with a view of Prudential tower which is nice and cannot hear anything that's going on outside the room. A warm cookie upon arrival. Favorite part - I was able to check in online and pick my room. Originally, I was booked to be on the 2nd floor but I wanted a higher floor so I easily switched to the 5th. I knew my room # ahead of time. It's a walking distance to so many places. You can even walk to the North End in 30mins (if you wanted to). There is a restaurant, the bar and Starbucks downstairs too though.
Cons: the only available parking is valet parking ($46/day - ouch); Internet is not free either but it's not too bad ($9.95/day or $2.95/hr)
Could be a 'con' for tall people: shower head was not attached super high on the wall. I am 5'3" and I wouldn't mind if it was a bit higher. Not adjustable either. But it gets the job done! :)

Overall - great hotel.

Room Tip: City view and higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I travel the country for a living and have always favored Doubletrees when given an opportunity for their consistent cleanliness, classiness, and service. This location, however, left every other hotel-- Doubletree or otherwise-- completely in the dust from the moment I walked in.The decor was particularly polished and welcoming (stayed over Christmas-- beautifully decorated) and the location ideal. But the service was so immediately and consistently above and beyond, setting a new standard for customer care in my book, that I logged on to this website to write the first hotel review I've ever written.

Albion and Olga accommodated every request and answered every question I had with efficiency, alacrity,and a crisp, bright, alertness that demonstrated beyond the shadow of a doubt that they take great pride in what they do. The fact that they were obviously very busy, juggling what seemed to be ten tasks at a time never once impeded them from looking me straight in the eye, making me feel personally cared for with a smile, and thoroughly handling whatever matter I might have brought to them.

Beyond this, their communication with the rest of the staff was such that on one occasion, by the time I came back from the front desk to my room, the department I had requested help from was already walking down the hallway to meet me.

And then to top it all off, I received a call on my hotel phone a few minutes later from Albion himself just double checking that everything had been taken care of and that there wasn't anything else he could do for me.

I hold a great respect and gratitude for people in this world who are able to combine efficiency, passion, and heart in whatever it is that they do. Albion and Olga are very evidently two such people.

They put a wonderful, personal touch on my Christmas business trip and I thank them for it from the bottom of my heart.

The room was beautiful, tasteful, clean, thoroughly kitted out. It was quiet and perfectly comfortable.

Moral of the story... Stay here. And when you do, ask for Albion and Olga.

Room Tip: Only certain rooms have bathtubs, so make sure to request if it's important to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Doubletree Downtown is conveniently located near Tufts Medical Center and very close to the Orange line T stop. Rooms appear to be recently renovated and were clean. Only stayed for one night, but seemed to be a good property for the price. One of the best prices I have seen for downtown Boston.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A very comfortable and friendly place to stay. We were in Boston consulting with doctors at Tufts Medical Center which is directly across the street. We found this hotel to be a nice place to relax after our appointments. The restaurant while a little pricey for me had good food and very friendly staff. The bar can be a little crowded in the evening but the bartender makes everyone feel welcome. There is also a Starbucks in the lobby and guests have access to the YMCA which is accessible from the hotel. The king bed I slept on was possibly the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever had. The down-like pillows were just like I have at home. We had the 'courtyard' rooms and there was no view. It's probably worth spending a little more for the view of downtown Boston.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linwood, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Valet was slow. Had to unload in the street in the rain. Front counter reception was poor. Not very friendly, however; after arrival everybody else we encountered was very friendly. Morning buffet service on first morning was very slow. The guy making omelets was the only one hustling as it was very busy. After the show on Sunday night, we went to the bar. The bartender was overwhelmed and inexperienced. The manager stepped in to help her because she seemed like she never was behind a bar before. The room and view were nice. the price was good. Overall nice stay in spite of minor issues.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Address: 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Boston - Downtown Hotel Boston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.